Home Page

Russian traditional festivals

Russian Traditional Holidays

fiestas tradicionales rusas

As in any other country, there are traditional Russian festivals, in which various events are celebrated and others are commemorated. The culture of Russia is very marked by these celebrations and each of them has its own peculiarities. There are unique characteristics of Russian traditions, which differentiate each national celebration from the rest.

The culture of Russia: Holidays according to the calendar

 

End and beginning of the year (December 31 – January 1)

In most countries of the world, January 1 is considered the beginning of the year. The culture of Russia also does so. However, with some characteristics of its own. This national celebration begins, usually with a family dinner at each house. Which is characterized by the presence of good champagne and the unmistakable Russian vodka.

After that, people take to the streets at midnight to hear the famous bells of the Kremlin, which announce the arrival of a new year. There are 12 bells, while people wish their relatives a “Snovum Godom” that would be the typical happy new year, in Russian.

The Russian new year is characterized by the elegance and joviality of those who celebrate it. Banquets, music and joy are fundamental aspects that must always be present.

January 7: Christmas.

celebración nacional

Western culture celebrates Christmas on December 25, commemorating the birth of Jesus. Now, traditional Russian holidays have their own dates, in some cases. And Christmas is no exception.

Guided by the Julian calendar, Russia follows the holiday known as Rozhdestvo, which is also known as Orthodox Christmas. This national celebration is perhaps the most important of all, since the Russian people are known for their faith. During the night, liturgies are performed that can last up to 24 hours. After spiritual activities, people gather in their homes to celebrate as a family.

The typical dishes of the regions, vodka and other traditional drinks, can not be missing. The difference in dates between Western and Russian Christmas is due to the fact that, in the culture of Russia, a calendar known as the Julian calendar was implanted. Which sets some specific holiday dates, such as January 7 for Christmas. Julius Caesar would be in charge of making sure that this orthodox calendar was maintained.

Old New Year (January 13)

As with Christmas, traditional Russian holidays comprise a special date to celebrate the new year. However, they do it twice. This is because both the new year and the old new year are celebrated in Russian culture.

This celebration is very similar to the new year, with some peculiarities such as the one that the Kremlin bells are not played, but religious days and the familiar Russian family dinners are celebrated.

January 25: Students Day.

Also known as the holy day of Tatiana. It is a day dedicated to commemorating Saint Tatiana, a Christian martyr who was characterized by supporting Russia’s intellectual growth. Founder of a monastery that would later become a university. This martyr is assigned to be the patron of the students.

For this day, the students of the country meet in ostentatious marches of celebration, for the future of the nation that they themselves will be building. The joviality and joy characterize this national celebration that is directed to young people and by them. Very important in the life of every Russian, to have celebrated the day of Saint Tatiana in his youth.

Valentine’s Day: February 14

Most countries in the world celebrate it, and traditional Russian holidays are no exception. A date for the enjoyment of lovers, youth or adults. So that they express each other all mutual feelings. Valentine is characterized by the large number of flowers that are sent throughout the country. Gentlemen are a key part of this national celebration although it is well known that lovers make gifts to each other.

The atmosphere in the different cities is oriented to love on this date. Since, it is common for lovers to go out to enjoy various things such as movies, theme parks, restaurants and hotels. Which makes February 14 a commercial date too.

Day of the Defenders of Russia (February 23)

cultura de Rusia

The culture of Russia has been forged in different ways, and war has been one of them. On January 23, 1918, the Red Army would be founded, this date being the one that commemorates that foundation each year.

This day also pays tribute to those who fell in the Second World War, and thanks to their families, because they are considered protective heroes of the nation. It is also important for the nation to thank the war veterans who remain alive; which they do publicly, giving thanks for Russia’s protection against the Nazi army.

The celebration of this day officially begins when the president, in Moscow, places flowers on the well-known “eternal flame” of the Kremlin. The presidential regiment performs a march in the red square of the capital, where patriotic songs and commemorative ceremonies of war heroes are sung.

It is a national celebration full of emotions and historical memory, since the people remember their parents, children, brothers, husbands, grandparents, who gave their lives for the good of the nation

March 8: Women’s Day

One of the most important traditional Russian festivals in the nation, in which tribute is paid to the Russian woman. In its beginnings, it reflected the struggle of women for their recognition as a source of national progress and the equality of their social rights with respect to men.

Although at present, it is not identified with the aforementioned struggle; Russian culture continues to celebrate this day in a way that is made particular according to the different regions. However, it is common for gentlemen to take center stage in this national celebration as they honor their mothers, sisters, grandmothers, wives, daughters, friends and all those women who play an important role in their lives.

Generally, the president addresses his words of love and thanks to all Russian women on this day.

There is a great variety of other traditional Russian festivals, which represent the country and its people. The culture of Russia is known for being particular and different from other countries in the region. A country full of magic, joy and history, all of them, will open before you, when traveling, in each national celebration.

Train stations in Russia and how to understand the ticket

Train stations in Russia and how to understand the ticket

Train stations in Russia
Train station in Moscow
St. Petersburg train station
Yekaterinburg train station
Kazan train station
Krasnoyarsk train station
Train station in Nizhny Novgorod
Train station in Novosibirsk
Samara train station
How to understand the ticket?
Printed Tickets
1 First Line
2 Second Line
3 Third Line
4 Fourth Line
5 Fifth Line
6 – 7 Sixth and Seventh Line
8 Eighth Line
Electronic Tickets
Other Useful Information
Train stations in Russia

In train stations in Russia, word “station” is commonly used as a colloquial term. Already more officially, the term “passenger building” is adopted but it is a cold, boring and bureaucratic term. from the very moment of the creation of these stations, they have not been considered as simply transit buildings, but as a site that is directly related to the daily life of citizens and due to this it becomes a special place for the population.

It is impossible to contemplate a train station in Russia without remembering how many personal, emotional and even historical events have happened in these places.

According to the tradition established at the time, known architects were commissioned to build stations in Russia. For example, the Moskcovsky stations in St. Petersburg and the Leningrad station (then Nikolaev) in Moscow were commissioned to K. A. Ton for its construction, who was also the creator of the Cathedral of Christ the Savior and the Grand Kremlin Palace.

Each route and passage of the Moscow metro stations, tries to have its own design style and its own type of architecture, but there are also others that are out of context: for example, the Slyudyanka station is to which it is made White marble the stations are the places of welcome to each Russian city, so during its construction it was about building something unique and spatial, which would show the best face of the cities and that is why each station in Russia has its specific characteristics. Here are some examples.

Train station in Moscow

There are nine railway stations in operation in Moscow. They are part of the Moscow and Northwest regional lines of the Russian Railways railway stations. Previously (until 1896) there was also the Nizhny Novgorod station; but at the beginning of the 20th century, the possibility of creating a central station was considered.

Almost all stations are the beginning and end points of the railway lines from Moscow. Kursky and Belorussky are not partly Savelovsky final railroads, through which a dead-end line passes from Belorussky train station to Rybinsk.

The Kursk station serves two railway lines from Moscow (Kursk and Gorkovskoe), also the two main lines (Ryazan and Kazan) are served by the Kazan station (the crossing of the two main lines is in the city of Lyubertsy on the border with Moscow), the rest is in the same direction (of the same name, except Smolensk direction from Belorussky station).

Suburban electric trains (electric trains) leave all stations. In two stations: Kursky and Belorussky, long-distance trains pass in transit. From three stations (Kiev, Paveletsky, Belorussky) and there is also an electric train movement: “Aeroexpress” to airports (“Vnukovo”, “Domodedovo”, “Sheremetyevo”).

In all the stations there is a change to several stations of the Moscow metro, while the Circle line connects all the stations except Riga and Savelovsky, which in the future will connect with the line of the great ring.

Three railway stations (Kazansky, Leningradsky, Yaroslavsky) are located nearby at Komsomolskaya Square – “Square of the three railway stations”). From some stations (Savyolovsky, Riga, Kazan, Leningradsky, Yaroslavsky) there is a transfer to the platforms of the railway stations from other directions.

There is also the Government Station near Komsomolskaya Square, where the Imperial Special Station was also previously on the Moscow-Kalanchevskaya platform.

St. Petersburg train station

There are 5 railway stations in operation in St. Petersburg. They are part of the Northwest Regional Directorate of the Russian Railway Stations.
The list of St. Petersburg stations by monthly flow of passengers is presented below. Data for 2017. Sort by total passenger traffic. (the sum of passenger traffic of suburban and long distance traffic)

Baltisky train station.
Vitebsky train station.
Ladozhsky train station.
Moskovsky train station.
Finlyandsky train station.

Yekaterinburg train station

Yekaterinburg is located almost on the border of Europe and Asia and is an important transport hub for the Trans-Siberian railway. The railway station of the capital of the Urals is a complete complex of buildings and structures built over 150 years ago which began construction from the moment the railway appeared in the city. The station is made up of two buildings, which are historical and architectural monuments, among other minor buildings. The “Old Station” was built in 1878. It resembles an old and typical Russian tower; From 1914 until the early 1990s, it was used as a military installation.

Already in 2003, the building was restored and restored to its original appearance. Now here is the Museum of History, Science and Technology of the Sverdlovsk railway. In front of the museum there are sculptures of railway workers from different eras: the station manager, who announces the departure of the train, the railway workers and the teacher, the driver.

Passengers are served by the new station building, which has been rebuilt and rebuilt several times. Until 2009, the station was called Sverdlovsk-Passenger, but as the city was renamed for a long time, in 2010 the station finally acquired a new sign: Yekaterinburg. A very interesting story that is also related to the esplanade. Actually, it is officially called the Plaza of the Voluntary Tank Corps of the Urals. However, the official name is rarely used, usually, Yekaterinburg residents say: “I will find you“ under the mittens. ”The meaning of this expression becomes clear when you look at the monument to the tanks: one of They really hold the glove.

Kazan train station

The Kazan train station is located downtown near its main attractions.
In the 19th century, a train journey from Moscow to Kazan took 53 hours, currently it can reach an average of 14. The main station of the city was built in 1893, when the Moscow-Kazan railway was built circulating east, over A bridge built over the Volga River.
The building is constructed of red brick and resembles an old castle. Two snow-white marble leopards, symbols of the city, stand out spectacularly on their background.
After almost 100 years of its inauguration, there was a severe fire at the station, so it was later restored almost completely. In addition to the historic building, the complex includes a suburban terminal, a service building with long-distance ticket offices and many service buildings.

One of the biggest advantages of the station in Kazan is that it is located in the city center and you can walk to the main attractions from there, in particular, to the Kremlin. However, the city administration planned to move the railway station to another area to ease the center of Kazan. However, so far this project has remained a project, and the station is in the same place.

Krasnoyarsk train station

SINGING SOURCE AND STEELS WITH SCULPTURE LEÓN – DECORATION OF THE KRASNOYARSK STATION
When the first train arrived in Krasnoyarsk, and this happened on December 18, 1895, more than half of the townspeople gathered to receive it. Then the festivities began, which lasted all night. The people of Krasnoyarsk generally always loved their station. And there is a reason: at one time it was one of the most beautiful of the Siberian central railway, and now it is among the best in the country. The building was erected in 1896 according to the project of the architect Solovyov, then it was rebuilt, but it did not lose its sober luxury. For local residents, the station served not only as a railroad crossing, but also as a place for leisure activities. The families came here to sit in a cafe, watch the train exit. This tradition is still alive. Especially after a singing fountain and a stele with a lion sculpture appeared on the esplanade, against which newlyweds like to be photographed.

Train station in Nizhny Novgorod

The passenger terminal of the Nizhny Novgorod station is located in the Revolution Square which is included in the Gorki Railway Stations Regional Directorate.

its story.

The building was built in the 70s although on several occasions it was subjected to different modernizations and changes or. Since 2002 the terminal has undergone a modernization process and currently has terminals to automatically verify the different tickets covered on the platforms.

During the last years, the Nizhiy Novgorod station has had an active modification of its official name, however the last name assigned is that of the Zheleznodorozhny train station, since only at this time had it been funded. During 2018, a reconstruction of the station was carried out in accordance with the project “Reconstruction of the Nizhny Novgorod station complex”, developed by the specialists of the Nizhny Novgorod Zheldor Proekt Institute.

Train station in Novosibirsk

Novosibirsk occupies a key position in the well-known Trans-Siberian Railway and is the starting point of Turksib, that is, a connection link between the main Russian cities and the countries of Central Asia. Until 1926, the city was called Novonikolaevsk, of course, there was a train station in it. It was built in 1893 and could not cope with the flow of passengers and cargo, so it was decided to completely modernize it. The new train terminal was updated and opened in 1939 although it only benefited from reconstruction in both the technical and architectural sense.

The station impresses with its magnificence and size, it is considered the largest in Siberia and one of the largest in the country: almost 4 thousand people can fit simultaneously in the station building with an area of ​​approximately 30 thousand square meters. The Novosibirsk-Glavny train station has excellent acoustics, so musicians often perform in it and even sing church choirs. There is an interesting exhibition on the station platform: an exact copy of the Provorny steam engine, which had been working on the Tsarskoye Selo railway since 1837. And on the facade of the building you can see a commemorative plaque that says: “In this place
Ob Station, where in 1897, following the village of Shushenskoye, V.I. Lenin. “

Samara train station

The newest of the stations in Russia and the highest in Europe. With an altitude of 95 meters. There is an observation platform from which you can see a magnificent panorama of the entire city. It provides a lot of comfort for passengers and it is very easy to move around the station with luggage: instead of the usual stairs, there are ramps that spiral from floor to floor and of course an elevator.

The train schedule is easy to see on large electronic screens to be aware of train departures or arrivals from and to different destinations. additionally you can make excursions which lead to the Kuibyshev railway museum, located under the dome. At night, thanks to the lighting, the station has a great and fantastic view.

 

How to understand the ticket?

Printed Tickets

1 First Line

126 4А 24.06 22.00 17П 000302.6 000185.6 01 ПОЛНЫЙ

  • train service number.
    date and time of departure of trains.
    number and type of car.
    ticket and reserved seat cost.
    the number of people for whom this ticket is issued.
    Name of the document (“complete” when buying a ticket at full cost).

2 Second Line

ЧЕРЕПОВ 1-МОСКВА ЯР (2010290-2000002) КЛ.ОБСЛ .3П

  • names of departure and destination stations, reduced to 12 characters.
    Seven-digit codes of the departure and destination stations.
    service class designation (for company trains – “ФИРМ”)

3 Third Line

МЕСТА 030 СЕВ СЕВ РАОП

  • Seat numbers
    Security symbol
    the abbreviated name of the road to which the ticket is issued.

4 Fourth Line

76Г 763553 424 71 0144113 240607 0837 0021Я 05 / ФПА / Н

  • series and ballot number.
    a security code to identify fake travel documents.
    Document code and its number in the sales request.
    Ticket sale request number.
    date of issuance of the ticket (in ddmmyy format).
    Ticket issuance time (in hhmm format).
    code of the computer center that issued the ticket.
    code of the computer center that issued the places.
    point of sale.
    box office number
    Rate information
    the “Н” symbol if the rate is considered in national currency.

For all requests to the Express system, the numbering is end to end; It is reset daily at 00:00.

5 Fifth Line

ПН 1902 ======= / ТИТОВ = ЮВ

Passport data of the passengers (type of document, its series and number, last name, initials).

6 Sixth and Seventh Line

Н-553.2 РУБ В Т.Ч. СТР. 2.3; ТАРИФ РФ + КСБ 500.5 В Т.Ч. НДС 76.35 РУБ
СЕРВИС 50.4 В Т.Ч. НДС 7.69 РУБ С БЕЛЬЕМ У0

  • Total price of the ticket with currency (the tenths are separated by a period).
    “ТАР” – fare (ticket cost and reserved seat).
    “+ КСБ” – the amount of the commission.
    “+ СТРСБ” – the amount of the insurance premium.
    “+ УСЛ” – the cost of services.
    “В Т. Ч. СТР. 2.3 РУБ + НСП” – if the sales tax applies.
    amount of tax collected.
    percentage tax.
    theme code of the Russian Federation.
    “U” symbol when issuing a ticket to a car with additional services.
    The number of meals a passenger must have on a ticket. If the designation is “У0”, no food is provided in the car.

The rate may be indicated in Swiss francs or in national currency.

8 Eighth Line

ПРИБЫТИЕ ПОЕЗДОМ 125 * 4 29.06 В 09.27

  • Arrival time of the passenger at the destination. Moscow time is indicated for stations located in Russia, Kyrgyzstan and at the Peter and Paul branch of the Southern Urals railway. For CIS and Baltic countries, local time is indicated.

If the train leaves according to the previous schedule, but arrives in accordance with the new schedule, the arrival time is not indicated. On tickets issued through the ticket offices connected to the Express-3 automated control system, a barcode is printed in the lower right corner.

Electronic Tickets

After you have purchased a train ticket through the Internet, you will receive an order form. If the electronic registration is approved, it can be presented to the driver as a ticket. Otherwise, you must obtain a paper ticket at the ticket office or at the train station.

See what information is indicated on the electronic ticket.

  • 1 Electronic ticket number – If you will receive a paper ticket at the ticket office or the machine at the station, you must indicate the electronic ticket number and present the document for which it was purchased.
    2 Order / order number – Can match the ticket number. But also in one order there can be several entries with different numbers.
    3 Passenger’s last name and initials – Must match those of your document for which the ticket was purchased.
    4 The document – Part of the number is hidden to maintain confidentiality, the browser will have it completely. Letters – type of document: ПН – Russian passport, СР – birth certificate of the Russian Federation, ЗП – passport of the Russian Federation, ЗЗ – foreign document, etc.
    5 Date and time of departure – When traveling to Russia, Moscow time is indicated, even if you are going to take another train every hour. When traveling abroad: local time. There are exceptions, but time zone information will still be provided.
    6 Departure and arrival stations – If there are several stations in the city, the name of the station you need is indicated. For example, MOSCOW KUR is the Kursk station in Moscow.
    7 Date and time of arrival – When traveling to Russia, Moscow time is indicated, even if you are going to take another train every hour. When traveling abroad: local time. There are exceptions, but time zone information will still be provided.
    8 Type of wagon and service class – The numbers indicate the level of comfort (1 – luxury, 2 – coupe, 3 – reserved seat car; for sedentary trains, the brand is different), the letters indicate the coding of the services . More details here.
    9 The train – You can also see what the train number means.
    10 Wagon – The numbers indicate the car number, the letters indicate its type (reserved seat, coupe, seat, etc.)
  • 11 Place – When you buy a ticket, you can select it in the wagon diagram. In reserved seats and coupe odd places below, even – above. In the “SAPSAN” odd number near the window.
    12 Ticket price – Reserved seat: a fee for the fact that the place is assigned to you. This is one of the components of the cost of car tickets of all kinds. The total cost of the ticket includes other components.
    13 Insurance cost – The insurance rate is RZD insurance, it is included in the ticket price, therefore it costs 0 rubles. Voluntary insurance is not indicated on the ticket, it is from RESO. If you need accounting documents, write to [email protected] and enter the order number.
    14 Service fee – Here are the rates for Russian railways (for reissuing or reimbursing a ticket, and some others). Our agent fee is not indicated on the ticket; The ticket is in the form of Russian Railways. If you need accounting documents, write to [email protected] and enter the order number
    15 Terminal barcode – If you receive a ticket at the station terminal, you cannot enter the ticket number manually, but take this barcode to the reader.
    16 Barcode to land – The driver checks if he has a terminal. If you submit a hard copy of a form with electronic registration or a ticket on the screen of a mobile device, this barcode should be easy to read.

Moscows golden ring

What is the Golden Ring: Cities and Monasteries

The gold ring is an area that is close to the city of Moscow, which consists of 10 cities. These cities are noted for their historical and cultural monuments and close to each other, located northeast of Moscow. Starting from right to left, and starting from the capital Moscow, is Sergiev Posad, Pereslavl-Zalessky, Rostov Veliky and Yaroslav, Kostroma, Ivanovo, Suzdal and Vladimir. In 2015, the city of Kasimov joined the gold circuit and in 2016 the city of Kaluga did the same.

Sergiev Posad, is the starting point for excursions in the gold ring, is located at a distance of 52 km from Moscow and is the most distant point of the tourist “oval”, meanwhile Kostroma, is 306 km from Moscow .

Along with the classic route, of which the main cities to visit are Suzdal, Vladimir and Sergiev Posad can also be extended, according to taste and availability and many other variables, visits to other cities that are not included in the circuit, which By the way, they are no less remarkable in terms of landscapes, traditions and culture: Kalyazin, Moore, Ples, Rybinsk, Uglich, Gus-Crystal, Palekh, Alexandrov and many more.

Although they are a little further from the main cities, in the central regions of Russia there is always something to see and this atmosphere and spirit of these settlements fit perfectly within the framework of the Golden Ring: cozy cities always adorned by domes that shine under the sun and surrounded by magnificent landscapes.

Golden Ring Routes

The options for excursions in the gold ring, there are in a large number. In addition to the classic ones mentioned above, the extended route around the Yaroslav region is popular with visitors from the Uglich, Myshkin, Rybinsk and Tutaev regions. Its total length is about 1000 km.

You can make this trip around the Golden Ring not only in a circle, but also radially: for example, start from Rostov Veliky to Borisoglebsky Monastery, from Yaroslavl to Tutaev, from Kostroma to Plyos and Shchelykovo, from Ivanovo to Shuya and then visit the samples of folk crafts in Palekh, Kholui and Mstera. In most cases, these mini programs include visits to only 4-7 cities.

According to the duration of the trip, they can be calculated for between two and three days (weekend tours) or for those from 9 to 10 days if you want to make a complete trip and get to know in depth the main cities and surroundings. The most popular options are 2 to 5 days, although there are also many people who like to make many longer and more detailed visits, especially in the summer.

With what transport go

The most convenient way to get around the gold ring is an organized excursion. Despite the inevitable long duration of this tour, the advantages of this option are obvious: “all-inclusive” transfers, meals, visits, guides in the language itself may be available.

Travelers on their own should focus on personal transportation or intercity buses. The railway is one of the most appropriate means of transport most suitable for individual visits not only for the cities of the Golden Ring but for a large part and Russia, since it only connects regional centers (which is convenient, for example, for Yaroslavl or Vladimir). It should be taken into account that in many small places, the station is tens of kilometers away from tourist places. Another option to quickly reach the opposite side of the “ring” is by plane: for example, flights to Kostroma from Domodedovo airport in Moscow, has a frequency of twice a week. Travel time is less than 1.5 hours.

What cities of the Golden Ring can be visited

Not all the cities of the Golden Ring are located on the banks of navigable rivers, but most of them can be visited by boats during river cruises. All river cruise routes are made in such a way that, in addition to the cities of the Golden Ring, the ship enters other points.

Some cruise routes to the cities of the Golden Ring:

Moscow – Uglich – Myshkin – Kostroma – Ples – Yaroslavl – Tutaev – Rybinsk – Kalyazin – Sosenki – Moscow. The duration of the route is 7 days.

Moscow – Uglich – Yaroslavl – Kostroma – Myshkin – Moscow. Duration 5 days.

Moscow – Sosenki – Kalyazin – Rybinsk – Yaroslavl – Myshkin – Moscow. Duration 5 days.

Moscow – Konstantinovo – Kasimov – Ryazan – Kolomna – Moscow. Duration 7 days.

The cost of the cruise varies greatly depending on the route chosen and the boat, as well as the type of cabin. In addition to the above, there are many other routes. All possible options are better to consult with the tour operator.

Connection and Wi-Fi

Finding a free Wi-Fi hotspot in the cities of the Golden Ring is no problem. The internet is not everywhere, but it covers a good part of the cities more than everything in the most tourist and central parts. In small cities like Sergiev Posad there is access in most of the central cafes and popular restaurants. Some institutions also offer free Wi-Fi only to customers.

In larger cities, such as Vladimir, the network can be found in large plazas and in the main attractions area.

As for hotels, it is convenient to ask before booking, if you have free Wi-Fi service, however, in most hotels you can count on this service. Tourists in large cities will have a wide coverage of Wi-Fi services. Access problems can occur in small mini-hotels or guest houses.

Hotels in the Golden Ring

Fortunately, the times when traveling inside Russia was a challenge to find a suitable hotel more precisely, due to the lack of quality stay options, have already been forgotten. Today, in any city of the Golden Ring there will be at least a couple of good hotels, as well as many options in the private sector: such as apartments and even daily rental cottages and undoubtedly as in each tourist city, there is a wide variety of hotels of various standards and prices.

A highlight and pleasant, so to speak, for tourists from large cities that are accustomed to technology and modernity, is accommodation in old houses in the suburbs or in the villages in the area.

Accommodation prices range from RUB 550 to 1500 per room in private homes, condominiums or at a camp site. Between 2400-5100 RUB per well furnished room in a modern hotel or in a well-kept private hotel. The accommodation with bussiness quality will cost between RUB 6000-10000 for a double room with breakfast.

What to Bring

The crafts and souvenirs of the cities of the Golden Ring are just as attractive to travelers as visits to monasteries, temples and museums. In addition to the standard range, almost all kinds of things can be found with the image of local architectural monuments. almost all cities are famous for the exceptional products of their artisans; in Kostroma, for example, they make splendid bark souvenirs: tueski and boxes, boxes and canes. In addition, linen and home textiles, regular and embroidered, are brought from here. From Pereslavl-Zalessky it is worth taking some wonderful pieces of interior and carved wooden kitchen. Vladimir is known for the scraps, enamels and ornaments made of semiprecious stones, and Suzdal tapestries.

In Ivanovo, by all means, you can find products from local weavers: calico and patterned fabrics, home and bedroom textiles. The places of the “big” gold rings (Kholuy, Mstera, Palekh) are famous throughout the world for the art of lacquer miniatures.

Kitchen and Restaurants

Due to the tourist interest, largely by foreigners, there are no problems with restaurants and food in the gold ring. From sandwiches and glasses of some economic typical drink, to restaurants of Russian cuisine there are many gastronomic offers for every taste.

In the cities of the Golden Ring, you should definitely try local gastronomic delights, donuts in Yaroslavl, cheese in Kostroma, mead and cucumbers in Suzdal in all its forms, from fresh to pickles and in Rostov Veliky, pike dishes.

It is worth noting that in low-cost establishments you can get good food and bottles at quite affordable prices: the food is fresh, the portions are quite generous, the prices are cheap, after all, these are not expensive restaurants of the of main cities. Buffet is rarely offered at hotels: breakfasts are usually continental and dinner can be ordered à la carte at the hotel restaurant.

In Sergiev Posad: the Trinity-Sergio Lavra with a lot of magnificent monuments and religious architecture and a museum-reserve, there are also churches, chapels, sketches, steeples, chambers and palaces, as well as the Toy Museum.

In Pereslavl-Zalessky, there is the Transfiguration Cathedral of the Savior, the churches of Alexander Nevsky and Simeon the stylite, the Goritsky, Nikitsky and Trinity-Danilov monasteries, the heritage of the museum “The little boat of Peter the Great”, the Iron Museum and the Locomotive Museum.

In Rostov Veliky has the Rostov Kremlin Museum, the Church of the Savior in Pesky, the Mother of God of Tolga and the Church of the Ascension, the Nativity, the Spaso-Yakovlevsky and Borisoglebsky monasteries, and the Enamel Museum.

In Yaroslav, there are the Transfiguration Monastery, the churches of the Epiphany, Elijah the Prophet and Nikola Nadein, and many secondary churches, Gostiny Dvor, the Metropolitan chambers, etc.

In Kostroma: the commercial gallery, the Church of the Resurrection in Debre, the Ipatiev Monastery and the Trinity Cathedral, the Bogoyavlensky Anastasiin Monastery, numerous churches, as well as the Museum of Fine Arts, the Nature Museum and even the Museum from the feat of Ivan Susanin.

In the churches Ivanovo – Vvedenskaya, Ilinskaya and Kazan, the Church of the Assumption of the Virgin, the Museum of Regional Art Ivanovo, the Historical Museum of Local History Ivanovo, the Museum of Ivanovo Calico, the House-Museum of the Tsvetayev family.

In Suzdal: the Kremlin of Suzdal, the Cathedral of the Nativity of the Virgin Mary, the Chambers of Bishops and the bell tower, the Pokrovsky and Euthymeus monasteries of the Savior, the Cathedral of the Intercession of the Virgin, the Cathedral of Borisoglebsky, the Museum of Wooden Architecture under the open sky.

In Vladimir: the Golden Gate and the Water Tower, the Cathedrals of the Assumption and Dmitrievsky, the museum complex of Chambers, the monasteries of Rozhdestvensky and Knyaginin, the Church of the Assumption of the Virgin, Nikita the Martyr, the Intercession from Nerl and the Trinity, as well as the beautiful frescoes by Andri Rublev.

8 things to do when traveling around the Golden Ring

  • Collect holy water from the sacred source of the Trinity-Sergio Lavra in Sergiev Posad.
  • To celebrate Snow Maiden’s birthday in April in Kostroma.
  • Buy designer boots and shawl in Ivanovo.
  • Go through the “bear” places in Yaroslavl and buy a local “stuffed animal” for memory.
  • Make a wish on the Blue Stone of the former Pleshcheeva lake in Pereslavl-Zalessky.
  • Catch a pica in Rostov the Great and murmur “according to my wish.”
  • Take a steam bath and try all the varieties of mead in Suzdal.
  • Take a fabulous photo of the Church of the Intercession on the Nerl in Vladimir.

Gold ring for children

The gold ring for children is, above all, a trip to a Russian fairy tale. The New Year and Christmas festivities will be especially remembered by the children. The main point on this route is Kostroma, the birthplace of Snow Maiden. The emblematic places of the city are the Snow Maiden’s Tower and its residence, as well as the fabulous Land of the Snow Maiden Museum. Kostroma in general is a very entertaining city. A lot of fun for children: you can see the “Les-Wizard” and “Peter’s toy” museums.

The theme of New Year’s miracles is continued by Vladimir, where even the fairs in the winter become theatrical stages.

Fun is very noisy on New Year’s days and in the complex “Birth of a fairy tale”, 25 km from Pereslavl-Zalessky. It is worth returning to this city in the summer to visit the Russian Park, which offers dozens of programs for children’s activities.

A unique place in Suzdal is the “Shchurovo Gorodishche” museum, where the atmosphere of the old Russian’s life is recreated. In early spring, the only Russian festival of fairy tales is celebrated here.

In Yaroslavl, children are accepted as warriors in the museum-theater “Aleshino Compound”. Zoo and dolphinarium are worthy of attention.

In Rostov the Great he organized magnificent Christmas trees of the Kremlin. It would not be superfluous to look at the Onion Establishment Museum and the Shchuchy Dvor soup soup academy in the Rostovsky complex.

Ivanovo and Sergiev Posad cannot boast so much fun, but there is much to do here. In the zoo of Ivanovo, for example, live more than 800 representatives of the animal world. And in Sergiev Posad, an excellent place for family vacations is the Miracles amusement park.

Parties and Events

In the cities of the Golden Ring, they live and have fun in the best Russian traditions: they take traditional sleigh rides, escapes noisily from winter by burning stuffed animals, dancing and dressing someone on that mountain.

The brightest holidays are held in the regions in the New Year and Christmas. In this regard, entertainment programs delight Vladimir, Kostroma, Rostov the Great and Yaroslavl. The atmosphere of total immersion of the just life is guaranteed in the carnival weekend. The celebrations are accompanied by songs, loud performances and eating pancakes with dozens of ingredients. Great demand for the gold ring and Easter.

In the century that Kulich buys in supermarkets, a Holy Week trip to the city of the Golden Ring clinking with bells will give unforgettable impressions.

The summer season in the gold ring opens with the May holidays and continues with the night festivities in Ivan Kupala. Spectacular event in the land of Yaroslavl in July – Balloon Festival. In Vladimir, at the beginning of autumn, Princely Fun Warriors competitions are held.

Holiday kaleidoscope Suzdal boasts. In the middle of summer, tourists from all over the country come to the city to celebrate Cucumber Day. The local laptop race is widely known.

Climate and Season

The climate in the cities of the Golden Ring is classic, temperate, with a pronounced seasonality: it is warm in summer, cold in winter and rainy in autumn and spring.

High season: end of December to January, when crowds of tourists rush inland to celebrate the New Year and Christmas. Winter here is “right”: with the frosts that paint the windows, the accumulations of snow and the fresh snow, without which the tourist attraction of the cities, perhaps, would have suffered a lot. It is full of people in the Golden Ring and Carnival, when people are in a hurry to participate in colorful popular festivals.

In the spring, as in other matters and in the fall, life in the cities decreases: on the route there is a lot of rain, it rains. The flow of tourists resumes in May. Summer in the old Russian cities is an ideal season to rest unconditionally. First, trees grow here, not high-rise buildings, and it’s beautiful. Secondly, at this time of the year many street festivals are held in the Golden Ring, it’s fun. Well, not in Moscow the clean rivers and lakes that are on the route, will greatly brighten the rest for swimming lovers.

Important Gold Ring Details

Where to stay

Where to stay: for radial excursions around the Golden Ring, it is better to stay in hotels in Moscow. Going to the Great Journey in the Ring, you can stop at the old Vladimir, a Suzdal toy, the beautiful Kostroma, the cozy Yaroslavl or Sergiev Posad.

Where to go

Where to go: in Sergiev Posad, famous for the Trinity-Sergius Lavra, in Pereslavl-Zalessky, rich in Russian architecture, in Yaroslavl, one thousand years old, in the “homeland of the Romanov royal dynasty” Kostroma, in the city- Suzdal museum, at the Golden Gate of Vladimir, to the smallest and oldest Uglich, in a little funny Myshkin.

Matrioskas: Russian dolls

Matrioska: Main symbol of Russian tradition

muñecas rusas

Some symbols and objects have cultural importance for Russia. But, very few will have such relevance as the popular Russian dolls. As a fundamental part of Russian tradition, matrioskas are recognized as the cultural heritage of mankind, and their elaboration is one of Russia’s most iconic customs.

The origin of Russian dolls

There are several stories about the origin of Russian dolls. One of the most accepted, establishes that they appear in 1898, in the city of Moscow. The Mamontov family, which was known because they possessed enormous wealth and eccentric luxuries, would be the ones who would have it.

Vasily Zvezdochka, a craftsman who worked for the family, together with the artist Sergey Malyutin, made the design of the first model. Focused as a toy that expressed the customs of Russia, the first matrioska was born. This first model, consisted of a doll that contained seven others inside. Which were inside one another, since they were smaller as they were placed inside another.

The first name he received this toy was “matryona” (mother in Russian). But to the artists, it seemed like a very serious name. So, they decided to use their diminutive “matrioska.” The first doll had the image of a peasant girl with her traditional clothes. Since the doll, attached to Russian tradition, was aimed at children in the countryside.

The production of these dolls migrated from Moscow, to Sérgiyev Posad (currently known as the city of Russian dolls), to the northeast. There, local artists continued to produce them, which made them one of Russia’s greatest customs.

For the early twentieth century, during an art exhibition in Paris, these Russian dolls were exhibited. From this point, its popularity was growing exponentially. Since it was a very simple object, easily crafted, but with a huge visual appeal. The matrioska was simple, but great.

“From the moment the matrioskas began to be made in Sérgiyev Posad, this city has been considered as the cradle of the Russian doll,” said Baranova.

A didactic doll. Russian customs icon

Tradición rusa

Learning is essential for children, and in Russian tradition, the use of matrioskas too. This is because they are used to teach children very important things, such as color sizes, and even numbers and letters.

An example of this, and perhaps the best, is that the difference between sizes can be explained very well. Children can understand well that small and large are very different. Since none of these Russian dolls can be introduced into a smaller one. The small within the large. It becomes simple.

The twentieth century would be crucial for Russia’s customs to become popular. Many artisans tried small design changes on Russian dolls, modifying them to represent other characters, such as literary works and historical figures.

One way to set an example is that, by 1912, commemorating the invasion of France into Russia, this Russian tradition was used to represent Napoleon in a doll. Another doll was made to represent his warlike opponent, Marshal Mikhail Kutuzzov, along with his lieutenants.

Also, to commemorate a century of the birth of the writer Nikolai Gogol, dolls came out, representing various characters of works of his authorship, such as “Dead Souls” and “The Inspector”

The best known example is the anniversary of the October revolution, in 1917. For which it was made of these Russian dolls but one meter high. Showing the peoples of several Soviet countries. With the typical costumes of each one. Russian tradition was the center of attraction for that time.

The making of this icon of Russian customs

Tilia wood is ideal for making Russian dolls, Since the tree has almost no branches and its bark is very clean. In addition the fiber of its wood is soft, which allows it to be handled without the risk of breakage.

Costumbres de Rusia

Having reached the workshop Tilia, it is carved so that the shape of the outer wrist is appreciable, and is hollow. So, repeat the process with the smaller ones.

Then, the artist takes it and covers it with a paste, which is a mixture of white glue and water. This, despite industrialization, remains a Russian tradition. This process means that the wood will not be able to absorb the paint, and the drawings will be durable. The process is also repeated on small dolls.

Once dry, the Russian dolls receive the contour drawing, so the theme will be known. Smaller dolls will have the same design, or different, depending on the purpose of the artist.

Then, details of the doll are painted like the face, arms and clothes. Particular details are applied that go according to the artist’s intention, both externally and in the smallest ones. In the end, the patterns are fixed with lacquer. This Russian tradition has been carried out in the same way for more than a century.

The world of the author matryoshka is vast. Political changes in Russia in the early 1990s allowed the Russian doll to reach a different level. Modern authors continue to create in classic styles, which, however, have a new interpretation. For example, themes on religious subjects appeared on the mural. By the way, the iconic painters of Sergiev Posad proved to be brilliant here.

The main attention in the author’s matrioska is given to its decoration rather than its form. Artists are trying to express their attitude towards the world around them. For example, the story of the Tsar’s family, which worried the Russian people, is represented in the Matryoshka Museum by a multi-seat nested doll with portraits of members of the Tsar’s family.

Today we see a vivid example of how the Russian doll connects the present with the past: it portrays Nicholas II and political figures, as well as the presidents of Russia. On the aprons of the dolls, motifs of Pavlo-Posad shawls, Zhostovo trays and architectural monuments are depicted, illustrating the combination of Russian artistic traditions of applied art. This is precisely its symbolic meaning, the embodied image of motherhood and fertility.

Currently, almost anywhere in the world, the existence of these spectacular Russian dolls is known. In fact, you can find it in a souvenir shop, all over Russia. Its popularity is so great that various artists represent this Russian tradition in a particular way. Dolls symbolizing the Beatles, political, religious, historical figures, among many others. What makes them perhaps, the best known of all Russian customs.

The Root Desert

The Root Desert

The Monastery of the Nativity of the Virgin, known as the Root Desert, is one of the first monasteries in the land of Kursk. In importance in the Orthodox world, it is compared with the Diveevo monastery in the Nizhny Novgorod region and with the Trinity-Sergio Lavra. “Root”: because deserts were built in honor of the Icon of the root of Our Lady of the “Sign”. According to legend, this icon in the thirteenth century was found in the roots of an elm, a hunter who passes through the local forest. The monastery was founded on the site of the icon two centuries after the event.

More precisely, the monastery was built near the acquisition site, on the right bank of the Tuskar River, on a hill. The place itself denotes the so-called “Church of the Mother of God“ Fountain that gives life. ”It is believed that when the hunter raised the icon, a spring with healing water clogged from the ground at the roots of the tree. church on the spring, within which the roots of the legendary elm were preserved.The spring was taken from the church; on the banks of the Tuskari there was a wooden bath house.This fountain is the main, but not the only one. springs around the monastery, and are also revered by believers. In the Soviet years, this veneration was officially banned as obscurantist and harmful to the environment. Ostensibly, pilgrims polluted the shallow Tuskar, in which the waters of the Springs The bans did not help.

Administratively, the monastery belongs to the town of Liberty. Around there is a forest, blue domes with golden domes rise above the trees, the stairs lead from the hill to the hill, the monastery buildings descend to the river with smooth ledges. Very picturesque and elegant. There was a time when Ilya Repin appreciated the picturesque character of the desert of roots. It is true that in his painting “Religious Procession in Kursk Province”, the multitude of pilgrims of various colors on a dusty road does not look so friendly.

IT IS IMPORTANT

In the territory of the monastery, the usual rules must be observed: do not wear open clothing, short skirts and shorts, women should cover their heads and men, and vice versa. No Smoking

The bathroom is divided into female and male halves. The towel should be taken with you and immerse yourself only in clothing (recommended in a new shirt), with a cross on the neck.

LOCAL FEATURES

The monastery is still being rebuilt, but it is already very deified. In addition to the temples, you can see two monuments in the territory: a sculptural composition dedicated to the acquisition of the icon and a monument to Seraphim of Sarov by Vyacheslav Klykov. Sarov’s seraphim were not only in the desert, but, according to legend, were healed by the miraculous icon of the Mother of God “The Sign.” In the 1990s, after the decision to recreate the monastery, a monastery of Serafim Sarovsky was built with a chapel one kilometer from the root desert.

In the temple of the Icon of Our Lady of the Fountain of Life, if it is open, it is worth paying attention to the iconostasis of painted earthenware. It was created and installed in 2012 by Yekaterinburg teachers.

There are sixteen springs in the Root Desert, and each of them has special healing properties. All springs go to Tuskar, so those who wish to improve their health and recover immediately simply submerge themselves in the river.

A stone’s throw from the monastery is the Historic, Cultural and Pilgrimage Center “Root Desert”, where there is a hotel. The private Grin Inner Inn is nearby, but staying there is more expensive.

Near the desert, in the former territory of the monastery, is the historical and memorial museum “Command post of the Central Front”. From here, Marshal Rokossovsky ordered the start of the operation in the Kursk Bulge.

The acquisition of the Kursk root icon of the Mother of God “The Sign” is celebrated on September 21 (8 according to the article).

THE HISTORY

The history of the monastery on the right bank of the Tuskar River is inextricably linked to the history of the Kursk icon of the Mother of God “The sign”. The sign (Oranta) is a special type of icon in which the Virgin is represented praying, with raised hands and with the Christ child in a medallion on the chest, in the womb.

At the beginning of the 18th century, a hostel was organized in the monastery, and instead of a wooden Christmas church, a two-story stone church was erected. In 1708, the Holy Doors were built with a bell tower over them. In 1713, the Church of the Icon of the Mother of God of the Source of Life was placed on the place of the icon. In 1797, the Blessed Church was founded. Almost at the same time, two living rooms were built behind the monastery.

By the end of the 18th century, the monastery was fully equipped, there were abbot and fraternal cells on two floors, a large garden grew. In addition, Emperor Paul I granted the cloister of land and a mill in the town of Dolgom. In the early nineteenth century, about thirty monks lived in the root desert.

The stone meetings from the upper monastery square to the Spring Church that gives life were built in the 1930s. In the middle of the century, in the desert, on the site of the ruined church of the Nativity of the Blessed Virgin Mary, the architect Konstantin Ton placed a new cathedral. It was completed in 1860.

As for the root icon, they not only revered it, but once they even tried to exploit it. In 1898, Kursk’s self-taught revolutionaries put explosives underneath. The explosion affected the wall, the marble steps, the canopy over the image, but the icon miraculously survived.

After the revolution, the icon was taken out of Russia, and the monastery was systematically looted. The temples were destroyed, the Freedom sanitarium was opened in the territory. After the Great Patriotic War, a craft school and then an agricultural school were placed in the fraternal body. During Khrushchev’s anti-religious campaign, the source tried unsuccessfully to specify, access to the springs was prohibited. However, the pilgrimage did not stop until 1989, when it was decided to restore the radical desert.

HOW TO GET

From Kursk train station, take any minibus that goes to the Dubrovinsky stop, from where the gazelles leave for the desert every 15 minutes to the town of Liberty. Leave after about 30-40 minutes (it is better to ask the driver for a stop).

How to get the Russian visa?

How to get the Russian visa?

Would you like to vacation in Russia and do not know what are the requirements you need? First of all, if you are one of those people who want to venture to one of the largest and oldest countries in the world, whether with your family, friends or partner, you have to take into account whatever your destination, there are 3 fundamental requirements: passport (current), of course tickets, entry or travel documents and the Russian visa.

You may wonder, what is the Russian visa? How do I get it? Is it complicated to process it? Let me give you some small tips in a clear, concrete and concise way.

The visa as such is a document that allows entry to the Russian federation that people from other nationalities must have. It is essential to have it both when arriving and when leaving.

In the following annex, you can see the elements that the Russian visa possesses, as you can see it is similar to a passport.

Annex N ° 1: Parts that make up the Russian visa.

Source: https://www.rusalia.com/tramitar-visado-viajar-rusia/

The visa contains the following information about a foreign citizen:

  • Name and surname
    Birthdate
    Sex
    Citizenship
    Passport number
    The date of issuance of the visa, its validity and the multiplicity (number of entries) of a visa to Russia
    The period of stay allowed in the Russian Federation
    Purpose of the trip
    Inviting organization data
    Invitation number to Russia

This document integrates various data or information about the traveler, including the passport and basic information of the person. You should always have it at hand in case any entity in the country requests it, and the same if it is lost you must report it within the first 3 days to the most competent competent body.

However, there are countries that have agreements, which do not require processing, then I show you the following annex as a reference, where you can clearly see those nations that fall into this category, therefore, I invite you to see the following link for you to search for your country and thus check if it enters these countries: http://www.centraldevisadosrusos.com/pdf/Paises_que_no_necesitan_visado.pdf

The cost of a visa ($ 10) depends on the type and citizenship of the visa recipient. The cost of a visa is determined by international agreements between the Russian Federation and the country of which the tourist is a citizen.
In the event that the tourist refuses to apply for a visa, the consular fee cannot be refunded.
Visa processing takes about 14 days. The consulate also offers urgent visa processing for an additional charge. The urgent visa process takes about 3 days.
For children under 16 traveling with their parents and enrolled in their passport, a visa and a separate invitation are not required. In the event that children travel with their own passport, it is necessary to obtain a separate visa for each of them. Minor children can only travel with the permission of their parents, certified by a notary. (For more information, see the section on visa waivers)
Cruise passengers do not need a Russian visa if their stay at the port is less than 72 hours. (For more information, see Visa free entry)

On the other hand, it should be noted that there are different visas (tourist, business, studies, work, humanitarian, private and transit trips); Now, in this article we will focus on talking a little about the tourist-type visa, which is the most commonly used to visit and enjoy those majestic and amazing places offered by the great Russian Federation, and if you don’t believe me you can See the growing annual tourism index of the last years of the graph that I show you below:

Annex N ° 2: Annual international tourism index in Russia (year 1996 to 2015)

Source: https: //datos.bancomundial.org/indicador/ST.INT.ARVL? Contextual = default & end = 2015 & locations = RU & start = 1995

Something very important and that should not be overlooked, is that this visa is issued within 30 days. To get it, there are three ways that I will now mention:

  1. The Russian embassy of your country.
    The Russian Visa Central.
    The services of specialized agencies

For your part, if you prefer to obtain a visa in the most economical way, I suggest processing it in the consular offices of your country. The visa appointment is unique per person, you cannot do several procedures unless each person does it individually.

If in some way you cannot carry out this process in person, you can do it through the Russian visa center, and if you want the process to be faster, you can use the services of private agencies, however, it will be more expensive.

Speaking of prices, in addition to adding the cost for the visa process, you should also consider adding the corresponding expenses to the medical insurance as well as that of the invitation letter.

To start the visa process, first of all you must do it well in advance, since it takes some time (approximately 1 month), additionally these are not processed more than 6 months old, what do I mean by that? If, for example, you plan to go to Russia in the month of September, you should start with these procedures in the month of March.

Understanding the above, in this next section I will tell you that you must have on hand to make the visa application, for this, you must have the original passport (not copy) with a validity of at least 6 months, then you must develop an itinerary of the sites and hotels (this includes the dates of entry and exit on the visa), once this is accomplished, the next step is to obtain the invitation letter or failing visa support, which you can obtain directly from the hotel or process it on your own (this option does not require you to stay at the hotel), however, if you are staying in a private or family apartment, you can request the invitation letter through the Hotels Pro or similar services. Subsequently, it is necessary and fundamental to have travel insurance, this must cover the trip stay specifying the date of the trip and the people who will be insured. Following the step by step, the visa application form is filled in with all the necessary information and travel requirements, where you can access this link: https://visa.kdmid.ru/PetitionChoice.aspx

Finally, you print the form, sign it and attach a photo, make the payment of fees (transfer, cash or TDC) in order to take each collection to the Russian visa center or consular office.

If you go by plane, you will have to go through the airport in the passport and visa control section, which, you will have to wait on average approximately 1 hour (it may be less if the travel season is low), then arrive at customs .

On the other hand, when you are already in Russia, you must obtain the immigration card, this is made up of two sections (it is really a paper) of the passport size, so it is mandatory to register in the first 7 business days once you have arrived .

In summary, obtaining a Russian visa is not really complicated, but you must make sure that you perform each of the steps shown in this article in an orderly manner and always taking into account the start dates of the procedure which must match the date of the trip, This is of the utmost importance, likewise, you must formalize every necessary collection, if you want more information you must contact the Russian consulate of your country, at the Russian visa center or simply look for a private agency to help you process this type of documents .

Additional Information:

This article is aimed at citizens of nations of any kind, and focuses on the tourist visa giving a general description of the process.
When you travel to Russia to vacation and hire a travel agency, the agencies usually carry out the visa process, unlike when you travel on your own.
If you want more information you can contact by phone or go personally to the Russian embassy in your country.
It is forbidden to remove antiques from the country unless you have a written permission from the Ministry of Culture.
Any type of item you buy always asks for a stamp receipt from the store where you purchased it.

Last but not least, I am going to show you some links where you can see some places offered by the Russian Federation as well as the tours we offer for your delight and maximum enjoyment, so I invite you to see our websites:

Guiarus

Tour gratis Rusia

https://toursenrusia.com/

http://boletosrusia.com/

http://toursgratissanpetersburgo.com/

http://tourgratismoscu.com/

Russian Museums

Travelers know how difficult it is to choose between the wide variety of interesting points and sites that we will find during our voyages, known or newly opened and with thousands of different themes that vary according to the taste of each person. Many of our interest and many others do not. In a country like Russia, where its extensive history has been a cultural and historical epicenter, it is possible to find a number of Museums, whether artistic, historical, or contemporary.

In this article we will not show you all the museums that you can enjoy in Russia since there are hundreds of them throughout the whole territory, but we will try to show you a variety of themes that you will find in the important museums of this vast country, so that So, get an idea of ​​how different you can find in each of them and if you are walking in these beautiful Russian lands, have an idea of ​​which of them could be of your interest and of course, visit them.

1 The Museum-Theater “Aliosha Compound”
2 The Museum of the Soviet Automobile Industry in Ivanovo
3 The House-Museum of Maksimiliana Voloshina
4 The Kenassa House of Worship in Simferopol
5 The Karadag Nature Museum
6 Yusupov Palace in Koreiz
7 The Iron Museum in Pereslavl
8 Bahchisaraj Palace
9 The Tretyakov Gallery
10 Noble Residences near Moscow
11 Museum of myths and superstitions of the Russian people
12 Iván Pávlov and Solzhenitsyn House Museum
13 The imposing Artillery Museum in St. Petersburg
14 Peterhof Palace: water and gold fountains
15 Tsereteli and Moscow Museum of Contemporary Art

1 The Theater Museum “Aleshino Podvorye” in Yaroslavl

El Museo Teatro “Aliosha Compuesto”

The “Aleshino Podvorye” Museum is not only unique for its location, a beautiful and traditional Russian cabin in the center of the Alyosha Popovich Dvor resort, but also a unique experience for each person who visits it, offering an interactive tour for enjoyment of visitors of all ages.

Adults and children who visit it would live again in ancient Russian times, where fabulous heroes narrate about their heroic feats, about life in ancient Russia, you can witness a large collection of ancient weapons and conduct a class master on how to make “charms”.

It is a place designed specifically for young children, however this does not mean that an adult can not have fun with the different samples presented in this Theater Museum which also has and also has hotel service.

Absolutely the whole stage is set in the heroic acts of former characters and the value is instilled in the Russian nation. Throughout the tour there is interaction with characters and you can enjoy samples of Candies created there and games that simulate the lifestyle of ancient Russia.

A visit that you should make with your children or young children if you are visiting the beautiful city of Yaroslavl.

2 The Museum of the Soviet Automobile Industry in Ivanovo

Museo de la Industria del Automóvil Soviética

In 2014, the management of the RIAT group of companies decided to create a museum of Soviet cars. This was not spontaneous, but a tribute to the entire automobile production industry history for many years of the Soviet era. The creation of this museum is an attempt to remember the roots of the RIAT company, which although currently dedicated to various sectors of the industry, performs this exhibition as a tribute to the glorious past.

The history of the creation of the company “Riat” began in those days when, on the basis of auto repair shops, by order of the Commissioner of the Car Transport People of the RSFSR of July 1, 1941, was formed the Car Repair Plant in Ivanovo. During the period from 1941 to 1945, 3,769 GAZ-MM, GAZ-AA, ZIS-5 cars were restored for the battle front, which gives this museum its particular touch in RIAT’s contribution to the Soviet victory in the Second World War.

Until the late 1980s, the Ivanovo car repair plant remained one of GAZ’s main partners. However, the plant began to lose orders quickly, so a drastic change had to be made to the company’s approach, which is why it is no longer popular to find cars produced by this company today.

Dmitry Borisovich Vlasov began a new life of the company. In 1992, under his leadership, RIAT JSC (repair and manufacture of motor vehicles) was established by transforming a rental company: the Ivanovo experimental car repair plant. Stores, a service station and a little later bakery production were built. Over the years, RIAT employees did not stop. and although as we can see today they are dedicated to other commercial approaches, their valuable contribution to Soviet history is invaluable. You can make this visit to appreciate the greatest industrial achievements of the Soviet Union.

3 The Maximiliam Voloshin House-Museum

La Casa Museo de Maksimiliana Voloshina

Maximilian Alexandrovich Voloshin (1877-1932) was a poet and translator, as well as an artist, critic, philosopher, thinker and a brilliant creator. owner of this museum house, which is widely known in the international cultural environment. It is a beautiful pastel yellow building, which retains the traditional characteristics of Russian architecture of the nineteenth century, despite the storms and disasters that occurred during the last century, this huge one was fortunate to remain intact. The building itself is a monument to Russian history, culture and architecture.

The museum was officially opened on August 1, 1984. and this house is the only one left by the will of the Voloshin to the holiday village of Koktebel, which grew in the late 19th and early 20th centuries and is almost the only one in the world that It has kept the secret and charm of the Silver Age in the atmosphere of its owner’s life. Inside the Museum house there are invaluable personal belongings of its owner, set with the original style of the time of its construction.

The preservation of the authentic interiors of the Voloshin rooms, where almost all items occupy a place determined by their owner a century earlier, is completely unique to European museums that survived more than one war.

4 The Kenassa House of Worship in Simferopol

La Casa de Culto Kenassa en Simferopol

Crimea is a place with a wide history of ethnic and cultural diversity, here lived representatives of various ethnic groups: Greeks, Scythians, Sarmatians, Tartars. But apart from them, the Kataries still live on the peninsula, professing a special form of Judaism. His place of worship is called “kenassa”. In many large cities in Crimea these unique structures still exist, but the Karaite kenassa in Simferopol is especially beautiful and surprising. The building, located on Karaimskaya Street, immediately attracts attention with its unusual appearance: a mixture of Byzantine, Gothic and Arab architectural styles.

The kenassa we see today in the center of Simferopol was built at the end of the 19th century. It was built next to the old Kenassa building, which simply stopped giving shelter to believers. What is not surprising: after all, the community grew, expanded and the number of Kataries in the city increased significantly. The kasassa was built with funds donated by the same believers and this happened in 1889 when representatives of the community went to the governor of Tauris with a request to allow them to build a new house of worship, since the old one was very small.

5 The Karadag Nature Museum

El Museo de la Naturaleza Karadag

The Karadag Nature Museum is one of the “oldest” in the territory of the Crimea. In 1914, the academic A.P. Pavlov, T.I. Vyazemsky and A.F. Sludsky made the first attempts to create an exhibition of the Karadag museum. To accommodate all the exhibits, they only needed two museum shelves, which were installed in the basement of the Karadag Scientific Biological Station, which is the basis for organizing the museum.

The Karadag Nature Museum is located in the village of Kurortnoye, near Koktebel. It attracts the attention of many tourists. Confirmation of this is the fact that more than 25 thousand people visit the museum annually. The first excursion was made in 1916 for students from Yekaterinburg, and this was the starting point when the museum began to develop rapidly, and the list of exhibits presented grew rapidly. At the end of the 60s of the 20th century, the museum’s exhibition totaled more than a thousand geological and about two hundred biological elements. Of considerable interest to visitors were dissected birds, of which there were about a dozen.

6 Yusupov Palace in Koreiz

El Palacio Yusupov en Koreiz

The first owner of this property was Princess Golitsyna A. S. For her, a palace was built here, the so-called “Casa Rosada”. And around it, in a territory of more than sixteen hectares, a park was designed, whose project was already the famous gardener Karl Kebach, whose business card is Livadia Park. As for the buildings, all took place under the leadership of architect F. Elson.

After Princess Golitsyna, the palace and park began to belong to the winemaker Morozov, and only in 1880 did it become the property of former Moscow Governor General, Felix Yusupov. The Yusupov family was one of the richest in the Russian Empire, so they decided to rebuild the property of the palace taking into account their tastes and preferences.

And you can also visit the apartments of Supreme Commander Joseph Vissarionovich Stalin, since the residence of the Soviet delegation was in the territory of the Yusupov mansion during the Yalta Conference of the Heads of Government of the three allied powers of 1945: the USSR, Great Britain and the United States. In the postwar period, the state became the country house of the Central Committee of the CPSU.

7 The Iron Museum in Pereslavl

El Museo de Hierro en Pereslavl

Perhaps one of the most interesting and extraordinary museums in our country. I haven’t heard so many enthusiastic reviews from all my friends and acquaintances who have been there. Definitely worth a visit.
The Pereslavl railway is a branch of the museum that was left of the old narrow-gauge peat railway near the city of Pereslavl-Zalessky, Yaroslavl region. A two-kilometer railway line leads from the town of Talitsy to a picturesque meadow in the middle of the famous Bludov swamp. Mikhail Prishvin, “Pantry of the Sun”, is very familiar to many of the school in the fairy tale.
In Talitsy, on the tracks of a small station and in the depot, there is a collection of locomotives, wagons, various railway equipment and paraphernalia from the 19th and 20th centuries.
The exhibition also presents a series of equipment, machinery and non-rail mechanisms. Three steam locomotives, two locomotives, several wagons, wagons and wagons restored to their operational condition and are periodically demonstrated in action.
The museum organizes exhibitions, is restoring technology, looking for and acquiring new exhibits.
If you wish, you can travel by tram, and if you have a vacation planned, even on a steam locomotive. But this must be negotiated with the administration in advance.

8 Bahchisaraj Palace

El Palacio de Bahchisaraj

The beautiful Khan palace of Bakhchisaraj, the legendary “garden city”, evoked the admiration of all who had been there. Great poets, writers, musicians, monarchs wrote enthusiastic lines about him. This palace serves as an incredible and unquestionably unique example of Crimean Tatar architecture. A real city in the city: with mosques, bathrooms, mausoleums, richly decorated, painted and finished with great care and art. When Khan’s new residence was built, the idea of ​​embodying Islamic ideas about paradise was established at the heart of the project, and each subsequent ruler added something of his own. Upon entering the territory of Khan’s palace, you find yourself in the incredible and mysterious atmosphere of the east.

The construction of this incredible palace began in the 16th century, during the reign of Khan Sahib I Giray. Previously, the residence of the Crimean khanes was elsewhere, but the court grew, expanded and, as a result, the ruler himself, the nobles, the numerous servants and guards were filled with people. Then there was a decision to build a new palace, which today we are lucky to see. The oldest buildings in the complex are the Bolshaya Khan Mosque and the Sary-Guzel Baths, erected in 1532. Strictly speaking, there is also an older building here; This is a portal called Demir-Kapy (1508), however, it is worth noting that it was built elsewhere, and here it was moved a little later.

With each subsequent khan, something new appeared in the palace, each ruler wanted to put something in memory here for grateful descendants. During the war between Russia and the Crimean Kanato, when the capital was captured by Field Marshal Minikh’s troops, the palace was destroyed, but Captain Manstein was entrusted with a description of the palace, which he composed. Thanks to this, the palace was restored.

9 The Tretyakov Gallery

La galería Tretiakov

Lavrushinsky Lane in Moscow became famous just because the Russian merchant, millionaire and philanthropist Pavel Mikhailovich Tretyakov built a special building here for his collection of paintings. She formed the basis of art collections in the world. The Tretyakov Gallery continues to store, research and popularize Russian art, Mormon Morman Gorman

The first canvases of the future Tretyakov collection were acquired in 1856. A decade later, the gallery opened to the public, and in 1892 the owner presented it to Moscow along with the building. In the early years of the twentieth century, the facade was rebuilt according to Vasnetsov’s sketch.

After the revolution, the collection was nationalized, the building was completed and rebuilt repeatedly, and the facilities of the closed church of St. Nicholas in Tolmachi joined him. During the war, canvases and statues were evacuated to Siberia, in 1985 they merged with the State Art Gallery in Krymsky Val, they moved the main mountain exhibition there. A new building for the Tretyakov Gallery is being built in Kadashevskaya Embankment.

10 Noble Residences near Moscow

Residencias de Nobles cerca de Moscú

What to see near Moscow if you have already traveled the city. There are many places to visit near Moscow, so if you have already traveled the city center it is time to go near it. What to see in the Noble Residences near Moscow is a good option if you want to go a little further than usual.

We hope this article will be very useful for people who have already been to Moscow; visited the important monuments of the city with professional guides or want to discover more interesting places; not only the Red Square and the Kremlin.

Moscow has a very long history, during the centuries here lived the nobles and tsars; that left to stay in the houses that looked more like the palaces. Many centuries and years have passed, but still in the 21st century; We can find the places that currently contain the atmosphere of the past.

Here is a list to get to know Moscow outside, and feel your soul and the time you have stopped forever in these places.

11 Museum of myths and superstitions of the Russian people

Museo de mitos y supersticiones del pueblo ruso

In the halls of the museum you will see the heroes of terrible and fascinating tales: Babu Yaga, ghoul, ghoul, demon; as well as mythological creatures: brownie, country man, kikimore, Sirin bird, made in real size by the museum’s author, Daria Alien.

He will make an extraordinary excursion to the world of festivals and popular ceremonies, learn many interesting things about ancient beliefs, gods, magicians and shamans, become familiar with the esoteric practices of our ancestors, decode fairy tales and tales. You will discover many charms and talismans, signs and healing methods of various ailments in the old ways, you will get acquainted with many popular and rare fortune tellers.

Old household items have a special place, since they were used not only in a utilitarian way, but also by magic.
In the museum library you can get acquainted with local history articles, books and scientific and scientific publications for free.

The museum invites you to touch the history of the Upper Volga Yaroslavl region, based on local history research, archaeological and paleontological findings.

12 Iván Pávlov and Solzhenitsyn House Museum

Casa museo Iván Pávlov y Solzhenitsyn

September 26, 1849 in the family of the priest Pyotr Dmitrievich Pavlov and his wife Varvara Ivanovna in the wooden house on Nikolskaya Street in the city of Riazan the firstborn was born, whose name was Ivan. In 55 years, Ivan Petrovich Pavlov will become the first Russian Nobel Prize, and after 42 years, a memorial museum will be opened in the house where the scientist spent his childhood. The farm is unique in that not only the main buildings, but also the spatial planning structure are perfectly preserved, and the interiors and conditions of the poor urban house of the second half of the nineteenth and early twentieth centuries are almost completely restored In the main house.

This article was prepared jointly with Ksenia Panacheva, the head of the tourism and educational project “¡I will show you!”, Which offers unusual excursions in Riazan and the region. I express my gratitude to the Memorial Museum-Estate of Academician I.P. Pavlov for his cooperation. In June, the “Manor Express” will come to the farm, join us.

13 The imposing Artillery Museum in St. Petersburg

El imponente Museo de Artillería en San Petersburgo

The Artillery Museum was born in the same year as the city itself. In August 1703, Tsar Peter ordered the construction of the Zeichhaus in the territory of the Peter and Paul Fortress, that is. “House of arms”. They began to bring old artillery pieces and military trophies from all over the country, which deserved attention: “for the memory of eternal glory.” One of the first exhibits was a mortar, which in 1605 was painted by a Moscow gunsmith Andrei Chokhov (author of the famous Tsar Canyon).

In 1756, by order of Empress Elizabeth Petrovna (daughter of Pedro I) and thanks to the active work of Field Marshal Peter Shuvalov, the “Zeichhaus” was transformed into the “Memorable Hall of the Main Directorate of Artillery.” At the end of the 18th century, his collection had about 8,000 items.

The true museum life of the collection began in 1868. At that time, the crown of Peter and Paul’s Fortress was used as an arsenal, and banners, banners and medals were also stored. The “Memorable Hall” collection joined him. He was given premises in the east wing of the crown. For heavy weapons he assigned a place in the yard. Since 1872, this entire collection of exhibits was called the “Artillery Museum”. In 1963, the Central Museum of Historical Military Engineering joined the Historical Artillery Museum, and two years later the Military Museum of Communications was included.

14 Peterhof Palace: water and gold fountains

El Palacio de Peterhof: fuentes de agua y oro

When Peter I conceived the summer residence near St. Petersburg, he wanted it to be no less luxurious than Versailles. The fountains and waterfalls of Peterhof surprise with its splendor. They were made by the best engineers and sculptors, and most of the sources have been functioning correctly for almost three hundred years.

The construction of a rural residence in Peterhof began in 1712, and after 3 years, a great construction began in Strelna. Peter wanted to decorate the whole park of the new palace with fountains or, as they were called in those days, “water enchantments”. However, for the fountains to function throughout the day, the engineers had to raise the water to a mark of 10 m above sea level. The area surrounding Strelna is below this mark, and if this happened, the territory would flood.

15 Tsereteli and Moscow Museum of Contemporary Art

Tsereteli y Museo de Arte contemporáneo de Moscú

The Moscow Museum of Modern Art, together with the Russian Academy of Arts, presents Lika Tsereteli’s exhibition “Intuitive Topography”, the artist’s third personal project. Penetrated by light and bright colors, the exhibition mainly reflects the emotions and feelings of the author himself. When creating works, Lika Tsereteli is inspired by her sense of beauty, the love of working with fragile materials, the aesthetics of ornaments and patterns, as well as her desire to create beautiful things that I would like to surround myself with in everyday life . “The ornament goes beyond me. I can’t think of anything on purpose, there are only a few impulses of impressions, “he describes his way of working on Lika Tsereteli’s works. And he explains the predominance of glass in the exhibition space:” Why does glass appeal to me so much? ? When I was a child, I saw my father draw stained glass for hours, and then we looked at them ready.That magic light passed through them.

The MMOMA exhibition, created by Alexei Tregubov, describes the characteristics of the glass that prevail in the exhibition as a material that refracts light and can visually change the scale and shape of objects. On the ground floor, ornamental miniatures in black and white and in bright colors surrounded by murals created from the artist’s original works will be displayed. A separate room will be provided under the glass and wood screens, while recalling the modern decorative and applied works using the mosaic technique and the old stained glass compositions.

The second floor will show a series of vases and glass coffins that the artist uses as a canvas and converts with acrylic paints and varnishes into bright and picturesque objects with patterns of smooth lines flowing between each other, abstract shapes and complex combinations of colors. Each exhibition hall is dedicated to a specific series and will become a kind of small gallery, where the emphasis on objects is placed using special architectural structures, tonal and light.

Other Useful Information

Moscow gold ring keywords like (Meet the best …)
Train stations in Russia and how to understand the ticket keywords like (Look what interesting facts to …)
How to get the Russian visa? keywords like (story information and …)
Travel to Russia in June, July and August keywords like (Meet the best …)
Holidays in St. Petersburg keywords like (See what interesting facts to …)
Electronic visa to enter Russia keywords such as (information of stories and …)

Visit our page and find out the latest and most interesting in Russia.

In this article you can find information about various monasteries of Russia. Without a doubt, if you want to travel to Russia, the most important thing you can do here to learn more about Russian traditions and customs is to visit the country’s monasteries, temples and cathedrals. In Russia in every city or town, without exception, there is a minimum church, so you can choose what you would like to visit more.

Travel to Russia in June, July and August

Travel to Russia in June, July and August

June.

The Baltic “Sea and Caucasian mineral waters

The theme of Pedro I continues in the Baltic resorts. Although he built the fleet here, there is a high probability that he planned the resorts for recreation in June; He is still a large-scale person and thinks big. In general, there are excellent resorts in the Baltic Svetlogorsk and Zelenogradsk, not so unwound, but not loaded.

You can admire the local green streets, walk along the coast; breathe an incredibly clean Baltic air and sometimes even find pieces of amber on the beach. It does not mean that it is possible to build an amber business on this; but holiday impressions are exactly guaranteed.

A trip here is a great way to make sure that “Essentuki” and “Narzan” exist not only in supermarkets. In Minvody there are more than 130 sources, of course, you will not be able to drink immediately; But even a few liters of local water will have a beneficial effect on the body. In addition to the mineral springs, you will find here green parks, some of which enter the mountains. A crystalline air, a favorable climate: what else is needed for summer vacations?

Karelia

This region is created for those who do not favor the beaches and do not like the scorching sun; Of which you will not need suntan cream. Isolated and somewhat distant from the rest of the world, Karelia is one of the most beautiful regions in Russia. Kizhi, Solovki, Valaam, rafting, hunting, fishing, walks through the vast forests, that’s why this region is famous. Karelia will also attract history lovers who will be able to see ancient petroglyphs and stone sanctuaries, at the local “Stonehendzhi”.

2. July:

It is the best time to relax. The Earth turns towards the Sun on the right side and at the right angle, so the nights are short, the days are long and the weather is warm. But something tells us that you already know all this, so we will drop this letter inappropriate for hot days and see where to rest during July in Russia.

Krasnodar Territory

This region of Russia has a direct exit to the two seas, and in fact there are entire countries where there is not a single sea, but here, in one region there are two at once: the Black and the Azov. Therefore, to come here in July, the same god of the sea ordered.

The most popular tourist centers in the region are Sochi, Anapa and Gelendzhik. The water in the Black Sea is warming up to +25 ° C in July, it is practically possible to live there without leaving. To rest, all modern entertainment is applied, without which tourism would be inappropriate: surfing, diving, water skiing. For a change, you can visit a dolphinarium or water park, which is here in abundance throughout the coast. Near Sochi there are caves, dolmens, waterfalls, which are called to make an excursion.

In the tourist centers of the Azov Sea, in Yeisk, in the town of Golubitskaya and in the Dolzhanskaya language, they are even warmer than on the Black Sea coast. This is usually traveled by the whole family, including the little ones. Tourists praise this region for the sandy beaches and the coast with a gentle entrance to the water. With the infrastructure, too, there is no problem: amusement parks and water parks will add color to your rest in July.

Crimea

The Crimean resorts are now at the peak of popularity, and in this statement there is not a drop of political order, only a lot of tourists go here. Yalta, Sevastopol, Alushta, Feodosia, Evpatoria: these are excellent places to relax in July.

Crimea, like the Krasnodar Territory, was lucky with the seas: here are black and azov. However, the Black Sea coast is more popular. In mid-July, the air becomes very warm and hot. If you are not afraid of ultraviolet rays, choose the western coast of Crimea, while on the south coast you can find more shadows thanks to the local vegetation.

The main entertainment, in addition to the recreation of the beach, you can practice diving, jet skiing and catamarans. You can visit all kinds of attractions, have fun in water parks and dolphinariums, admire the inhabitants of the zoos. For excursions in July, it is hot, but if you have the strength and desire, it is worth visiting the Crimean palaces, mountains and waterfalls, for all this it is not enough just to see.

Baltic countries

The Baltic climate is milder than the Black Sea, so here, in the Kaliningrad region, it is worth going to those who want to rest at sea and avoid the heat. The average temperature on the Baltic coast in July is approximately +23 ° C during the day and at night + 15 ° C. The main tourist centers of the local regions, where you can go in July, are Svetlogorsk and Zelenogradsk. Kaliningrad is not a tourist city, but it has a European style, with an interesting architecture that cannot be found in the rest of Russia.

In the Baltic Sea, the water is cold even in July, so the duration of the water procedures here is small: most tourists rest in the sand, sunbathe, walk and practice sports. The Curonian Peninsula is alone, where forests and a sandy beach are combined. The beaches on the grill are mostly wild.

Moscow and St. Petersburg

It is clear that summer is mainly a holiday at sea. But not always and not for everyone. If the coasts of distant seas do not appeal to you, it is time to travel across Russia to the mainland, and why not go to the capital, especially because we have two: one cultural and the other, the most real, without reservations.

Moscow in July looks festive: the sun shines, the trees creak, the numerous flower beds and the grass are pleasing to the eye, the tiles and cobbles are like. In addition to the classic Red Square, Arbat and VDNKh, in July they are attracted by the gardens and parks of Moscow: the Central Park of Gorky Culture, the Neskuchny Garden and Vorobyovy Gory.

Another option for a holiday in July is to go to St. Petersburg and capture the last days of the white nights. Of course, the program includes round trip and they are quite standard, but no less romantic is St. Petersburg. As for entertainment: walk along Nevsky Prospekt and contemplation of the bridges, in the suburbs of St. Petersburg excursions and visits to museums and palaces.

Gold ring

It is a good option for those who are interested in the history of Russia and appreciate the soothing silence of remote places. Yaroslavl, Vladimir, Suzdal, Rostov Veliky and other cities of this tourist itinerary are radically different from all the previous recreational options. There is no hustle and bustle on the busy beaches or on the busy metropolitan str

eets, but there are many unusual things: the walls of the old Kremlin, the dazzling and beautiful temples, the original Russian landscapes of freshness, the natural landscapes intact.

In July, the cities of the Golden Ring are hot, but not like in the south, and the trees are always ready to provide a shade of refuge. From a mandatory perspective you can access places of interest such as: Yaroslavl – Monastery of the Transfiguration in Posad and the Trinity in San Sergio, Vladimir – the Golden Gate, Kostroma – Shopping centers and the Church of the Resurrection.

We could go on and on, but the list of advantages of the Golden Ring is so great that it is easier to come and see everything with your own eyes.

3. August:

the rest in this month has its advantages: the heat of summer is already in decline, and the freshness of autumn has not yet arrived. This month is the last chance to go somewhere this summer, and it is a sin to miss this opportunity, because until next summer we will have to wait a whole year again. We think about where to go during August in Russia and we want to share our opinions and suggestions.

The Volga region

Very economical option without frying for recreation. The extensions of the Volga occupy a vast territory comparable to the size of some states.

Wherever you go, going up or down the Volga, in any case you will know an interesting city with some curiosity. Nizhny Novgorod with its unique relief, Kazan with its surprising combination of two cultures, Samara with its charming walk, Volgograd with its memorial and museum complex. You can also look at Ulyanovsk for Lenin’s grandfather’s homeland, or Astrakhan, home of the same watermelons that fill the counters of all national markets and supermarkets.

In August, a pleasant climate is established on the banks of the Volga, and if the Caspian Sea is a bit warmer, in other regions it is almost a paradise: summer is already leaving, but, as an educated person, you want to leave a Good memory of himself, and gives nice days, but not hot. You can relax on the beaches, go hunting and fishing, walk the cozy streets of the Volga cities and learn about their history. Many local places are associated with the activities of great writers, artists and statesmen, therefore, in the Volga region everything is in order not only with rest on the beach, but also with the cultural.

Krasnodar Territory

No matter how strong our desire to compile an original list is, but the brand “Resorts of the Krasnodar Territory”; thus he exercises his authority, which we simply have to yield to his onslaught. Yes, and you can go to the Black Sea all summer, not only in August. The average daily air temperature in the last summer month here is maintained at + 27 ° C; and the water heats up to +25 ° C. Sunbathing is better in the morning, because at noon in the air it smells like fried; and it’s not just about delicious treats in a cafe, it’s only hot.

If you are going to rest in the Black Sea with children, we recommend that you do not choose the great tourist centers, but the surrounding villages. Tourists there a little less, but in general it is quieter. Especially in these places, housing is rented mainly in the private sector, so you can find a quiet place.

As the heat in the Black Sea does not fall in August, the rest here is almost like a beach. Taking an excursion in this climate is not very comfortable, but if you take a cool day, it is worth going to the local beauties. Enter the cave, stroll through the botanical garden or go to local winemakers to try their products.

Abkhazia

In this region the clean sea, the bright sun, the natural beauty and the historical views were miraculously intertwined. To all this is added a local flavor; which is created, among other things; by the owners of the Abkhazia guest houses and other houses on the coast. They will do everything for you: they will provide accommodation and where to go to be introduced to the local cuisine. The treats here are special, in other places you will not find such; Excellent wine, cheeses, meat dishes, fruit dispersion, tea from local plantations and much more.

As for the beaches and the sea, here they are almost everywhere clean; No matter which Abkhazia station you go to: Gagra, Pitsunda or Sukhum. The beaches are pebble and sand, mostly well equipped, but there are also wild “spots”. All this is combined with ancient monuments, created in the times of antiquity and the Middle Ages. For example, the wall of Kelasur, which extends for more than 150 kilometers; or the ruins of a fortress on the mountain of Satanjo, go to the old fortifications on the crest of Aisra. You can often find religious buildings; among which we will mention the Patriarchal Cathedral in Pitsunda.

Crimea

It is good because it is possible to rent accommodation practically all along the coast, a few minutes walk from the sea. This applies to almost all complexes. You can choose from comfortable mini-hotels, comfortable guest houses and other options in the private sector. It makes sense to stay in small cities; where, compared to large and well developed tourist centers, rest in August will be cheaper.

Sudak and Theodosia stand out on the east coast of Crimea. The beaches are sandy and pebble, and the mountains gradually become steppe. If you want to practice windsurfing, you can reach Cape Kazantip. If the old structures tempt you, it is worth calculating the Genoese fortress in Sudak.

The southern coast of Crimea is the most famous. However, not in vain In Alushta, Gaspra and Gurzuf a good infrastructure, is sharpened especially for tourists. In the western part of the peninsula is Evpatoria, which is ideal for recreation with children. In general, the west coast is cheaper than others, you can always find a favorable price, even in August.

Baikal

Southern resorts are, of course, good, but there are other excellent places in Russia where you can relax in August. Almost no one will argue about the fact that Lake Baikal is one of those. Despite all the telling stories, he is still the purest in the country; and resting here at the end of summer is a fabulous pleasure. At this time, Baikal is warm and dry; during the day it can reach +25 ° C, but the local winds do not fall asleep; There are breezes that can significantly cool the air, so it is better to wear warm clothes on the trip.

For recreation on Lake Baikal, tourists choose mainly the Slyudyanka, Listvyanka, Chivyrkuisky Bay and Olkhon Island settlements. Another option is to stop in Irkutsk (from where it is necessary to reach the lake) or in Baikalsk, located directly on the coast.

You can swim in a lake until the end of summer, but in many places the water is cold; therefore we recommend bays (Chivyrkuisky, Mukhor, Barguzinsky), where the water temperature reaches 20 ° C. However; even if the conditions for bathing are not very rewarding; The beauty of the surroundings will not go anywhere yet. Baikal is surrounded by mountains and forests, which will provide you with many impressions and an excellent set of memorable images.

Vladimir city

Vladimir city in the gold ring

Vladimir is one of the most visited cities of the Golden Ring: several amazing monuments of Russian white stone medieval architecture have been preserved here. First, these are three attractions included in the list of UNESCO World Heritage sites:

the Assumption Cathedral, Dmitrievsky Cathedral and the Golden Gate. But the later development of the city of the 16-20 centuries is also very interesting. There are so many beautiful churches in Vladimir that you can hardly see them in one day; at least two inspections of museums with old church murals; and no more than an hour in three of the city you can reach many interesting places in the Vladimir region: Bogolyubovo, Suzdal, Gus-Khrustalny, Vyaznikov, Yuryev-Polsky or Sudogda.

Vladimir Central, known here, brought Vladimir a completely different kind of fame. Since 1783, it contained well-known prisoners, ranging from Prince P. Dolgorukov to Vasily Stalin, and today a museum still operates in the territory of the prison.

Some history

In the history of Russia, Vladimir has been the capital of the old Russian state for over 250 years. Until 1432, the Grand Dukes were crowned reigning in the Vladimir Cathedral of the Assumption of the Blessed Virgin Mary. The city was founded at the end of the 10th century by the prince of Kiev, Vladimir Svyatoslavovich, shortly after the baptism of Kiev. Vladimir’s glory was composed of the famous Russian princes and commanders: Andrei Bogolyubsky, Vsevolod III, Alexander Nevsky.

How to get to Vladimir

Vladimir is located approximately in the middle of the road from Moscow to Nizhny Novgorod, on the main “eastern” road, which goes beyond the Urals. Therefore, getting to the city is not difficult: the mass of direct and passing trains and buses circulates. And even by car, drive comfortably and quickly, no more than 3 hours.

Train

Vista aerea de Vladimir

From Moscow, suburban trains depart from the Yaroslavl, Kursk and Belorussky stations, the travel time is approximately 2.5-3.5 hours. Express trains start from Kursk station and arrive in Vladimir after 2 hours and 20 minutes. Conventional trains exceed the same distance in 3-3.5 hours. The rate is about 400 RUB. The fastest train is the Swift, which runs from the capital to Nizhny Novgorod and stops at Vladimir (a record of 1 hour and 40 minutes on the road, tickets from 1300 RUB). The prices on the page are for October 2018.

You can arrive from St. Petersburg by passing the trains that depart from the Moscow train station, the journey takes 10 to 11 hours (in the same “Swift”, respectively, faster). The second option is by plane. Twice a week, flights from St. Petersburg to Vladimir Semyazino airport are operated by the Pskovavia airline, in flight for approximately 2 hours.

By bus

From Moscow, direct and transit flights to Vladimir depart from the Schelkovsky bus station, the travel time is 3-3.5 hours, the fare is approximately 440 RUB. In addition, the Vladimir bus station accepts mass flights from surrounding cities: Nizhny Novgorod, Kovrov, Gus-Khrustalny, Ivanov and many others.

By car

By car, you can reach Vladimir via the M-7 Volga motorway: from Moscow about 170 km and 3 hours by car, from Nizhny Novgorod – 240 km and 3 hours and 15 minutes on the road.

How to navigate

The design of the city is quite simple: the main street runs from west to east parallel to the Klyazma river through the entire historical center, changing their names along the way: from the direction of Moscow begins the Moscow highway – then Lenin Avenue – Studenaya Gora Street – Dvoryanskaya Street – Bolshaya Moskovskaya Street – Bolshaya Nizhny Novgorod Street – Dobroselskaya Street and – at the end of the city, exit to Nizhny Novgorod. Several main streets diverge from this road: Gorki in the direction of Yuryev-Polsky, as well as Muromskaya Street and the Suzdal Highway.

Most of the attractions and hotels are concentrated along that section of the street called Bolshaya Moskovskaya. The old city starts from the Golden Gate and ends after the Monastery of the Nativity, near the turn to the train station.

Transport

Walking around Vladimir is the easiest and most convenient way to walk: the compact historic city center can be covered in 30-40 minutes. However, if the hotel is in the distance, you can use minibuses, trolleybuses or buses. The fare is approximately the same: 22 RUB, but occasionally (for suburban flights) a ticket will cost a little more, depending on the distance. Tickets can be purchased from the driver or driver.

A really useful route for tourists is trolleybus number 5, which follows from the station square along ul. Greater Moscow in the center.

In summer, you can rent a bicycle and take a trip, for example, to the Spas-Kupalishche Monastery (about 40 km) or to the Church of the Intercession in the Nerl (12 km, avoid the road, it is better to go on the road for small roads). The rent, as a rule, starts from RUB 150 per hour, plus a deposit.

Vladimir Hotels

Vista nocturna de Vladimir

Being one of the most popular cities of the Golden Ring, Vladimir simply cannot disappoint in terms of quantity and quality of its hotels. The hotels here are for all tastes and budgets, but most of them are quite comfortable small hotels, where there are no more than 20 rooms. The cost of one night in them starts from 2000-2500 RUB depending on the season.

There are two “giants” in the city to receive tourists: these are “Vladimir” and “Golden Ring”, where in addition to, in fact, night accommodation offers many services. You can save money by staying in one of the hostels in the city somewhere in the outskirts of a rather battered “kopeck piece” (from 1000 RUB). And to relax with the soul, it is better in nature. Near Vladimir there are several excellent campsites and complete hotel complexes, where you can spend the night. But without your own car, it is better not to intrude.

Finally, tourists with religious goals should contact the Pilgrimage Service of the Diocese of Vladimir, there they will be helped to find a place within 300-400 RUB.

Aleksandrov’s Kremlin

The unique palace and temple complex of the Alexander Kremlin is the second largest after the Moscow Kremlin. Its main building is the Trinity Cathedral. It was erected in the sovereign court in 1513. The cathedral combines the early architecture of Moscow from the late fourteenth – early fifteenth century and the ornaments of Italian architects of the fifteenth-sixteenth centuries. The cathedral is decorated with white stone carvings and frescoes from the 16th century. Until today, near the Cathedral of the Trinity there are large copper doors of the fourteenth century, which were taken by Ivan the Terrible of Novgorod and Tver.

The Assumption Church of the 16th century is striking in its beauty. Under the church, large wineries are well preserved, where the vaults of Vasily III and Ivan the Terrible were located. Next to the Church of the Assumption there is a Tent Intercession Church. The exact date of the foundation of the church is unknown; It is believed that it was erected in the mid-16th century and was the church of the house of Tsar Ivan the Terrible. On the edges of his shop, a unique and incomparable mural painting was preserved, which was commissioned by the king. This is the only known painted tent of the 16th century in Russia. It represents the Russian princes and martyrs, along with the kings of the Old Testament and the righteous.

In the Kremlin building complex is the high bell tower of the 16th-century Crucifixion church, which dominates all the buildings. Small bell chambers next to the bell tower, in which the Russian Empress Elizaveta Petrovna spent several years in exile.

Inside the Kremlin are the exhibitions and exhibitions of the State Historical and Architectural Museum-Reserve “Alexandrovskaya Sloboda”.

The historical and architectural complex of the city of Alexandrov (130 km from Moscow) is part of the Golden Ring of Russia. Its palaces and temples were built by the best Russian and Italian architects who built the Moscow Kremlin. The architecture of the complex traces elements of the Vladimir-Suzdal style, the 16th-century Moscow architecture and the Italian Renaissance, you can see buildings from a later period. Royal palaces, white stone chambers, carp temples with murals form a unique ensemble that creates a unique atmosphere.

Historical background

In the early 16th century, Tsar Vasily III, the father of Ivan the Terrible, often rested in Aleksandrovskaya Sloboda. Later, a palace was built under him, renamed Alexander Kremlin. The Kremlin became known in history mainly thanks to Ivan the Terrible, who made it look like the state capital. It is believed that it was here that he established the oprichnina, organized the oprichny Boyarsky Duma. Under Ivan the Terrible, Alexander’s Kremlin became a place of negotiations with foreign ambassadors: interstate agreements, ambassadors from different states were signed here and the Pope came here.

After the murder of his son, Ivan the Terrible leaves this place forever.

In the 17th century, a convent of nuns appeared in the Kremlin, fortified walls were built, towers were built in the corners. After the October Revolution, the Soviet authorities closed the monastery and a museum was organized in the Kremlin and in the Trinity-Sergio Lavra.

Currently, the museum reserve and the newly recreated Monastery of the Holy Assumption coexist here.

What to see

The Kremlin is open to visitors throughout the year. In its churches of the Trinity, Asunción and Intercession Cathedral, hospitals and cell buildings there are about 20 permanent exhibitions.

One of the interesting exhibits in the Church of the Intercession is the 16th-century dining room. It reproduces the interior of the chambers, where they received ambassadors, boyards and guards, organized abundant parties.

Here visitors can get acquainted with the historical reconstructions of the royal menu and the table label of the time of Ivan the Terrible.

The exhibition dedicated to the legends and stories of the Alexander Kremlin is constantly working. Their materials tell, in particular, about the fate of the famous “Liberia” – the library, which, according to legend, belonged to the Byzantine emperors and met for several centuries. After the fall of Constantinople, he moved to Moscow and Ivan the Terrible became its owner. One version links the last location of the famous book collection with the Alexander Kremlin.

The “medieval cellars of the 16th century”, possible places of imprisonment and torture of the time of Ivan the Terrible are frightened. Climbing the bell tower of the Crucified Church, you can see the panorama of the Kremlin and the surroundings from a height.

Excursions and interactive programs.

So that the guests could feel the era of Ivan the Terrible, the organizers created many short interactive programs. The most popular of them:

“The Tsar’s Bride’s Choice” is a small theatrical representation of the bride, in which the guests participate under the guidance of a guide. Everything happens in medieval interiors and in stylized costumes (cost – 80 RUB per person). The prices on the page are for October 2018.
“Kvassnaya del Tsar”: a name of the Hearty courtyard chambers, traditions and recipes for cooking kvass and honey “cooked and prepared” for the Tsar’s table, and in the final tasting of real Russian kvass of old ladles (80 RUB per person).
“The samovar is in full swing, it does not tell you to go”: tea drinking gingerbread cookies in a merchant shop under the history of the traditions of “tea ceremonies” in Russia (80 RUB per person).
“Matchmaking” is an interactive program of the museum about the traditions and rites of the pairings between peasants of the 19th century. The guests play the role of matchmakers, mother, boyfriend, girlfriend and witnesses in folk costumes (RUB 80 per person).
The search game “In search of real treasures” is a game for children about the treasure hunt in the royal residence, during which they learn about the history of the Alexander Kremlin and the form of government of Tsar Ivan the Terrible (250 RUB per person).

Practical information

Address: Alexandrov, Vladimir region, Museum of passage, 20. Website.
The museum is open every day from 10:00 a.m. to 6:00 p.m., Fridays from 10:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m., the holiday is Monday; from June to September on Fridays from 12:00 to 19:00, on Saturdays from 10:00 a.m. to 8:00 p.m.
Cost: an individual ticket for all exhibitions for adults – RUB 380, for students – 320 RUB, for children under 16 years – free of charge; A tourist tour for adults – 400 RUB, for students – 370 RUB, for students – 320 RUB. The duration of the program is 2 hours, the minimum composition of the group is 5 people.

Virtual tour

City Peterhof

Peterhof is an Imperial country residence in and around St. Petersburg, founded by Peter I in honor of the victory of the Russian State in the Northern War. The unique aspect of “Russian Versailles” formed over three centuries, from the first stone in 1712 to the present day, when after the German occupation, it literally had to recover from the ruins.

The picturesque complex of the Palace-park is called the Kingdom of the Fountains. More than 150 Fountains and waterfalls adorn the composition of the park. The palaces, pavilions, statues, alleys and flower gardens are full of grandeur and resemble a beautiful past era. Even trees have their own history: preserved oaks planted by the founding king.

The city of Peterhof is divided into two districts: the new Peterhof and the old Peterhof. All the main attractions are located within the new Peterhof-between Peterhof Street and the Ropshinsky Road.

How to get to Peterhof

Peterhof is located on the shores of the Gulf of Finland, from the capital of the North just 40 km away. You can reach the city by land-by bus, minibus, train or taxi, and by the water-in the passenger meteor. In any case, the trip will not take much time, and the teploozhet boat trip will be more fun, since on the way the views open to the Hermitage, Vasilievsky Island, the petropavlovskaya fortress.

For more information on how to get to Peterhof, see this page.

Transport

You can get around Peterhof on buses and bus taxis. The developed transport network connects the city with St. Petersburg and the museum-reserves in Strelna and Oranienbaum. In a warm moment, one of the best ways to travel through Peterhof is the bicycle. The Bicycle rental service for adults is available for RUB 200 to 250 per hour, RUB 100 to 150 for children. In winter, this same rental point offers cross-country skiing, Finnish sledges and “vatrushki” for horse riding with a roller coaster – all for a price of 250 RUB per hour. Athletes at the local ski school organize skiing in almost all local parks. The ideal place for skiing is the low tsarskaya road, which runs along the Finnish bay to the quietest. The establishment offers Sports Equipment Rental Service in the Alexandria Park throughout the year. The page prices are for October 2018

Hotels in Peterhof

Peterhof hotels are a combination of modern civilization and architecture from the 17-19 centuries. Many hotels are built in the spirit of noble estates or are located in old buildings. Accommodation in Peterhof – not cheap. After all, you are going to spend the night in the Museum – and that is why you will be asked a lot. Given that foreign tourists arrive in Peterhof, the city tries to show itself in the best light. The hotels here for all tastes – from ordinary three stars to luxury class.

Often, local hotels are complete complexes with a Restaurant, a Spa, a conference room, a luxury Garden and other charms of life. The rate varies according to the season: RUB 2000-3000 to RUB 20,000-30,000 per night. You can easily find the numbers and more expensive – it would be a gold credit card.

What Bring

Unforgettable experiences and photos in the background of local beauties – this is what you should take with every Peterhof tourist. Although family and friends can enjoy more traditional memories, from magnets and calendars to statues in the form of local architectural symbols. Numerous shops offer miniature copies of the Peterhof monuments, “Faberge eggs”, canvas bags and umbrellas with recognizable Peterhof print, Captain Captain Caps with the inscription “Peterhof”, puzzle with reserve types and fans. On the counters you can find more original memories. For example, copies of old cards from the Card Museum.

-The connoisseurs advise not to hurry with the purchase of souvenirs immediately when entering the park: the souvenirs in the territory of the complex is enough- it will be the opportunity to choose and appreciate. The prices are different. Magnets can be purchased for 100 RUB, but caps for 500 RUB.

Peterhof Cafeterias and restaurants

On the other side of the entrance to the Verkhniy Park, in the “Samson” hotel, is the Restaurant of the same name, which has its history since 1839 – about its cuisine at that time was praised by Alexander Dumas himself. The establishment offers to the connoisseurs of Russian dishes the menu of zarskoe for the same prices-marinated loads – a breast of a spleen, a riapushka, pancakes with caviar. While it is delicious to eat here everyone can – from 12:00 to 16:00 the Restauradores are waiting for the guests for a democratic business lunch at a price of 260 RUB per person.

The Standart Restaurant, which is located near the Meteor mooring site, serves Lunches overlooking the Gulf of Finland. It offers a tourist menu of traditional Russian cuisine at a price of 1000 RUB per person.

The draft beer and the Democratic portion can be found in the Duck & Drake gastropabe in the Colonial park. The American pizzeria offers its guests different types of pizza in the traditional and exuberant test – for the “Margarita” Standard size you will have to pay 375 RUB. The café “Brynza & Shashlyk”, located a couple of blocks from the Grand Palace, is famous for the right prices and tasty cheburek. Transfer the spirit and drink free tea with cookies in the tainkafe “rush hour” for 130 RUB per hour.

Peterhof Entertainment and places of interest

Tourists come mainly to Peterhof to see the palace and park complex of the same name with famous fountains. It is full of so many beauties and treasures that there will not be enough a whole day to meet him. You can explore the places of interest as part of a group under the guidance of a guide, or you can do it yourself: the tips and detailed schemes that are sold at the souvenir stands near the Grand Palace will help you navigate in the park. In Peterhof, the imperial cycling tradition is being revived and several bicycle tours are made, including Romanov family bike trips.

-To see Peterhof from above, it is not necessary to rent a helicopter. From the observation platform of the Cathedral of Saints Peter and Paul, an impressive view of the surroundings opens. This Orthodox church is located near the Peterhof Palace.

On weekdays, there is a free opportunity to reach the Rocket watch factory. Watchmakers are always welcome guests and make excursions even for one person. To avoid wasting timeout, you can pre-register by phone. During the tour you can take pictures.

Palace and park sets

The monument of world importance, the Peterhof Palace and the Park Complex, consists of the Upper Garden, the palace and the Lower Park. The heart of the attraction is the Grand Cascade in the Lower Park. This is a great structure, the central place where Samson’s figure is, ripping a lion’s mouth. Without visiting the Lower Park with its numerous fountains, Peterhof’s impression would be incomplete.

Alexandria is the residence of the last Russian emperors, surrounded by a two-level coastal park. The complex has a peculiar style: elements of Gothic architecture were used in the design of pavilions, sculptures and gazebos. Must visit: Cottage Palace, Farm Palace and the Gothic chapel.

Peterhof Parks

Peterhof is not only a city of fountains, but also a city of parks, which is a pleasure to walk around. Many of them do not differ in the perfect landscape design, but rather resemble forests with alleys located in them: these are the so-called landscape parks. In addition to the famous Upper Garden and Lower Park, which are part of the Peterhof Complex, the Alexandria Park located next door is a must. Another landscape park in Alexandria was founded as a royal hunting ground. In memory of this, he got the middle name: “House of beasts.” The settler landscape park emerged during the reign of Nicholas I. Most of it is occupied by Holguin Pond, named after the king’s daughter. Meadow Park is considered one of the most valuable park sets of the mid-19th century: trees and shrubs grow in picturesque groups and resemble green wings. The English park in the western part of the city follows the model of English farms. The Oldenburgsky park extends along the sea in part of the old Peterhof.

5 Things worth doing in Peterhof

Try your luck running through cookie sources.
Try the pompous outfit of Catherine II.
Get lost in the labyrinth of the fountain.
Check the time on the palace sundial.
Take a selfie with the Peterhof squirrel.
Architectural buildings

Famous and little-known architects, from Rastrelli to the servant Voronikhin, left their mark in the guise of Peterhof. Peter I was doing a project for the Hermitage pavilion. The ceremonial palace for dances and receptions, the Catherine Building, was built by architect Bartolomeo Francesco Rastrelli, whose contribution to architecture is so great that a whole stylistic direction bears his name. The Monplaisir Palace was erected as a monument to the victory won by Russia in the fight for access to the sea. The architectural monument, the Marly Palace, is by no means inferior to the residence of Louis XIV in Marly le Roi, which inspired the Russian tsar architect to create it. Voronikhinsky marble colonnades were named in honor of their creator, the servant A. Voronikhin, who received the title of architect for his successful project.

The sources

Knowledge of the Peterhof fountains begins with the Upper Garden. At the main entrance, visitors are welcomed by the Mezhumny fountain, a round pool with dolphins and a sea monster. Among the sources of the Lower Park, the most famous is Samson, located in the center of the Grand Cascade. 3 cascading stairs, 64 fountains, 255 sculptures and bas-reliefs on ancient themes: this is the world’s largest fountain building and a Peterhof business card.

The twin sources “Adam” and “Eve” are a true example of the sculpture “Peter”. These are the oldest and only sources that have remained unchanged to this day. To see the typical Roman fountains it is not necessary to go to Italy. In Peterhof there are two exact copies of the fountains installed in St. Peter’s Basilica in Rome.

Peterhof cookies are a favorite pastime for visitors to Lower Park. The sources “Firs”, “Robles”, “Chinese umbrellas”, “Sofas” work according to a principle: at the most unexpected moment, the jets of water and splashes reach unfortunate passers-by. “Waterway”: a source from which it is impossible to leave dry, out of compassion for tourists, they are only included three times a day and for only one minute.

An unforgettable attraction is the favorite fountain: four ducks spin in the pool and the favorite dog tries to reach them. The croaking sound accompanied by a barking of dogs attracts visitors from all over the park.

Source Schedule

The fountains operate only in the summer, from the end of April until the middle of October. The sources of the Grand Cascade are solemnly launched every day at 11:00 with the music of Glier “Anthem to the Great City” and turn off at 6:00 pm. The spring festival of the grand opening of the fountains is usually held in mid-May.

The season is also solemnly closed, with the Autumn Festival of the Fountains in mid-September. In mid-October, they turn off during the winter and turn on only at the end of April.

Museums

In Peterhof there are museums for all tastes. Imperial jewels and relics are displayed in the Special Pantry Museum. In the caves of the Grand Cascade, you can walk through the tunnels and see how the water supply system works. There is a fountain business museum, dedicated to the work of engineers, creators of a great font system. You can discover how the sovereigns washed themselves and how they were treated in the Museum of the House of Baths, where visitors know the daily life of the imperial court. The Imperial Yachts Museum is located on the shores of the Gulf of Finland. It tells the story of Peterhof as the maritime summer residence of Russian emperors. There are photographs, models and decoration of “floating” palaces: imperial and princely yachts. The “Sovereign Fun” Museum will be interesting for both adults and children: with the help of modern multimedia technologies, the world of the Petrina era is recreated there. Website

Weather in Peterhof

The weather in Peterhof, as well as in St. Petersburg, is not too mild and cozy. High humidity, gusty wind and cloud cover are common weather events in these places. Due to the proximity of the Gulf of Finland, the weather is very variable and can change several times a day. The presence of an umbrella is an indispensable condition for a successful excursion. In the warm season, in any weather, it will not be superfluous to take care of replaceable clothes for children. It is unlikely that young tourists can resist the temptation to experience the effects of cookie sources.

White nights – Peterhof decoration. Officially, they continue from June 11 to July 2, and in fact, from mid-May to almost mid-July, you can enjoy this natural phenomenon, when the evening twilight gradually changes to the morning.

Maritime Tour on the Neva river and canals of St. Petersburg

Canales de San Petersburgo

If St. Petersburg is considered a spectacularly beautiful city is partly because of its channels, no wonder he is nicknamed by the Russians themselves “Venice of the North”.

This tour will take you to enjoy St. Petersburg in a different way, you can see the most popular places from a unique perspective and admire the view of the city from his seat comfortably in this boat that will make you feel as if you feel in Venice.

Sit back and enjoy the company of his speaking guide who will explain the secrets of this beautiful city.

take an internal tour of the Catherine Palace

CATALINA PALACE

Founded in 1717, during the reign of Catherine I. In the following years, it passed to the empresses Elizabeth Petrovna and Catherine II and was rebuilt several times. In 1752-1756 The Grand Palace of Tsarskoye Selo was rebuilt by the architect B.F. Rastrelli in the late Baroque style. It is this superbly reconstructed architectural ensemble that can be seen today. The palace is included in the UNESCO World Heritage List.

Catherine’s Palace in Tsarskoye Selo suffered serious damage during the Great Patriotic War: the interiors were looted and the building burned down. The last large-scale restoration was completed in 2015.

Now the completely restored halls are open for visitors:

  • Big room;
    Portrait room;
    Image room;
    Amber room;
    Alejandro I Chinese Hall;
    Cavalry dining room;
    White front dining room;
    Small white dining room;
    Green dining room;
    Waitress
    Pantry
    Raspberry and Green Pillars;
    Front staircase;
    Stasovskaya ladder.
    Please note that the apartments of Grand Duke Pavel Petrovich (“Cameron Halls”), Maria Alexandrovna’s dressing room, Arabeskov, as well as the rooms in Lyon are undergoing restoration.

Amber Room at the Catherine Palace

Perhaps the most famous room in the palace can be called the Amber Room. The amber panels were donated to Peter I by the Prussian king Frederick I c. 1717 and installed in the Human Chambers in the Summer Garden of St. Petersburg. By order of Empress Elizabeth Petrovna, architect B.F. Rastrelli and teacher A. Martelli in 1770 moved the Amber Cabinet to Tsarskoye Selo and created the famous hall.

Unfortunately, this 18th century architecture masterpiece was lost during the Great Patriotic War. For many years, an investigation was conducted to find the lost room, but it was not possible to find it. In 1981, large-scale work began to restore it, which was completed only in 2003: the exhibition opened for the 300th anniversary of St. Petersburg. Kaliningrad amber was used for reconstruction, the work was funded by the Russian and German parties.

Ticket prices for the Catherine Palace in Pushkin

  • Entrance ticket (for citizens of the Russian Federation) – 700 rubles;
    Entrance ticket (regular fare) – 1000 rubles;
    persons of retirement age (citizens of Russia and Belarus) – 350 rubles;
    cadets, military personnel, members of Russian art unions: 350 rubles;
    people from 16 years, as well as students: 350 rubles;
    under 16 years old – free of charge.
    From April 27 to October 21, tickets for the Catherine Palace are sold only with an entrance to the park.
    The entrance ticket to the Catherine Palace includes a group tour with a Russian-speaking guide. For foreign citizens, an audio guide service is available in four foreign languages. The cost of the audio guide is 200 rubles + 1000 deposit rubles.

For preferential groups of visitors, the cost of excursion services is 3000 rubles per group of 10 to 30 people. Telephone information service of the Catherine Palace: +7 (812) 465-20-24.

Cost of tickets for Catherine Park:

Entrance ticket – 150 rubles;
16-year-old people, as well as students, cadets, military personnel, members of Russian art unions – 80 rubles;
persons of retirement age (citizens of Russia and Belarus) – 40 rubles;
under 16 years old – free of charge.

Opening hours of Catherine Palace in Tsarskoye Selo in 2019

The opening hours of the museum vary according to the season:

September: the ticket offices are open every day, except Tuesdays, from 12:00 to 17:45 (entrance to the exhibition until 18:00);
From October to April, weekends are Tuesday and the last Monday of the month.
During the fall, winter and spring school holidays, tickets are sold from 12:00 to 16:45 (admission to the exhibition until 17:00).

Opening hours of Catherine Park:

from September to April: from 7:00 a.m. to 9:00 p.m.
in May and June, from 7:00 to 23:00;
in July and August, from 7:00 to 22:00;
The park ticket offices are open every day from 9:00 a.m. to 7:00 p.m.

Excursions to the Catherine Palace

The excursion service in the museum is divided into general and thematic.

A general tourist tour is included in the price of the entrance ticket. During it, visitors become familiar with the history and interiors of the palace, visit the halls and learn about real life and the court.

Thematic visits are organized in the Catherine Palace for groups organized by reservation (from October to April).

A complete list of thematic tours on the Catalina Palace website

How to get

Catherine Palace is located in Pushkin, 25 kilometers south of St. Petersburg, at the address: Sadovaya Street, house number 7.

From the center of St. Petersburg, it can be reached by car in about an hour. You can rent a car or look for travel companions in the BlaBlaCar.ru service.

The route from Gostiny Dvor to Tsarskoye Selo on the map – Google Maps

You can get to Pushkin by public transport, which goes from the metro stations:

of art. Moscow – fixed route taxis No. 286, 287, 342, 347 and 545;
of art. “Estrella” or “Kupchino” – bus number 186;
of art. Metro Kupchino – fixed route taxis No. K-545a, K-286, K-287 and K-347a.
The subway in St. Petersburg is highly developed, allowing you to quickly reach from almost any area.

To avoid waiting in traffic jams, you can use the rail. An electric train travels from Vitebsk station in St. Petersburg to Tsarskoye Selo station in Pushkin. The schedule can be found here.

From Tsarskoye Selo train station to Grand Tsarskoye Selo Palace, you can take buses No. 371, 382 or minibuses No. 371, 377, 382.

To order a taxi, use the mobile applications: Yandex.Taxi, Maxim, Uber and Gett.

From Pulkovo International Airport to Pushkin can be reached by car in 20-30 minutes.

The most convenient way to get from the airport to Tsarskoye Selo is by transfer. The car can be ordered through the KiwiTaxi service. An experienced driver will meet you at the airport and wait in case of flight delay. On the company’s website, you can request child seats and locks for large cargo.

St. Isaac’s Cathedral

St. Isaac’s Cathedral

St. Isaac’s Cathedral in St. Petersburg is an excellent example of Russian cult art. It is one of the most beautiful and significant vaulted structures. Saint Peter in Rome, Saint Paul. The height of the temple is 101.5 meters. The area is 4000 m2. The temple can accommodate up to 12,000 people. Before the 1917 revolution, St. Isaac’s Cathedral was the main cathedral of St. Petersburg, and only after 1937 it became a historical and art museum.

General Information

How to get to St. Isaac’s Cathedral?

The nearest metro is Admiralteyskaya. This station is located at the intersection of Malaya Morskaya Street and Brick Lane. On Malaya Morskaya Street, go left 2 blocks (about 500 meters) and you will find yourself in St. Isaac’s Square, where the cathedral is located.

You can also arrive from the metro stations: Sennaya Ploshchad, Sadovaya and Spasskaya. These metro stations have access to Sennaya Square. From Sennaya square, you must go on the Grivtsov lane to the Moika embankment, turn left. After metro 50-100, you will find yourself in St. Isaac’s Square and you will see St. Isaac’s Cathedral.

But most tourists combine a visit to the cathedral with a walk through the center of St. Petersburg. St. Isaac’s Cathedral is located near the Bronze Horseman, the Palace Square and the Nevsky Perspective.

There are two standard excursions in St. Isaac’s Cathedral: an excursion to the cathedral and a walk through the colonnade. Tickets for the cathedral and the colonnade are sold separately.

The interiors of St. Isaac’s Cathedral surprise with its beauty and rich decoration. The cathedral houses guided tours, which are included in the entrance fee. A group of approximately 15 people meet at the entrance, which usually takes between 5 and 10 minutes, after which the tour begins during which the history of the cathedral begins, construction begins, the guide talks in detail about the technologies and materials that were used in the construction of the cathedral.

Since St. Isaac’s Cathedral is one of the tallest buildings in the city, excursions to the cathedral’s colonnade are always popular with tourists. The colonnade offers a beautiful view of the city center: Neva, St. Isaac’s Square and Palace, Peter and Paul Fortress.

Opening hours of St. Isaac’s Cathedral – summer 2019

10:30 a.m. at 6:00 p.m.
Rest day – Wednesday
The lockers close at 17:30
From April 27 to September 30 from 6:00 p.m. at 10:30 p.m., there are night excursions “Art Decorations of St.

Isaac’s Cathedral” (see ticket prices at night). Rest day – Wednesday

Opening hours of the colonnade of St. Isaac’s Cathedral – summer 2019
From May 1 to October 31
From 10:00 to 18:00 every day.
The box closes at 17:30.
The “Evening Colonnade” excursions take place every day from April 27 to September 30 from 6:00 p.m. to 10:30 p.m. (see ticket prices at night).
From November 1 to April 30
10 a.m. at 6 p.m.
Free day – the third Wednesday of the month
The box closes at 17:30.

The cost of tickets for St. Isaac’s Cathedral – summer 2019

  • for adult visitors: 350 rubles.
  • for children under 7 years old – free.
  • for children from 7 to 18 years – 100 rubles.
  • for students from Russia and Belarus – 100 rubles.
  • for pensioners from Russia and Belarus – 100 rubles.
  • for students from foreign countries (it is necessary to present an ISIC card) – 200 rubles.
  • Ticket prices for the colonnade of St. Isaac’s Cathedral in 2019
  • for all categories of visitors – 200 rubles
  • Ticket price at night
  • St. Isaac’s Cathedral at night – 400 rubles for all categories of visitors
  • Colonnade at night – 400 rubles for all categories of visitors.

The History of the construction of St. Isaac’s Cathedral

Peter the Great was born on May 30, the day of St. Isaac of Dalmatia, a Byzantine monk. In 1710, an order was given in his honor to build a wooden church near the Admiralty. Here Peter married his wife Catherine. Later, in 1717, the construction of a new stone church began, which was dismantled due to the sinking.

La-tercera-Iglesia-de-San-Isaac

In 1768, by order of Catherine II, the construction of the next St. Isaac’s Cathedral begins, designed by A. Rinaldi, which was built between San Isaac and the Senate Square. Construction was completed after the death of Catherine II in 1800. Later, the temple began to deteriorate and fell “out of court” before the emperor.

After the Patriotic War of 1812, by order of Alexander I, the design of a new church began. The project of the architect Montferrand intended to use part of the construction of the cathedral of A. Rinaldi: the preservation of the altar and the domed pylons. The bell tower, the altar ledges and the western wall of the cathedral were to be dismantled. The south and north walls were preserved. The cathedral increased in length, and its width remained the same. The building in the plan has acquired a rectangular shape. The height of the arches also did not change. It was planned to build porches with columns from the north and south sides. The construction should be crowned with a large dome and four small ones at the corners. The emperor chose the design of the five-domed church in the classical style, written by Montferrand.

Construction began in 1818 and lasted 40 years. One of the tallest domed structures in the world was built.

St. Isaac’s Cathedral is currently the largest Orthodox church in St. Petersburg and one of the tallest domed structures in the world. Its history began in 1710, when a wooden church was built in honor of St. Isaac of Dalmatia, a Byzantine saint, whose memorial day is the birthday of Peter the Great. In it, in 1712, Peter married Yekaterina Alekseevna, his second wife. Later, the wooden church was replaced by a stone church. The third temple was erected in the second half of the 18th century, however, immediately after the completion of the work, it was declared inappropriate for the front building of the city center. Emperor Alexander I announced a contest for the best project for restructuring. After 9 years, the project of the young French architect Auguste Montferrand was approved, and work began.

The construction of the cathedral lasted 40 years and required a great effort. However, the result exceeded all expectations. The monumentality of the cathedral stands out for its square construction. During construction, 43 mineral rocks were used. The basement is covered with granite and the walls are covered with gray marble blocks about 40-50 cm thick. On four sides, St. Isaac’s Cathedral is framed by powerful eight-column porches decorated with statues and bas-reliefs. A golden dome rises above the enormous size of the cathedral in a drum surrounded by granite columns. The dome itself is made of metal, and its gilding took about 100 kg of pure gold.

St. Isaac’s Cathedral is sometimes called the colorful stone museum. The interior walls are clad in white marble with green and yellow marble panels, jasper and porphyry. The main dome was painted from the inside by Karl Bryullov, Vasily Shebuev, Fyodor Bruni, Ivan Vitali and many other famous artists and sculptors who also worked inside the church.

Virtual walks

Suzdal City: What to See and Do There

Suzdal city

Suzdal is the center of the district of the Vladimir region and is located on the picturesque shore of the Kamenka River. Here are about 200 historical monuments, many of which are World Heritage by UNESCO. Suzdal is the only museum city in Russia. Thousands of tourists come to see the provincial city of Suzdal today, who are attracted by its historical heritage and the richness of ancient Russian architecture. Suzdal is included in the Golden Ring of Russia, the most popular Russian tourist route.

The guests of the city celebrate that unique atmosphere of calm and cordiality inherent in the small Russian cities. Here they rest with their souls, enjoy the peace and absence of the bustle of big cities. The tourism business is well developed here, and residents welcome city guests with special hospitality and hospitality.

Despite the fact that modern Suzdal is a small city, it is among the 5 cities that were once the capitals of the Russian state.

The history of the city of Suzdal goes back almost a millennium: the first mention of Suzdal as a city dates back to 1024. Throughout its existence, Suzdal has experienced ups and downs. And, despite the lack of large manufacturing companies and a rich industrial sector, it remains one of the favorite places to relax both among Russian tourists and among guests from other countries.

Of particular interest are the views of Suzdal, monuments of Russian architecture, many of which were erected during the 11th-18th centuries. When you visit Suzdal, don’t miss the opportunity to admire the Savior-Euthymius and Pokrovsky monasteries, visit the Kremlin, the wooden architecture museum and many other old Suzdal buildings. We have prepared for you a brief description of the Suzdal museums, indicating addresses and schedules.

Suzdal seemed to be frozen in history. It is not surprising that its streets and views were and continue to be a frequent place to film national films. Even time in this amazing city goes its own way, historically. Rather, this is measured in an old bell located in the bell tower of the Bishops’ Chambers.

This clock appeared in Suzdal in the 17th century, and measures time as it did several centuries ago: on the dial, instead of the usual numbers, you will find Cyrillic letters: it was in Russia that they were used to designate each of the twelve hours. “Az, beech, lead …”, so the countdown continues with these chimes.

The clock still delights residents and visitors of the city with its melodic sound, being the rarest and at the same time operational mechanism.

The most attractive factor, perhaps, is how the holidays in Suzdal are celebrated: New Year, Christmas, Carnival, Ivan Kupala, Cucumber Day and many others. Russian parties are held here with a truly Russian scale: festivities, songs, round dances. And young guests will enjoy horseback riding, participate in competitions and attractions.

Suzdal Kremlin

The Kremlin of Suzdal was built in the eleventh and twelfth centuries to protect the city from the enemies of the east, south and west. On the north side of Suzdal, the Kamenka River blocked the path for the enemy. The Kremlin was surrounded by earth walls over a kilometer long; doors, towers and log walls were built. The ruins of the walls and ditches have survived to this day.

The oldest building in the Suzdal Kremlin is the Cathedral of the Nativity of the Virgin. It was built in the thirteenth century under Prince George Vsevolodovich. In the 17th century, in the center of the main square of the Kremlin, stone buildings were erected in the Bishops’ Chambers, which included residential and agricultural buildings. Until the end of the 18th century, the Suzdal Kremlin served as the residence of the bishops of Vladimir-Suzdal. Today it is a museum complex, a monument of ancient Russian art and architecture.

Salvador-Eutimio Monastery in Suzdal.

The monastery on the high bank of the Kamenka River was founded by Suzdal and Prince Nizhny Novgorod, Boris Konstantinovich, in 1352. When the first abbot of the Eutimio monastery was canonized by all Russian saints, the monastery was called Spaso-Eutimio. In the 17th century, the buildings of the wooden monastery caught fire during the Polish-Lithuanian invasion, after which the monastery began to become powerful defensive towers. At the end of the 17th century, the Salvador-Eutimio Monastery was one of the largest in Russia.

In 1766, by decision of Catherine II, a prison was established in the monastery for political prisoners and the mentally ill. In the twentieth century, there was a political isolator, and then a verification filter field, through which more than 8 thousand people passed. Until the 1960s, an educational and labor colony for juvenile offenders was in the territory of the monastery. Only in 1968 the Spaso-Euthymius Monastery became a museum. Today it is part of the Vladimir-Suzdal Museum Reserve, and its exhibits present the history and culture of Suzdal.

WOOD ARCHITECTURE MUSEUM

The Museum of Architecture of Wood and Rural Life is a complex of outdoor architectural monuments. The museum’s exhibition reproduces a small town with cabins, churches, outbuildings and windmills from the 17th – 19th centuries, which were brought here from different parts of the Vladimir region.

Over the reconstituted town, two temples are erected, erected without a single nail. Here you can see the cabin of a simple farm worker, a prosperous farmer and a merchant. Inside the cabins are stored samovars and furniture, dishes and toys, wooden wheels and looms.

TEMPLE OF RESURRECTION OF THE WORDS OF THE PATAKINO IN THE MUSEUM OF WOOD ARCHITECTURE

The Church of the Resurrection of the Word was taken to the Museum of Wooden Architecture from the town of Patakino. The church was built in 1776, was consecrated in honor of the Resurrection of Christ. At that time, the temple belonged to landowner Ivan Akinfov. For a long time, the wooden church served as a cemetery church, which was assigned to the Trinity stone church in the village of Patakino.

The construction has the architectural form of a ship: the altar, the bell tower and the western porch of the church are built along an axis. The Church of the Resurrection of the Word became an exhibition of the Museum of Wooden Architecture in 1969-1970. Its restoration was carried out by the architect Valery Anisimov.

TEMPLE OF THE TRANSFORMATION OF THE LORD OF KOZLYEVO TO THE WOOD ARCHITECTURE MUSEUM

The Church of the Transfiguration of the Lord was built in the village of Kozlyatievo by unknown masters in 1756. During construction, they used exclusively wooden elements. The main building and the side rooms on behalf of St. Nicholas the Wonderworker and Simeon Stolpnik are crowned with elegant wooden domes.

Inside the church, images of saints, a carved iconostasis from the 18th century and the Royal Doors decorated with images of the Annunciation and the four evangelists were preserved. In 1966, the Church of the Transfiguration was transferred to the Museum of Wooden Architecture.

Yusupov Palace

Yusupov Palace

The inexpressive yellow facade on the Moika embankment hides a true treasure for lovers of ancient interiors, luxurious stairs and lounges, sculptures and paintings, modern theater and dark stories. Surprisingly, all this was almost completely preserved, despite the coups, wars, revolutions and crises. For the first time, tourists who enter are speechless because of the unusual aura of Yusupov Palace, full of artistic images created by talented architects, sculptors and artists for 300 years.

A little history

The Yusupovs descended from Nogai Khan Yusuf, who had gone to Moscow under Ivan the Terrible. The adoption of orthodoxy opened the way for a career in court. The clan was quickly rich, and in 1830 the eldest of the family, Boris Nikolayevich, bought a building in Moika from Prince Potemkin’s niece, which Catherine II donated. But she was not the first owner of the building, it was built in 1770 for Senator A.P. Shuvalov Since then, until 1917, 5 generations of the princes of Yusupov lived on the walls of the palace, rebuilding and decorating it continuously. After the revolution, the Museum of the Noble Life was located here, which was later transformed into the House of Culture of the educators.

What to see

Visitors will see the ceremonial interiors of the second floor, the home theater, the private apartments of the last prince Yusupov, his office, the Arab living room, decorated in the style of the palaces of the Middle East. Grace and harmony reign in the “feminine” half in the porcelain and Persian cabinets, there is a small pink sofa on which Princess Zinaida Nikolaevna posed for the artist V. Serov for the famous portrait. The music room has a rich collection of instruments and a mechanical organ by Thomas Hess. In the theater at night there are performances by a company of young actors.

You can listen to a fascinating story about the exhibitions of the guide’s palace, rent an audio guide (free of charge, on bail) or download a special application to your smartphone.

Exhibition “The assassination of Rasputin”

In the “garrison”, that is, the basement room of Yusupov Palace, the scene of one of the most mysterious crimes of pre-revolutionary Russia is reproduced. The lighting is stingy, a golden cross flickers on the nightstand, the atmosphere is the most depressing. On the table, loaded with bottles and food, is the wax figure of a bearded man in a raspberry shirt, and a young officer with a field uniform is standing nearby.

This is Felix Yusupov, the last of a glorious family, who considered his duty to rid the monarchy of the scandalous old man who had discredited the dynasty. The guides tell in detail the story of the life and death of Grigory Rasputin, about his extrasensory skills, his incredible influence on the royal family. This exhibition is very popular.

Practical information

Address: St. Petersburg, st. Decembrists, 21. Website.

How to get there: take the subway to the station. Admiralteyskaya, Nevsky Prospect, Sadovaya, Sennaya, Spasskaya.

Hours: every day from 11:00 a.m. to 6:00 p.m. Ticket price for adults: RUB 700, for children and students: RUB 500. The ticket price for the exhibition “Killing Rasputin” for adults is RUB 350, for children and students RUB 250. The prices on the page are for October 2018.

Other data

Russia’s oldest aristocratic family, the Yusupovs princes, had several palaces in different provinces of the country. However, the largest and most luxurious was the palace at Moika, in St. Petersburg. This huge house was owned by five generations of princes.

The appearance and interior of the palace fully reflected the state and influence of the Yusupov family in the Russian Empire. Only imperial residences could argue with Yusupov Palace with splendor.

Today, a tour of the northern capital will be incomplete without a visit to the palace of the princes of Yusupov in Moika. This house has become a place of worship for tourists, since it can only fully demonstrate the authentic lifestyle of the Russian aristocracy. In addition, Yusupov Palace keeps a grim secret: it was here that King Grigory Rasputin’s favorite was killed.

Prince Boris Yusupov acquired a residence in Moika in 1830. The building was in poor condition, but the family’s financial situation allowed the Yusupovs to quickly turn their palace into the most luxurious place in St. Petersburg. The restoration took place on a real scale. The builders, under the guidance of architect A. Mikhailov, rebuilt the facade, added the number of floors to the building and added an additional three-story building in the eastern part of the estate.

Yusupov Palace houses a theater, an extensive painting gallery, a winter garden and a conservatory. A wide front staircase led directly to the river, to its own promenade. Inside, the palace was decorated by decorators who previously worked in the castles of the European nobility.

After the death of Boris Yusupov, the new owners of the palace rebuilt and rebuilt it repeatedly. In the nineteenth century, modern communications were maintained in the building: sewage, heating, electricity and water supply.

The last time Yusupov’s palace was rebuilt in 1914: on the eve of Prince Felix’s wedding, the first floor chambers were completely renovated.

After the revolution, at the Yusupov Palace for a short time there was an exhibition dedicated to the murder of Grigory Rasputin and the Museum of Life of the Russian Aristocracy. Subsequently, the building was transferred to the department of educational work of Leningrad, which prevented the ruin of the palace during the Civil War.

During World War II, the residence of the Yusupov Princes in Moika served as a hospital. After the war, the building was recognized as a historical object of national importance.

In the 2000s, the rooms of the Yusupov Palace were completely restored, they housed numerous exhibits that clearly show the life of the Russian aristocratic family in the 18-19 centuries. Some rooms are rented for weddings and holidays. The theater in the house of the Yusupovs still works, classical and modern works are organized, concerts are performed.

The theater company actively participates in the presentation of the exhibitions, making its visualization interactive and extremely interesting. The most popular in Yusupov Palace is the exhibition “The assassination of Rasputin”. Tourists descend to the basement, where the emperor’s favorite was killed. Here, in a narrow room with low arches, there are wax figures: sitting at the table, Gregory eats poisoned cakes; Nearby is his future murderer: Prince Felix Yusupov. Tourists visiting the exhibition have the effect of presence.

Yusupov Palace in Moika for two centuries has been the center of social life in St. Petersburg. This building recalls the noise of the dresses in the dances, the happy screams and the creak of the open bottles of champagne at the aristocratic parties.

The palace is a true architectural masterpiece, one of the most beautiful buildings in the northern capital.

Cathedral of the Spilled blood of Christ

Catedral de la Sangre Derramada

The Church of the Savior on the Spilled Blood (or Cathedral of the Resurrection), built by order of Alexander III in 1883 to 1907 in the same place where the March 1, 1881 his father, Czar Alexander II, the most democratic and Russian human emperors, was killed because of a bomb thrown by a member of the organization “People’s Will”. The church was built in imitation of ancient Russian churches of the XVI – XVII, in a rather unusual style in a city where the Baroque and neoclassical dominate.

The set is especially unique, besides the way, especially by the multicolored tiles on the walls, made of brick, ceramic, marble and granite. The onion-shaped domes, niches and everything inside are covered with splendid mosaics. The total surface mosaic decoration reaches about 7000 square meters. This orthodox, with its striking shapes and polychrome temple domes topping the asymmetrical towers, is beautiful example of Russian architectural style of the time.

His nine domes covered with gold leaf and polychrome enamel shine with its bright colors regardless of the weather. This church is one of the few surviving examples in Russia of religious buildings from the late nineteenth century – early twentieth century commemorative great historical and artistic value.

 

USSR Museum in VDNKh

USSR Museum in VDNKh

Contenido del articulo

Since December 2012, the USSR Museum was located in VDNH. But at the end of October 2014, the museum moved to New Arbat.

Today, many people relate differently to the country of the Soviets, but most of the inhabitants of our country were born in this country. One thing is certain, it was a powerful empire that made a great contribution to the history of mankind.

The purpose of the museum is an opportunity to remember those things that surrounded people in Soviet times. To talk about the ideology of our great country that raised millions of October people, pioneers, members of Komsomol and members of the CPSU. Show our leaders through actions they remember.

The cult of personality in all its manifestations, Soviet cars, slot machines, sports cups, computers, phones, televisions, cameras and radios, alcohol and food, food stamps, movie posters, clothes and shoes, toys and games, items indoor, postcards, medals, badges, stamps and souvenirs: all this was done in the USSR. 06/12/2019 10:23:50 OSD.RU

One thing is certain, it was a powerful empire that made a great contribution to the history of mankind.

The purpose of the museum is the opportunity to remember those things that surrounded us in Soviet times. Talk about the ideology of our great country, which raised millions of October revolutionaries, pioneers, members of Komsomol and members of the CPSU. Show our leaders through actions that remind us.

The cult of personality in all its manifestations, Soviet cars, slot machines, sports cups, computers, telephones, televisions, cameras and radios, alcoholic beverages and food, food stamps, movie posters, clothes and shoes, toys and games, interior items, postcards, medals, badges, stamps and souvenirs: all this was done in the USSR.

Nearest metro stations
Arbat
Smolenskaya

Museum of the USSR in the Exhibition Center of all Russia. Part 1, economic and historical
The purpose of my trip on Saturday to the Exhibition Center throughout Russia was the so-called Museum of the USSR in Hall n. ° 2.
After looking at your site, I immediately decided to go there and without information intermediaries to evaluate “what kind of Sukhov it is”. It is clear that the theme of the “Soviet era”, which has moved away from us for more than 20 years in history, has now become very popular and attracts the attention of many.

In addition, a whole generation has already grown, which “the scoop does not know”, and judges about that moment mainly by myths: positive, jokes or negative. And those who found the collapse of the USSR in primary and even secondary school age, in fact, do not know the era of the Soviet Union until 1987 and do not understand very well the realities of it.

The theme of the Soviet Union is inconvenient for the current state: the liberals and perestroika successfully threw the social status of the fifties and eighties, and the current elite hatched between August 91 and October 93 as a denial of the past. Only, perhaps, the issue of war as an unconditional control of national consciousness was partially led by them to a new post-Soviet being. Therefore, the post-Soviet eReF and its dominant strata do not need Soviet museums as a means of showing history and our common past.

But there is a theme! It exists, and interest in it is constantly growing.
And that? If it is not the state, then entrepreneurs. Then, they undertook the development of a new field of miracles. Which is logical.

It is interesting, but how the new museum describes this era. The location, frankly, was embarrassing in advance: after all, the All-Russia Exhibition Center is now a commercial shawl, in addition to a continuous influx of commercial and transit visitors. And renting a place in the pavilions is not cheap, it means that the “museum” is most likely small.

Intuition did not deceive: the museum turned out not to be a Soviet collection (as in Kazan), not an anti-Soviet reprimand (as in Tallinn or Riga), it turned out to be sealed with blueberries, closer to the Museum of Communism in Prague but a strawberry What,

In principle, it is not surprising for a commercial approach: after all, what else should a simple visitor catch, with which bait live? Only in known stamps, in combination with strawberries, blueberries and all recognized pop brands (erotic women, Brezhnev kiss, Stalin with tube, humpback constipation, pioneer necks, dolls and other popular Kalash with vodka and a bear) 80) To guarantee it, You must add thrash and performances to that mix, to be absolutely sure of reaching the target mass audience. So to speak, one-eyed.ru.ru museum.

However, let see. I divided the overview of the museum into two parts: historical and everyday and cranberry. By the way, it is very clearly divided there and spatially, into these two parts. Now – politics (history) and life.

Kievskaya metro Station

Metro Kievskaya

For almost everyone knows that one of the attractions of Moscow is visiting and using your underground. Most of the Moscow metro stations are decorated as if it were a palace. One of the most impressive for its decoration is the Kievskaya station ..

In the Kievskaya station circular line table last century is “The struggle for Soviet power in Ukraine” that jokingly call “providential”.

Sightseeing tour of St. Petersburg

tour-panoramico-san-petersburgo1

The sightseeing tour “Discover St. Petersburg” with stops at the most interesting places is the perfect choice to form the first impression of the city and begin moving. You will see all the major tourist attractions: Cape (Needle) Vasilievsky Island (Russian Strelka), Nevsky Prospect – the main avenue of the city, the Palace Square with the Winter Palace, former residence of the Russian tsars, the square of Fine Arts with its many museums and theaters, the Summer Garden, the Field of Mars, the Castle of the Engineers where he was killed the Emperor Paul I, the area of ​​the Fortress of St. Peter and Paul – the first core of St. Petersburg, Holy Trinity Square, the symbol of the Russian Revolution – the famous armored cruiser “Aurora”, St. Isaac’s Square, the equestrian monument to Peter I (“The Bronze Horseman”) in the Senate spacious square, Theatre Square where the famous Mariinsky Theatre and the Conservatory in St. Petersburg, the magnificent Cathedral of St. Nicholas, the many luxurious palaces of the city, the Neva River with its bridges, canals and many things more.

It is done in the car or minibus, with photo stops at the most important and beautiful places. It can be made every day. Approximately 3-5 hours (can be combined with a visit to the Peter and Paul Fortress, or the Cabin of Peter the Great, or the Cathedral of the Savior on the Spilled Blood, or the Cathedral of St. Isaac ).

 

 

Peter and Paul Fortress

Peter and Paul Fortress

Contenido del articulo

Cúpulas del monasterio de Pedro y Pablo

The history of St. Petersburg begins with the foundation of the Peter and Paul Fortress. In 1703, at the mouth of the Neva, on Hare Island.

There are different opinions as to why Peter chose this place: Hare Island for the foundation of the fortress. One version says that Peter chose Hare Island following the instructions of an old man who lived as a hermit in Solovetsky Monastery on Zayatsky Island. When the future emperor began to choose a suitable place for the foundation of a new capital, the coincidence of the names of the two islands seemed to him an important signal that cannot be ignored; It was there where construction began.

Initially, the fortress was built of earth and wood, but in 1706-1740 it was rebuilt in stone. The architect was the famous Italian Domenico Trezzini. The bastions and the curtains of brick and stone reached up to 12 meters high and 20 meters wide. Around the fortress were ditches with water.

The Cathedral of Saints Peter and Paul in St. Petersburg began to be built several years after the foundation of the Peter and Paul Fortress. According to legend, Peter I himself determined the place of the temple, placing pieces of grass crisscrossed in the center of the fortress transversely. The first stone in the foundations of the cathedral was laid by Pedro I, the second, Empress Catherine. The cathedral was built between 1712 and 1733.

The bell tower of the Cathedral of Peter and Paul is crowned with a 34-meter golden needle with a clock. In 1725, it was decorated with the figure of an angel holding a cross.

A large number of military trophies were stacked in the cathedral: weapons, banners, keys to cities and towns taken. Here are the graves of all Russian emperors, beginning with Peter I, except Peter II and Ivan Antonovich.

7 years after the October Revolution, the Peter and Paul Fortress became a historical and revolutionary museum. Currently, it is a branch of the historical museum of the city of St. Petersburg.
The height of the cathedral is 122.5 m; The needle is 40 m. The cathedral is consecrated, the services are performed according to a special schedule, the rest of the time it works as a museum.

Wooden church of St. the apostles Peter and Paul were placed on June 29 (July 12) 1703 on the day of Peter in the center of Hare Island. The church with a spire-shaped bell tower in the “Dutch style” was consecrated on April 1, 1704. In 1709-1710. The church became cruciform in terms of “three spitz,” it expanded.

The construction of a new stone cathedral began on June 8, 1712 according to the design of D. Trezzini. In 1719, under the direction of the Dutch H. van Boleos, the assembly of wooden structures of the bell tower was completed. In 1724, the spire and the small dome of the bell tower were covered with gold-plated copper sheets through the fire by Riga F. Zifers. According to Trezzini’s drawing, a copper cross is made and installed with the figure of a flying angel on the needle apple. The height of the bell tower became 106 m.

This is a temple of three ships. A bell tower was erected on the western section of the central nave, and an octagonal drum on the eastern section. In the design of the facades, the idea of ​​a smooth transition from the first level to the second through the introduction of lateral scrolls was used. In the attic a copper plate of the artists A. Matveev and A. Zakharov was placed with the image of the apostles Peter and Paul. Wooden sculptures were installed on the attic, complete with an onion pediment. The oval window at the bottom of the eastern facade is decorated with stucco images of cherubs in the clouds. Facades of the cathedral in the 1730s were painted pink.

In 1756, a fire destroyed a wooden spire and a roof, clocks and bells died, and the western portico was destroyed. In 1757, the master builder A. Antonietti erected a brick dome crowned with an onion dome on the altar, according to a drawing by V.V. Fermar Gray-green painted facades. Since 1762, the Bell Tower was restored by the Office in the construction of the Alexander Nevsky Monastery. By order of Catherine II – in its previous forms. The placement of stone bleachers was completed in 1770. According to the project of the Danish craftsman B. Bauer, in 1773 a new wooden needle was erected, lined with golden sheets of copper. The bells made by watchmaker B.F. Oort Crassus in the Netherlands in 1757-1760 were installed by watchmaker I.E. Rediger in 1776.

In 1777 a needle damaged a needle. Correction made according to the arc drawings. P. Yu. Paton A new figure of an angel with a cross according to a drawing by A. Rinaldi was made by master K. Forshman.

In 1778, under the supervision of academic Leonard Euler, work was done to equip the needle with a lightning rod.

In 1779, the chapel of San Catherine The ceiling of the chapel in 1830 was painted by I.E. and F.A. Pavlov

In the early nineteenth century. Century in the cathedral was renovated with the participation of the arch. L. Ruska, D. Visconti, A.I. Melnikov, I.I. Charlemagne, artists V.K. Shebuyev and D.I. Antonelli

In 1829, the storm again damaged the figure of an angel in a needle. Roofer Peter Telushkin made repairs without scaffolding. The repair carried out in October-November 1830 passed into the history of domestic technology as an example of Russian ingenuity and courage.

In 1856-1858 According to the project of the engineer D.I. Zhuravsky, instead of a wooden one, a metal needle was built. Inside the spire, a spiral iron staircase leads to a covered hatch arranged at a height of 100 m above the block with a six-meter cross with an angel (sculptor RK Zaleman?) An angel palette revolves around a rod mounted on the plane of the figure itself. The voluminous parts of the angel are made by electroforming, the remaining parts are stamped in wrought copper. The gilding was carried out under the guidance of chemist G. Struve by the arteller of merchants Korotkov. Angel height – 3, 2 m, wingspan – 3.8 m

At the same time, the bells were checked. The work was done by the Butenop brothers. Since 1859, the bells performed the music of the composer D. Bortnyansky every fifteen minutes, and the hymn “God Save the Tsar”, written by A. F. Lvov, at noon and midnight.

La silueta del campanario, que se extendió después de la reconstrucción, se volvió muy espectacular; es difícil creer que los cambios fueron realizados por un ingeniero sin educación y experiencia arquitectónica y artística.

Y aquí está lo que escribió el diccionario enciclopédico Brockhaus y Efron en 1895 en un artículo dedicado al arquitecto K.A. Ton: “Los últimos años de T., nombrado en 1854, después de la muerte de A. I. Melnikov, el rector de la academia, no fueron menos fructífero; hicieron … el diseño de la torre metálica del campanario de la catedral de la Fortaleza de Pedro y Pablo, en San Petersburgo (el último proyecto fue realizado por el ingeniero Zhuravsky) … ” (dic.academic.ru; agregó: pesador)

Después de la revolución, los servicios fueron descontinuados, y en 1919 al público se le negó el acceso a la catedral. En 1927, el edificio de la catedral fue transferido al Museo de la Revolución. Desde 1954 pertenece al Museo de Historia de Leningrado. En los años 1955-1957. La restauración científica se llevó a cabo de acuerdo con el proyecto de I.N. Benois. En 1987-1995 los artistas L.N. Sokolov y Yu I. Trushin completaron la restauración de pinturas e íconos. En 1991-1995, la restauración del ángel y la cruz. En 1996-1998 La capilla de Catalina fue restaurada según el proyecto de arco. A. E. Gunich y S. S. Nalivkina. La familia del último emperador ruso Nicolás II está enterrado allí.

Museo El Hermitage. San Petesburgo- Rusia

Hermitage and the great Hermitage museum

Hermitage and the great Hermitage museum

The large (or old) Hermitage building was built in 1771-1787 “in line with the Hermitage” according to the architect Yu.M. Felten, who used the foundations and walls of the old buildings that existed here since the early 18th century. Yuri Matveevich Felten studied architecture, first in Germany and then at the St. Petersburg Academy of Sciences. In particular, it has an outstanding project and leadership in the construction of a granite embankment on the left bank of the Neva, as well as an elegant one near the Summer Garden. In addition to the Old Hermitage, its churches of St. Anne on Kirochnaya Street, St. Catherine on Vasilievsky and Chesmenskaya Island, as well as several mansions in the center of St. Petersburg, have survived to this day. The facade of the building, facing the Neva River, is decorated in forms of early classicism.

The name is Old Hermitage, the building received in the 19th century, then it became a repository of art collections. The Old Hermitage building plays the role of an intermediate link between the lush Small Hermitage, the Winter Palace and, in the classical style, the Hermitage Theater. The Old Hermitage building is connected to the Hermitage Theater by an arch thrown over the Winter Channel. There is also a special passage from the building to the Little Hermitage.

Interesting facts:

  • The building was called Greater Hermitage because it was larger than the Mamy Mamy previously built.In the 19th century, the name Old Hermitage began to be used to designate a building complex to distinguish it from the New Hermitage, but this does not chronologically correspond to the construction order of the building.
    In 1792, according to the design of Giacomo Quarenghi, of the Winter Channel, the so-called “Lodges of Raphael”, a gallery of copies of Raphael’s frescoes, which exactly repeats the papal palace gallery in the Vatican, joined the building.
    In 1835-1837, an arch was built on the Winter Channel that connected the Great Hermitage with the Hermitage Theater, and an air passage similar to the Little Hermitage had already been built on the other side of the building.
    Adjacent to the Winter Palace and the Little Hermitage, the Great Hermitage is apparently more rigorous and concise; This was done with the purpose of further emphasizing the expressiveness of the main part of the palace complex: the Winter Palace.
    In addition to storing art collections of the palace, part of the Great Hermitage site was used for the needs of the State Council, and later the arsenal of Tsarskoye Selo, for which an independent entrance and a special Soviet staircase were made in the building .
    In 1852, by decree of Emperor Nicholas, I opened to the public.
    The Great Hermitage is included in the Unified State Register of Cultural Heritage Sites.

The history

The huge and uncomfortable Winter Palace did not like the new Empress Catherine II. She decided to build for herself a “small secluded corner”. The new building was designed by architect Jean-Baptiste Wallen-Delamotte.

It was located near the Winter Palace. It housed ceremonial rooms where the empress received guests. The south wing was reserved for favorite apartments, it was called the “Favorite Body”. In addition to these rooms, there were also hanging gardens. Because of them, the palace was initially called the Casa del Naranjal. Later, the Northern Pavilion was completed. The facades of the Casa del Naranjal were decorated with columns, bas-reliefs and sculptures in the style of Catalina’s classicism. 11 years were dedicated to its construction.

The first resident of this house was Count Grigory Orlov, then he was replaced by Grigory Potemkin. Catalina II loved to spend the afternoons here, during which the guests played, participated in presentations. The Empress called them “small collections of the Hermitage”, so a new name emerged: the Little Hermitage. In its facilities, the hostess maintained a large collection of paintings and books. At the beginning of the 19th century, the architect Vasily Petrovich Stasov built an additional fourth floor. It now houses one of the oldest artifacts: a mechanical peacock, presented to Catherine II by Count Grigory Orlov. Soon there was not enough space for the meeting, and a new building was needed to store them. Then the idea of ​​building the large or ancient hermitage arose.

The only works of Leonardo da Vinci are exhibited in the Old Hermitage. It was built next to the Little Hermitage and the Winter Palace. The architect Yuri Matveevich Felten was dedicated to its construction. The former Hermitage was completed 17 years later. The first floor was intended to house the State Council and the Council of Ministers.

The interior was designed by Andrei Ivanovich Shtakenschneider. Many rooms are decorated with marble columns and pilasters with bronze and gold ornaments, the fireplaces are decorated with lapis lazuli, 6 doors are framed by fragments of turtle shells. On the walls of a large two-level hall on the second floor there are paintings by Russian commanders. In addition, in the facilities of the Great Hermitage there are paintings by artists from Western Europe, which were acquired by Catherine II. The Hermitage became old thanks to the New Hermitage, built under Nicholas I.

Modernity

The buildings of the small and old hermitage are part of the state hermitage. They exhibit paintings by western European artists, books, sculptures, furniture. The employees of these museums hold exhibitions, conferences and theme nights. The doors for visitors are open every day.

Two additional special collections known as the Galleries of Treasures (of Gold and Diamonds) of the Hermitage focus on the piles of Scythian and Greek gold and silver in the Caucasus, Crimea, Ukraine, East and the sumptuous jewels that in their time belonged to the Russian czars. To visit them you need a previous reservation (they do not enter the traditional guided tour) that is made on demand. Please ask for it separately.

A panoramic visit to the museum may have variations, but it lasts about 4 hours. You can find out among others the ballrooms of the Winter Palace, the Little Hermitage, several samples of paintings of Italian, Spanish, Dutch urine, the private rooms of the Flemish Tsares, French of the Old and the New Hermitage, the rooms of the Impressionists and post-impressionists. The opening hours of the Hermitage are from 10.30 to 18.00. and on Mondays there is no opening. You can pay an extra cost to take pictures as long as you do not use flash in temporary exhibitions it is completely forbidden to take photographic capture. There are two coffee shops and several book and souvenir shops in the museum.

Pavlovsky Palace

Pavlovsky Palace is a structure of incredible beauty and harmony, located in the middle of the magnificent Pavlovsky Park. The golden white building was erected on a high hill next to the Slavyanka River, so Pavlovsky Palace can be seen from the most remote places in the park.

The unity of architecture and interior is explained by the unusual history of this beautiful complex.

In September 1782, the heir to the throne Pavel Petrovich with his wife Maria Fedorovna, under the name of Count and Countess of the North, went on a trip to Europe. The trip was made incognito (as was customary), and the connoisseur and connoisseur of art included Prince Nikolai Borisovich Yusupov, a connoisseur and art expert.

During the trip, the couple became familiar with the art and culture of Austria and Italy, France and Holland, and in Rome they were received by Pope Pius VI. In Italy, they bought Venetian glass and ordered paintings by artists, and also created marble copies of ancient sculptures from the Apollo and Muses collection of the Vatican for them. In France, they bought furniture and silk from Lyon, bronze and porcelain. It was at this time that the first stone of the Grand Palace was laid.

All the acquisitions made, as well as the generous gifts of the European monarchs, were sent to Pavlovsk, where these first-class works of art suggested to the architects the best decorative solution still under construction. There was nothing like this in world architecture, and this explains the extraordinary harmony of all the elements of the Pavlovsk Palace.

Pavlovsk Palace – description

Pavlovsk Palace was created in the course of 50 years by the efforts of prominent architects such as Charles Cameron, Vincenzo Brenna and Andrei Voronikhin, Giacomo Quarenghi and Karl Rossi, as well as the best Russian sculptors, Mikhail Kozlovsky and Ivan Martos, Ivan Prokofiev and Vasily Demut-Malinovsky.

Initially, the construction of the Pavlovsk Palace in 1852-1854 was worked by the architect Charles Cameron, who bowed to the creations of the prominent architect Andrea Palladio and took his Venetian villa as a model.

Andrea Palladio (real name Andrea di Pietro) is a leading 16th-century architect who created his own style: Palladio and who knew how to perfectly combine architecture and nature.

In terms of plan, Pavlovsk Palace is shaped like a horseshoe, and apparently resembles a noble estate. The building is characterized by perfect symmetry, decorated with a gently sloping dome and numerous stucco sculptures and moldings. Open galleries with snow-white columns extend from the main building to the side wings.

The interior design work was carried out by the Italian architect Vincenzo Brenna.

In 1796, Paul ascended the throne and, at his command, the palace expanded: Brenna built in the Cameron galleries, erected two two-story buildings with turrets and a church building. The building has acquired even greater grandeur and greatness.

After the fire of 1803, the restoration of the building and the interior decoration of the rooms were carried out by the architect Andrei Voronikhin, and Giacomo Quarenghi and Karl Rossi also participated in the design of the interiors.

From 1849 to 1892, the owner of Pavlovsk was Grand Duke Konstantin Nikolaevich, son of Emperor Nicholas I. The Museum of Antiquities was organized in his palace, whose exhibits were the attics of the Hall of the Knights, the Hall of the Sarcophagi, as well as objects from the ancient Roman era brought by Pavel and Maria Fedorovna from the tour. in Europe By order of the prince, the Image Gallery and the Museum of Antiquities were opened to the public from spring to late autumn during the day.

A monument to Paul was erected in front of the palace, the emperor’s gaze went to the side of the alley (the emperor, so to speak, welcomed the guests who came to his house). The monument was created by the sculptor Ivan Vitali in 1872 and resembles the statue of Louis XIV, installed in front of his palace in Versailles.

After the revolution, the Bolsheviks, proclaiming the motto “Art must belong to the people,” transformed the Pavlovsk Palace and Park into the State Museum, accessible to most people. At the same time, in the 1920s, the seizure and sale abroad of the most valuable exhibitions to receive funds for the development of the industry began.

When the Great Patriotic War began, most of the exhibits were exported to Sarapul, Novosibirsk and Leningrad. The German invaders entered Pavlovsk and placed the headquarters of the Gestapo and the hospital in the palace, and when they retired in 1944, they set fire to the palace building.

After the war, restoration work began, which was carried out in stages, the rooms were opened from 1957, and in 1977, on the occasion of Pavlovsk’s 200th anniversary, the restoration was mainly completed. Currently:

On the ground floor of the building are the rooms of Maria Fyodorovna, as well as the ballroom and the billiard room, the rooms and the living room.
On the second floor there are offices and a library, Freylinsky and ceremonial rooms, including the Throne and Cavalier rooms.
On the third floor there is an exhibition “Russian residential interior of the 19th century”, 17 rooms that tell how the decoration changed in the nobility

We recommend that you pay attention to such interesting exhibits of the museum:

  • In Freylinsky there are unusual watches called “Deserter”, created in the 18th century based on the opera of the same name by the composer Monsigny. They represent a girl who says goodbye to a young man, for whom a convoy has already arrived, and there is also a prison. The clock has a box with a musical mechanism that performs fragments of the opera.
    In the Italian Hall you can see the statue of Erit, created in the first century, this is an exact copy of the ancient Greek bronze statue, made by Lysippus, a sculptor in the court of Alexander the Great.
    In one of Maria Fedorovna’s rooms you will see the empress of the Empress “Green Toilet”, created in the Imperial Porcelain Factory and consisting of 54 objects. Especially beautiful is the octagonal mirror, decorated with two female figures in ancient clothes.Toiletries donated by Louis XVI and consisting of 72 items. The portraits of Louis XVI and Marie Antoinette are made in the glasses, and the Russian coat of arms, the double-headed eagle, adorns the mirror. This gift was so dear to Maria Fedorovna that she immediately placed it under the glass
    In the master bedroom there is a four-poster canopy bed, decorated with hand-painted silk, next to it there are sculptures of two children who keep a dream. It is interesting that no one has ever slept in this bed, since the ceremonial rooms were opened only for the guests to show the existing collections and the luxury of the rooms.
  • Opening hours of Pavlovsk Palace – summer 201

  • 10 a.m. at 6 p.m.
    The lockers close one hour before
    Holidays – the first Monday of the month
    The palace is closed on October 4 and 11.Above is the opening hours of the main rooms on the second floor. On certain days of the week, some of the exhibits are closed:

    The rooms on the ground floor are closed on Tuesdays, Fridays and the first Monday of each month.
    The rooms of Empress Maria Fedorovna are closed on Fridays and the first Monday of each month.
    The exhibition “Russian residential interior of the 19th century – early 20th century” is closed on Tuesdays, Fridays and the first Monday of each month.

Ticket cost for Pavlovsk Palace – summer 2019

Main rooms on the second floor and living rooms on the first floor
Main rooms on the second floor and living rooms on the first floor
adults – 500 rubles.
students (7-18 years) – 200 rubles.
Family ticket 2 adults + 1 child – 1000 rubles.
Family ticket 2 adults + 2 children – 1200 rubles.
Only rooms on the second floor (Tuesday and Friday)
adults – 400 rubles.
Retired – 150 rubles.
students (7-18 years) – 150 rubles.
Family ticket 2 adults + 1 child – 800 rubles.
Family ticket 2 adults + 2 children – 1000 rubles.
Halls of Empress Maria Fedorovna on the first floor (if there is a ticket to the hallways of the palace)
adults – 150 rubles.
Retired – 100 rubles.
students (7-18 years) – 100 rubles.
The exhibition “Russian residential interior of the nineteenth century – early twentieth century” on the third floor (with a ticket to the hallways of the palace)
adults – 150 rubles.
Retired – 100 rubles.
students (7-18 years) – 100 rubles.

For all visitors who bought a ticket to Pavlovsk Palace, guided tours are organized.

During a walk in Pavlovsk Park, be sure to visit Pavlovsk Palace. The entrance is paid, but you should not spend money to visit: the interiors of the hallways surprise with their luxury and magnificent finishes. You will see a unique collection of fine, decorative, applied and ancient art, compiled during the 16th and early 20th centuries.

Muzeon Park: What to See and Do There

Muzeon Park: What to See and Do There

Muzeon Park has a place for various artistic events. Rookie musicians and theater stars, teachers and street theaters regularly perform here. The Museon program offers cultural events: city festivals, art biennials, ogorogovaya.

One of the park’s most intriguing attractions is an outdoor cinema, which allows visitors to watch movies even in the sun, even in the rain. The repertoire is surprising in variety. It has everything from frivolous Hollywood comedies to art documentaries.

One of the most important projects of the Museon is the school pavilion, where everyone can learn to understand the art of art. Representatives of science and culture, for example, Tagir Safaev, writer Zakhar Prilepin and music critic Alexander Kushnir, often give lectures.

It is also worth exploring the oriental garden, decorated with Asian sculptures.

Highlights sculptures of national and foreign colors in the territory of the Art Park. Museon exhibited Soviet monuments saved from destruction in 1991, including monuments to the class struggle theoretician Karl Marx, world proletariat leader Vladimir Lenin and Joseph Stalin.

In winter, slides open to rent inflatable cheesecakes in the park.

The park is open every day:

from 8:00 to 23:00 (in the summer season);
from 8:00 to 22:00 (in autumn-winter).

Location

Muzeon Park Address
Street. Krymskiy Val, vl. two
Nearest metro
Park kul’tury

Additional Information

Working hours Mon – Sun 8: 00–22: 00

Site park-gorkogo.com/muzeon

Located in Parke Gor’kogo
Here we have

Café “Shardam” Art object “Exhibition” Restaurant “Club drawer”

This is a spectacular museum of open-air sculptures that had its origin in 1991 when the Moscow Administration decided to remove from all public spaces such as parks and squares, all monuments dedicated to Soviet leaders such as Stalin, Sverdlov , Dzerjinsky and Kalinin.

All the works of Soviet and modern masters representing the images of these important characters in Russian history were removed and then taken to the Muzeon forming a collection of more than 700 pieces made of different materials such as bronze and stone.

Within its facilities you can visit three well-defined sections: the historic one where the works related to military issues are exhibited, the modern one and a sector for children.

It should be noted that the Muzeon Arts Park occupies an area of ​​almost 20 hectares which gives it the title, not only of being the only open-air sculpture museum in Moscow but also one of the largest in the world.

Key Facts of Muzeon Park

This open-air museum presents more than 700 Soviet sculptures, some recognized as masterpieces of monumental sculpture.
Visitors can buy paintings by contemporary artists from Moscow in pavilions lined up along the Moskva River.
The park has a sophisticated landscape design with alpine rock gardens, large flower beds, fountains, benches, gazebos and podiums.
The park offers tours, exhibitions, conferences on architecture, art and music, along with concerts, yoga classes and bicycle rental.
Nearby there are some interesting places such as the Moscow Central House of Artists, the Gorky Park and the Tretyakov Gallery in Krymsky Val.
Visitor information is available in English
The Park is an Obligatory Stop if you come to Moscow

Muzeon Park is one of the places in Moscow that you fall in love with once and for all. Happily combines the Soviet past and the latest developments in the life of Moscow. Muzeon borders Gorky Park: they are joined by an embankment. It is the only park within the Garden Ring.

Muzeon Park History

The idea of ​​creating a “park of the arts” in this place was presented by the Soviet Minister of Culture Ekaterina Furtseva. The project began in 1970 with the construction of the Central House of Artists and the construction of a new building of the Tretyakov Gallery and the design of Y. Sheverdyayev.

In its modern design, Muzeon Park was developed in the early 1990s. After the collapse of the USSR, numerous monuments of the Soviet era were dismantled. There was no longer room for them, which led to the creation of an open-air museum about Soviet culture.

Numerous monuments to Soviet leaders: Vladimir Lenin, Joseph Stalin, Yakov Sverdlov, Mikhail Kalinin, Leonid Brezhnev and others, were collected in Muzeon Park. Since then, the collection has been replenished frequently.

Muzeon Park News

Today Muzeon is a park like no other in Russia. Here you can see true sculpture masterpieces created by recognized masters. In particular, the sculptures that commemorate the 50th anniversary of the victory in the Great Patriotic War, the 200th anniversary of Alexander Pushkin, the sculptural groups that commemorate the victims of Stalin’s repressions that have been added to the museum’s collection.

How big is the park

The park occupies the space of 24 hectares. It is a large and well planned plot of green land that runs along the Moskva River in the Garden Ring district. There are five entrances to the park, located near the side streets Krymsky Val, Maronovsky and Third Golutvinsky.

Muzeon Park and the neighboring Moscow House of Artists are considered Mecca for the creative people of the capital: there is always an exhibition, in addition, you can buy books, oil paintings and canvases for creative work or just lay on the grass or also sit on a bench and appreciate the beautiful view of the river.

What other things can be done in the park

The waterfront area of ​​Krymskaya Embankment and an art exhibition have recently become part of Muzeon. You can buy paintings by artists and contemporary souvenirs from Moscow in the comfortable pavilions along the Moskva River.

Muzeon’s key theme is the art of sculpture. Here there are more than 700 sculptures in total, including those that are recognized as classical in the art of monumental sculpture: the works of E. Vuchetich, V. Mukhina, S. Merkurov, O. Komov, Z. Vilensky, A. Rukavishnikov , and many others.

There are also postmodern sculptures in the park. They were created in the late twentieth and early twenty-first and sometimes makes you smile just by looking at them. Many of them have become iconic monuments of the new Moscow.

Danskoi Monastery

[vc_row][vc_column width=”2/3″][vc_single_image image=”68988″ img_size=”large”][vc_column_text]

  • Thorny path
  • Modernity
  • Video

Address: Donskoy Monastery – Moscow, Donskaya Square, 1-3
Metro station: Shabolovskaya

One of the oldest and most revered Orthodox religious shrines in Moscow is the Don Monastery. It was restored in 1591 by a firmly believing czar, Theodore Ivanovich.

The monastery was built on the old Kaluga Road in honor of the inexplicable liberation of Moscow from destruction by Khan Kazy-Girey. In this place there was a Russian army camp, prepared to breastfeed to defend Moscow against the top number of Tartar hordes. When the Khan’s army was already near the capital, the pious king ordered a procession with the icon Gift of the Mother of God around the walls of the fortress that surrounded Moscow at that time. After that, the sanctuary was placed in the middle of the Russian army in a small camping church. By that time, this icon already had great fame. She was back in 1380 with Prince Demetrius and his soldiers during the battle in the Kulikovo camp. The Russians then won, and the icon that eclipsed their feat began to be called Donskoy and was revered as the defender of Russia.

It is believed that not only the courage of the Russian soldiers, their unconditional courage, perseverance and military ingenuity, but also a wonderful icon helped to keep the invaders from the walls of Moscow on July 4, 1591, but the battle continued. The Russian soldiers were ready to fight the enemy and, if necessary, die the next day. But on the morning of July 5, they were surprised to discover that Kazi Giray’s troops fled, abandoning all their camping equipment. This was considered a miracle and the response of divine powers to prayers, as there were more attackers. In gratitude for the prayer heard, the king founded the Donskoy Monastery, where they placed the icon of the intercessor.

Thorny path

Contenido del articulo

Years and centuries passed, the life of the Donskoy monastery changed. He was held in high esteem and misfortune after the revolutionary events of 1917. In 1927, the first crematorium was launched in Russia. In 1934, a museum of Russian architecture was opened in the territory of the monastery. Fragments of antiques were brought here from all over the country to preserve them for posterity, among them there were many Christian relics. Here, Stalin’s daughter, Svetlana, was secretly baptized.

In the 1990s, Don Monastery finally returned the state to the Orthodox Church, and the attackers burned the Little Cathedral. But there is a blessing in disguise: during the excavations at the conflagration site, a hidden burial place was found for Patriarch Tikhon, who, by his faith and his pious acts, was involved in the face of the saints. And his relics now rest peacefully in the Great Cathedral.

History.

The monastery was founded in 1591 in memory of the miraculous liberation of Moscow from the invasion of the Crimean khan Kazy Giray, in the same year the first stone cathedral was built on behalf of the Don Icon of the Mother of God. Renovated by the czars Mikhail Feodorovich and Alexei Mikhailovich. Stone walls and towers were built in 1686, in 1693 a new cathedral was consecrated in the name of the Don Icon of the Mother of God.

In 1745, the monastery was classified as stavropegic. Since the end of the 17th century. The monastery was the tomb of the nobility of Moscow. In the monastery cemetery, the largest surviving in Moscow, the color of the Moscow nobility is buried, many figures of Russian culture – P.Ya. Chaadaev, V.F. Odoevsky, V.O. Klyuchevsky, O.I. Beauvais et al., In the church of Sretensky there is a tomb of Czars and Georgian princes, in the church of Mikhailovsky there is a tomb of princes Golitsyn. In 1914, the temple was consecrated in the new territory of the cemetery adjacent to the monastery.

In the years 1922-1925. His Patriarch of Holiness Tikhon, all Russian, was in custody in the monastery in 1925 in the Small Cathedral of St. Tikhon was buried. In 1926 the monastery was closed. Until the late twenties The monastic life continued in the monastery. Then, the monastery facilities were occupied by an antireligious museum, under a boarding school, courses, a dairy farm. In 1927 the temple of St. Seraphim of Sarov and blgv. Prince Anna Kashinskaya in the new cemetery was rebuilt in the first crematorium in Moscow (architect D.P. Osipov). In 1929, all the churches of the monastery were closed, since 1934 the Museum of Architecture was located in the monastery, fragments of demolished churches in Moscow were taken to the monastery.

Modernity

At the entrance of the Donskoy Monastery, parishioners are greeted by a tank called Dmitry Donskoy, a cannon and an armored personnel carrier. This military equipment was launched with the money of the priests and their parishioners during the war with Nazi Germany. After the war, the surviving team was sent to the monastery, as monuments.

Today, Donskoy Monastery is once again one of the most revered and famous among true believers. And from the point of view of a tourist, we can say that it is the most beautiful and interesting monastery in Moscow. As if destructive weather had not touched his farm, here it is very cozy and green. Although now the monastery was within the limits of a city covered with vegetation, almost no noise from the city is heard behind the walls. Here you can walk with a light soul among the old gravestones, reflect on life, read literature, look at the high reliefs of the Cathedral of Christ the Savior.

Among the powerful walls of the monastery, many famous Russian figures who were buried in the ancient necropolis found their last refuge, including Zhukovsky, Denikin and Solzhenitsyn. The main cathedral of the monastery looks magnificent. The monastery garden is beautiful and quiet, especially in spring, when apple trees bloom. Numerous roads are deserted and well maintained, trees and flowers are pleasant to look at.

The whole appearance and destiny of Donskoy Monastery inspires awe and excites the hearts not only of the Orthodox, but also of representatives of other religions and atheists. Such an atmosphere of high spirituality is related to the fact that the brightest and darkest pages of Russian history were captured in this monastery. This is a great place for peaceful pacification. It is believed that the tall and thick walls of the monastery can protect the soul from the bustling outside world.

Video:

[/vc_column_text][vc_video link=”https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XCLcESEIAFM” el_width=”70″ align=”center”][/vc_column][vc_column width=”1/3″][vc_widget_sidebar sidebar_id=”siderbar-paginas”][/vc_column][/vc_row]

Lubianka Square with visit to the old KGB building

The building of the state security forces in Lubyanka (FSB building)

The building of the state security forces in Lubyanka is the main building of the state security forces of the RSFSR and the USSR in the period from 1919 to 1991. In different years, the headquarters of the Cheka, the NKVD, the OGPU and the KGB of the USSR were located here, now the building is occupied by the FSB of the Russian Federation.

The building occupies an entire block in Lubyanka and, in fact, is the result of the most radical restructuring and reconstruction of the existing building in its place.

In 1897-1902, according to the project of the architects Alexander Ivanov and Nikolai Proskurin, in the plots in front of Lubyanka Square and separated by Malaya Lubyanka Street, 2 apartment buildings were built in neoclassicism style with no barrel details by order of the Rossiya insurance company. Both buildings were rented as apartments and commercial premises.

After the Revolution, all private insurance companies were liquidated and their properties nationalized. Initially, the houses of the Rossiya insurance company were planned to be delivered to the Moscow Trade Union Council, however, in 1919 the buildings were delivered to the Central Office of Cheka (Extraordinary Commission of Russia to Combat Counterrevolution and Sabotage under the SNK of the RSFSR).

In addition to the houses of the Rossiya insurance company, the agency received several other buildings located in the quarter. From that moment, the complex became the home of the state security organs; subsequently, the buildings in Lubyanka were used only by the successive departments of Cheka: OGPU, NKVD, MGB and NKGB, KGB.

Soon, the covered special services apparatus demanded the expansion of the facilities, and in 1928-1933 of the Furkasovsky Lane, a W-shaped building was erected in the building (which was built on 2 floors between the box), built according with the design of Arkady Langman and Ivan Bezrukov in the style of constructivism.

This turned out to be insufficient, and in 1939, by order of the department, Alexey Shchusev presented a new expansion project, which provides for the integration of existing buildings and places them under a single facade from Lubyanka Square. Part of Malaya Lubyanka at the same time became the courtyard of the complex.

The war prevented the implementation of the new project, and returned to its implementation in 1944, and the complete reconstruction of the building took almost 40 years: its right side was rebuilt in 1944-1947, and the left side was completed only in 1986, all this time the building had an asymmetrical appearance.

The unique facade of the updated complex has been resolved on a larger scale than the facades of the Rossiya insurance company buildings and looks less decorative, however, it does not lack elegance: the lower floors are finished with gray granite, the floors The upper ones are yellowish and decorated with pilasters. There are clocks at the top of the building, in addition, medallions and bas-reliefs with Soviet symbols are placed in different places on the facade.

Being the headquarters of the State security organs of the RSFSR and the USSR from the Cheka to the KGB, the building in Lubyanka finally gained a bad reputation and became a symbol of the Soviet repression, making the name of the place in Lubyanka In a familiar word.

Since the 1920s, an internal prison has been located here, where prisoners remained suspected of crimes against the Soviet regime. Opinions are expressed that executions were carried out in the basements of the building, in cases where the prisoner was sentenced to death, but this is not known with certainty; On the roof, according to a common urban legend, there was a patio for walking. In 1961, the interior prison was closed and turned into a dining room, and new rooms were made for employees from the cells.

The fame associated with the complex in Lubyanka was also expressed in folklore. For example, in the Soviet years, people used the following joke: “What is the tallest building in Moscow? In Lubyanka, from its roof you can see Siberia and Kolyma.”

Today the building belongs to the state security bodies of the Russian Federation, the FSB is located in it, however, it is no longer the main service building: this paper passed to the gray building, built in the 1980s in the opposite side of the street.

The state security agency building in Lubyanka is located in Bolshaya Lubyanka 2 (overlooking Lubyanka Square). You can reach it on foot from the metro station “Lubyanka” Sokolnicheskaya line.

One of the most beautiful and sinister buildings in Bolshaya Lubyanka was built in 1898 for the largest insurance company “Russia”.

The insurance company acquired the land for the construction in 1894 of the landowner N.S. Mosolova Then, with the permission of the authorities, all the old buildings were demolished and the architect A.V. He took his place. Ivanov (the author of the National and Baltschug hotels), in collaboration with N. M. Proskurnin and V. A. Velichkin, built a new five-story building for rent.

There were turrets on the roof of the house, and two female figures symbolizing Justice and Consolation decorated the central clock tower. A second house was built on Malaya Lubyanka Street in 1900-1902 in a common style with the first building. The author of the project was A.V. Ivanov The premises of both buildings were leased. The first two floors were occupied by several shops and banks, while the rest were apartments.

In 1918, when all insurance companies were liquidated and their properties and real estate nationalized, the Bolshaya Lubyanka building was transferred to the Moscow Trade Union Council, but in a few days the Extraordinary Commission of all Russia was moved. Until 1991, the former apartment building of the Rossiya insurance company remained the main building of the State security organs of the RSFSR and the USSR.

At the end of the 20s, the department expanded, which required an increase in space. A new building in the style of constructivism appeared in 1932-1933. The building, designed by architects A. Ya. Langman and Bezrukov, was attached to the house of the OGPU. At the same time, the main building was built on two floors. The next reconstruction was designed by architect A.A.

Shchuseva passed in 2 stages. The reconstruction and reconstruction of the right side of the building with the development of Malaya Lubyanka lasted from 1944 to 1947. The building acquired its modern appearance only in 1983, after the next reconstruction carried out according to the idea of ​​Shchusev.

Due to the location of the KGB building in Lubyanka Square, its name began to be associated with KGB structures and security services.

For a long time there was a monument in the square to the founder of the Cheka / GPU Felix Dzerzhinsky. But after the fall of Soviet power, the sculpture was transferred to the Art Park near the Crimea bridge. Closer to the Polytechnic Museum building, another monument was erected for victims of political repression. This stone was brought from the Solovetsky Islands, places of exile and conclusions.

The Federal Security Service currently owns not only this most important house in the square, but also a series of other buildings in neighboring neighborhoods, where the FSB’s public reception is located, among others.

The word “Lubyanka” in the Soviet Union became a familiar word and for a long time had an ominous meaning. A lot of rumors, fables and secrets are associated with the building in Lubyanka. In Soviet times, he joked that the highest building in Moscow was the KGB in Lubyanka. As, from its windows, Siberia is visible

Lenin Mausoleum

Lenin´s Tomb

Lenin’s mausoleum is a large granite structure, the architecture of which reflects the style of the beginning of the last century. The grave collects long lines of tourists who have been waiting for a long time just to see this great Soviet historical figure. Since this attraction is only open for a few hours, a trip here must be planned in advance.

Tourists are attracted great location: next door is the Kremlin complex with the Savior, the Senate and Nikolskaya towers, the monument to Minin and Pozharsky, Okhotny Ryad, place of execution, St. Basil’s cathedral, Kazan cathedral , State History Museum.

opening hours and price

Lenin Mausoleum opening hours in 2019
In 2019, the leader’s grave can be visited according to the following calendar:

Tuesday, Wednesday, Thursday, Saturday, Sunday: 10:00 a.m. – 1:00 p.m.
The work schedule is changed periodically in connection with the closure of maintenance and body treatment, or with restoration work.

Ticket prices for Lenin’s mausoleum
There is no charge to enter Lenin’s Mausoleum!

In no case should you buy tickets, many try to make money from them. Such offers should be considered fraud.

The history

The debate over Lenin’s traditional funeral continues from the moment of his death and continues today. Many activists consider it inhumane to flaunt the deceased, while some call for the burial due to political beliefs and a change in the regime. Guests of the capital who are interested in visiting this attraction should not delay the trip to the mausoleum. As the question remains open, there is no guarantee that the grave will always be in the central plaza.

For the same political reasons, almost a century ago, the citizens of the USSR wanted to preserve the body of the first leader of the proletariat, to show it, thereby expressing their respect. Initially, the construction of the mausoleum was made of wood. The floor plan is still kept in the strictest confidence. In the first month after Lenin’s death, the mausoleum was visited by over a hundred thousand people and it was decided to replace it with a granite building. From then until now, the number of visitors is in the millions.

More details

In the history of the USSR, there was a case in which Lenin’s body left the mausoleum. In 1941, he was transported to Siberia when Moscow was in danger due to the Nazis. It was believed that the Nazis would destroy the symbol of the USSR. Maintaining the body has proven challenging over time.

Every eighteen months, Lenin’s body is removed from the sarcophagus and processed in a bath with chemical solutions. The level of temperature and humidity in the grave is strictly controlled so that the efforts of the caretakers of the body are not in vain and future generations can see such an important historical figure.

The body of Joseph Vissarionovich Stalin was placed in the same mausoleum after his death in 1953. However, later, in 1961, the former dictator was removed from the mausoleum and buried near the Kremlin wall along with other Union political figures. Soviet. This was done by order of Secretary General Nikita Sergeyevich Khrushchev, who sacredly honored Lenin’s covenants, but struggled with the cult of Stalin’s personality.

Today, the last restoration work was carried out in 2013. The flow of tourists remains stable throughout the year, including not only Russians, but also many foreigners. In the center of the capital, there are no problems with accommodation. Within walking distance there are many small cozy hotels and expensive trendy hotels with a direct view of the country’s main square.

How to enter Lenin’s mausoleum

Visitors can enter the mausoleum from the Alexander Garden. There is no admission fee, but opening hours are limited, hence the long lines. The line passes fast enough, because visitors to the tomb don’t stay long. The total waiting time, as a rule, does not take more than half an hour.

At the entrance you must go through the control point and the metal detector frame. In the Alexander Garden there is a paid luggage office where you can leave your personal belongings, such as bulky luggage and bulk bags, drinks and any liquids, photography and video equipment, telephones, metal objects that cannot be brought to the tomb.

Order and compliance are closely monitored, so it is unlikely that they will be able to photograph Vladimir Ilyich. Doing this is also not worth it because the camera or phone is removed immediately. The phone can only deposit in off mode.

How to get to the V.I. mausoleum Lenin

There are several ways to get to the main square, where the tomb is located:

Subway

The closest metro stations to the mausoleum are “Ploshchad Revolyutsii” on the Arbat-Pokrovskaya line, “Okhotny Ryad” on the Sokolnicheskaya line. You can go a little earlier and walk to the mausoleum on foot, as the center of the capital is full of attractions.

Ground transportation modes

The closest bus stop is called Red Square. Before buses number M5 and 158 leave. On the opposite side of the mausoleum within walking distance there is a ground transportation stop “Manezhnaya Square” with routes No. K, M1, M2, M3, M27, 144, 243. At night, buses N1 and H2 pass through there.

It is very convenient to use the Yandex.Taxi, Gett, Maxim and Uber mobile applications to call a taxi.

It is very easy to navigate in the same square, the grave of the leader of the world proletariat is located near the northeast wall of the Kremlin complex and seen from all sides of Red Square, it is impossible to get lost here.

Panoramic visit of Moscow architecture

Panoramic visit of Moscow architecture

Moscow is an almost omnivorous organism in architectural terms: it is impossible to imagine a new building that does not fit in its entirety with time, if such a word is, in principle, appropriate in this case. However, it does not follow that in Moscow’s past there are no concrete architectural styles that have had a great impact on the current city.

Baroque naryshkinsky

The first architectural style, organically connected precisely with Moscow and still partially forming, if not a visual image, a mental image of the city. The form of construction, which was established at the end of the 17th century in projects sponsored by the Naryshkins boyars, is not essentially baroque, but the imposition of some decorative techniques of Polish and Ukrainian baroque in the forms of traditional Russian architecture, but thanks to that, Peter’s baroque that soon emerged does not seem a completely strange element. in the history of domestic architecture. The main monuments of the Naryshkin baroque that have reached us are the bell tower of the Novodevichy convent, the Trinity church in Trinity-Lykovo and, first, the church of the intercession in FiliWith its perfectly preserved interior. Two of the most tragic losses of Moscow’s architecture can be attributed to this style: the great Assumption Church in Pokrovka and the Sukharev Tower, which had no analogues, at the intersection of the Garden Ring and the current Peace Avenue .

Moscow empire

“Old Moscow”, as we know it, this is the Moscow Empire of the 1810-30s. The Palladian integral ensemble of the late 18th century, the city of Matvey Kazakov’s “State and private buildings albums”, did not catch fire, of course, in 1812, but the general feeling of the old streets of Moscow is now precisely determined for the buildings after the fire and perestroika, the buildings of Domenico Gilardi and Osip Bove. The French Empire, in the style of the First Empire of Napoleon Bonaparte, is refracted in them through a slightly provincial prism of the tradition of northern Italy and purely local.

The most striking examples of this address are the old building of the Moscow State University in the work of Mokhovaya de Gilardi and the First Town Hospital works of Beauvais, but a pedestrian that walks in the quiet corners of Moscow of its cozy porticoes of order , relief sockets and friezes are found in almost every step.

Art Nouveau of Moscow

Part of the pan-European coup in decorative art: new motifs and new materials replaced the boring forms of eclecticism and academism. What does not deny the eclecticism of Moscow’s Art Nouveau itself: in its buildings there are forms of romanticism from the north, the Vienna Secession and the French Art Nouveau.

Like all the regional plots of this trend, Moscow Art Nouveau strived to create a “hezamtkunstververk”, a single work of architecture, design, sculpture and painting, and therefore it was affordable only for the richest clients: It is not without reason that it is often called “merchant.” The architects Lev Kekushev and Fedor Shekhtel brilliantly embodied the tastes of representatives of industrial dynasties, but the interiors of these mansions are often inaccessible to the general public, since the residences of foreign ambassadors are now in them . As consolation remains Gorki House Museum in the Ryabushinsky mansion built by Shekhtel and its Yaroslavsky station.

Constructivism

The brightest direction of Soviet architecture of the 1920s and early 1930s, which more fully expressed the ideals of the first post-revolutionary period in its buildings. The Vesnin brothers, Ilya Golosov, Konstantin Melnikov and their colleagues professed the principle of conformity of the architectural solution of the proposed function, common to European functionalism, but in their declared desire to expose the structural basis of the building (hence the term) they achieved an artistic expression that was rare for European modernism.

The fact that the impulse to the non-totally voluntary transformation of human life was characteristic of both modernism and the proletarian revolution also played a role. Despite the often very low quality materials with which constructivist buildings were built for economic reasons, many of them have survived to this day. Zuevsky Club in Lesnaya (Golosov), ZIL Culture Palace in the metro station ” Avtozavodskaya “(Vesniny) and Rusakov club in Stromynka (Melnikov). Recently, the most esoteric masterpiece of constructivism is available to visit: Melnikov’s private house on Krivoarbatsky Lane, but only five people are allowed per day.

Stalin Empire

The conventional name for the latest version of the eclecticism of the Stalin period, in which large-scale and magnificent socialist urbanism was combined with elements of classicism, baroque and art deco. Its distinctive features are the richness of decoration, the exaggeration of details such as cornices and arches, the mastery of form over function and a strong narrative principle, sustained in the spirit of socialist realism: here are all these bas-reliefs with athletes, weaver statues, sheaves and crowns. It is this style that determines the first impression (and generally the strongest) that modern Moscow causes in a visitor.

The style of the Stalin Empire is the ceremonial development of Tverskaya Street, the seven skyscrapers and the most popular Moscow metro stations for tourists. The last circumstance makes the masterpieces of this style the most accessible to visit. In the main building of the Moscow State University, attend a performance at the Army Theater or fool the janitors at the entrances of a skyscraper in Kotelnicheskaya.

Late Soviet Modernism

Although Khrushchev and Brezhnev’s reign is, in the first place, the time of the construction of thousands and thousands of standard panel buildings that filled the entire post-Soviet space, many non-serial buildings were also constructed. In Moscow, late Soviet modernism is represented by quite different structures ranging from the vitality of the 60s in the Central Pioneer Palace to the massive solemnity of the early 80s in the memorial complex on Poklonnaya Hill, but the most important monument Remarkable in the city of these years refers to the Soviet version “international style”. This is a series of residential and office skyscrapers of the New Arbat built by Mikhail Posokhin Sr., according to legend, designed to recreate in Moscow the silhouette of Havana that Khrushchev liked so much. The iconic interiors of that era can be seen going to a concert in the Kremlin Congress Center or an exhibition in the new building of the Tretyakov Gallery in Krymsky Val.

Luzhkov postmodernism

The last architectural direction, which seriously affects the appearance of modern Moscow. In the 1990s, the metropolis underwent an almost instantaneous historical transformation from the capital of the late socialist empire to the center of oligarchic capitalism, and the material component of this revolution was provided by the Moscow construction complex, which was personally administered by Yuri Mikhailovich Luzhkov personally (mayor of the city from 1992 to 2010). In the architectural sense, the basic principles of Luzhkov’s architecture became the priority of investors’ interests over all other considerations, the postmodern game as a protest against Soviet modernity, an environmental approach (that is, the idea of preserve some completely random features of old buildings in new projects) and the idea that there was a special “spirit of Moscow”, which, on closer inspection, generally turned out to be a whim of a sincerely loving turret of a small tyrant

The history of art has not yet identified true masterpieces among the buildings of this period (and, as always, they are likely to be found), so far only its strongest examples can be listed: Sergei Tkachev’s egg house in Mashkov Lane, designed by Mikhail Posokhin Jr., the Vishnevskaya Galina Opera Center in Ostozhenka and the new Voentorg Vladimir Kolos Nitsyn in Vozdvizhenka.

Tretyakov Galery

Tretyakov Galery

The Tretyakov Gallery is a complex of historical museums in the center of Moscow, which has one of the largest collections of Russian painting in the world.

The permanent exhibition of the gallery is in several buildings. The Tretyakov Gallery preserves, explores and popularizes Russian art: it provides ample access to renowned masterpieces of painting.
Prices in the Tretyakov Gallery 2019
Lavrushinsky Lane (main exhibition + temporary exhibitions): for adults – 500 rubles, preferential – 250 rubles.

Integrated entrance (Main building + Engineering building): for adults – 800 rubles, preferential – 300 rubles;
New Tretyakov Gallery in Krymsky Val (exhibition “Art of the twentieth century” and some temporary exhibitions): for adults – 500 rubles, preferential – 250 rubles.
For children (all visitors under 18 years old) the entrance to the Tretyakov Gallery is free.

the history

The gallery was founded in 1856. It was then that the collector and philanthropist Pavel Mikhailovich Tretyakov first acquired the work of Russian painters: paintings by V. G. Khudyakov and N. G. Shilder.

Citizens for the first time were able to see Tretyakov’s widely expanded collection in 1867: a gallery of the Tretyakov brothers opened in Zamoskvorechye, in which there were more than 1800 exhibits, of which 1276 paintings.

As a gift to the city of Moscow, Pavel Mikhailovich donated his art gallery in 1892. By that time, the collection had expanded to more than 1900 pieces of art.

The gallery is now in the house acquired by the Tretyakov family in 1851. Over time, new buildings were added to the mansion for a constant replacement collection. The beautiful facade of the gallery was created by architect V.N. Bashkirov according to the drawings of the artist V.M. Vasnetsov, and its construction from 1902 to 1904 was directed by A.M. Kalmykov

The complex was named “Tretyakov State Gallery” in 1918. The most important source of resupply of the collection in the early Soviet years was the then created State Museum Fund. In later years, the gallery was completed and received new sites: the house of the merchant Sokolikov, the church of St. Nicholas in Tolmachi. During World War II, the exhibition was evacuated to Novosibirsk and Perm (at that time – Molotov). On May 17, 1945, the Tretyakov Gallery reopened its doors in Moscow. In 1980-1992, the expansion of the exhibition area continued; The Engineering Building was built south of the main building. The art gallery in Krymsky Val became part of the Tretyakov Gallery in 1985.

The main museum exhibition is in two buildings: the historic one in Lavrushinsky Lane and the new one in Krymsky Val.

Main building

More than 1300 works of art are constantly presented in the historic building of the gallery: these are works by Russian painters of the eleventh and twentieth centuries. There are constantly alternative exhibitions of narrow themes in the building: drawings, graphics, paintings from the Tretyakov Gallery and other large museums are exhibited.

Currently, the building of this art gallery houses the “20th century art” collection. Along with the permanent exhibition, temporary exhibitions dedicated to artists and individual tendencies are held, jubilee collections and materials on revolutionary years are exhibited.

Engineering building

The building, located next to the historic gallery, is used as a platform for temporary exhibitions, conferences and film screenings.

Cultural Center in Tolmachi

It is located next to the current church of St. Nicholas in Tolmachi, which is also part of the Tretyakov Gallery complex. In addition to the exhibition space, the cultural center houses a conference room and a creative studio. For visitors, this gallery area is open for events.

V.M. House Museum Vasnetsov

The house “teremok” was built according to the author’s sketches, the exhibition is an original interior and works on fairytale themes.

The landscape painter lived in this apartment from 1903 to 1933. The memorial museum houses conferences, literary and musical nights.

The sculptor Anna Semenovna Golubkina lived in a one-story mansion between 1910 and 1927. In the museum-workshop created in 1934, it was possible to preserve the atmosphere of an artistic studio of the early twentieth century. The exhibition is a workplace, sculptor tools and his works donated by the Golubkin family as a gift to the state.

The memorial museum is located in the workshop, where from 1934 to 1967 the artist, restorer Pavel Dmitrievich Korin, author of the series “Outgoing Rus”, portraitist and creator of mosaic panels for the Moscow Metro lived and worked.

Paintings

The museum complex funds include more than 180,000 works of art from different eras and addresses.

The richest collection of Russian icon painting of the eleventh – seventeenth centuries, which now has the gallery, was formed primarily in the Soviet years.

The permanent exhibition of the art of ancient Russia and the painting of icons can be found in the halls No. 56 – 62. Here you can see the works of the greatest icon painters, especially Theophanes the Greek, Dionysus, Simon Ushakov and Andrei Rublev .

Contemporary art, 20th century

A collection of contemporary art: more than 5000 works: from abstract painting from the postwar years to the most significant works of art of the 2000s.

The main addresses and sections:

Abstraction
Cynicism and optical art,
Mystics and surrealists,
New realism
Pop Art
Minimalism and post-painting abstraction,
Sots Art
Conceptualism is an image in the head,
Poetry and writing,
performance
Comprehension machines
Neo-expressionism,
Conceptualism is a new generation,
Archeology of postmodernism.
The actionism of the 1990s,
Project: art of the 2000s.
Famous artists: Kukryniksy (M.V. Kupriyanov, P.N. Krylov, N.A. Sokolov), I.E. Record, P.P. Konchalovsky, Vl. A. Serov, N.V. Tomsky, S.D. Merkurov and others.

Exhibitions in the Tretyakov Gallery

In the main building and on the sites of the Tretyakov Gallery, along with a permanent exhibition, there are always several interesting temporary exhibitions of various themes, from showing the works of an artist to collections of portraits and historical paintings dedicated to the city or a place significant. In addition, visitors to the exhibitions have the opportunity to see exhibits of the collections of other museums.

Each year, the gallery participates in the international “Museum Night” campaign: it prepares a rich special program with master classes, express excursions and a concert. You can visit the site and branches of the museum on this day until 23:00 or until midnight (the schedule is different, you must specify it in the “Museum Nights” program). A similar tradition has developed in the “Night of the Arts”.

The events of the gallery are not limited to this: every year new interesting projects are launched, festivals and events of local museums are held.

Event Poster

The gallery staff makes tourist visits, talks about individual periods and addresses, and also accompanies school groups. The excursion service is provided by prior reservation, for any group and individually.

Information about excursions on the Tretyakov Gallery website

How to get

Below, details about transport to the main exhibition sites.

Metro to the Tretyakov Gallery

It is more convenient to reach the Tretyakov Gallery on Lavrushinsky Lane by subway, the Tretyakovskaya station, the orange line (Kaluga-Riga) and the yellow line (Kalininskaya). You can also reach the Polyanka metro station (gray line – Serpukhov-Timiryazevskaya), from which 700 meters are on foot.

The new Tretyakov Gallery is located in the territory of the Muzeon complex, located between the Park Kultury metro stations (Sokolnicheskaya and brown Koltsevaya red lines) and Oktyabrskaya (Koltsevaya and Kaluga-Riga orange lines).

Interactive scheme of the Moscow metro (Yandex. Metro)
Buses
The appropriate land transport to the main building (Lavrushinsky Lane) is the M5 bus to the Tretyakovskaya metro stop, the M6 ​​bus and trolleybus number 8 to the Bolshaya Yakimanka stop.

By land transport, to the New Tretyakov Gallery (Krymsky Val) you must arrive at the Gorki Park stop (bus routes – B, t10).

Pushkin Museum

Direction:
Pushkin Museum – Moscow, ul. Little Wolf 12

Metro station:
Kropotkinskaya

The Pushkin Museum (officially called Pushkin State Museum of Fine Arts) is one of the largest collections of rare paintings, sculptures, drawings and archeological objects in the world. The collections of the Pushkin Museum are considered invaluable cultural, historical and artistic heritage.

In the funds of the Pushkin Museum. Pushkin has more than 700 thousand exhibits; Only 1.5% of the total collection is displayed in the halls. The museum complex includes several buildings in the center of the capital: the main building, the art gallery of Europe and America of the 19th and 20th centuries. , S. Richter Museum-Apartment, Department of Private Collections and Museum Museum.

Most of the exhibits are in the Main Building, built by architects R. Klein and I. Rerberg in the early 19th century. A large house with a majestic colonnade and a glass roof is listed as an architectural monument of national importance.
At the source of the Pushkin Museum was the famous Russian archaeologist, scientist and teacher I.V. Tsvetaev In 1893, he turned to the Moscow authorities with a proposal to create a public museum based on the collection of the Cabinet of Antiquities of the University of Moscow. Tsvetaev proposed to create exhibitions that reflect key stages in art formation from ancient times to the present. The museum opened in May 1912, Ivan Vladimirovich became its first director.

The base of the collections were replicas of ancient statues and real artifacts acquired by the administration of the institution of Egyptologist V. Golenishchev. The museum’s funds were gradually replenished: many paintings were donated by philanthropists, purchased at auctions and came from other collections. After the revolution, the warehouse is replenished due to the values ​​confiscated from the representatives of the aristocracy.

Today, the Pushkin Museum is a world-class cultural center, which hosts scientific conferences, debates, exhibitions, classical and organ music concerts, presentations, creative meetings, film shows, master classes, missions.

The museum carries out a great scientific work, equips archaeological expeditions, collaborates with specialized educational institutions and is dedicated to teaching children.

Permanent exhibitions
Painting

All the exhibitions in the “Painting” room are distributed by the dates of the creation of a particular canvas, as well as in relation to an art school or address. The first exhibitions date back to the Byzantine period of European art. These are mainly icon painting works.

The primitive painting of Western Europe is represented by a unique collection of Italian artists who belong to the direction of the so-called “primitives”.

In 1948, the Pushkin Museum received a collection of the Museum of the New Western Art dissolved, which included canvases of prominent French painters of the 19th and 20th centuries.

In the Painting room, visitors will see original paintings by P. Gauguin, M. Pepein, O. Vernet, P. Elle, D. Pittoni, G. Kraus, L. Giordano, V. Vershure, J. de Trois and many others.

Among the masterpieces stored in the Pushkin Museum: “Lady at the Window” by A. Toulouse-Lautrec, “Hercules and Omfala” by F. Boucher, “Red Vineyards in Arles” and “Prisoners’ Walk” by Vincent Van Gogh, “Capuchin Boulevard in Paris” and “Breakfast in the grass” by Claude Monet, “Pierrot and Harlequin” by Paul Cezanne and others.

A special place in the exhibition is occupied by Pablo Picasso’s collection of paintings: these are eleven paintings, including the famous painting “Girl on the Ball”, which became the artist’s business card.

Graphics

The Pushkin Museum houses one of the richest graphic collections in the world, which includes 20 thousand engravings belonging to Tsar Alexander II, Japanese prints from the personal collection of S. Kitaev, Rembrandt’s works from the N. Mosolov collection, Russian prints belonging to D. Rovinsky and etc.

The museum stores more than 380 thousand prints and drawings. The exhibition presents the most famous works of great masters: Rubens, Matisse, Picasso, Durer, Callot, Renoir and many others.

The pride of the museum is a collection of graphics by Salvador Dali from the Fausto series, Hippies, Surreal Tavromahiya, Mythology.

Sculpture

The collection of sculptures of the Pushkin Museum includes works by prominent Western European masters: Clodion, Rodin, Lemoine, Mayol, Bourdelle; 16th century wooden statues. samples of ancient Egyptian, Greek and Roman ancient sculptures; sculptures of modern national and foreign authors.

The permanent exhibition includes two courtyards: Greek and Italian. These are spacious rooms in which exact molds of the most famous statues of the ancient Hellas and the Roman Empire are placed. The Greek courtyard is similar to the Acropolis of Athens, here life-size Parthenon columns are installed, copies of the famous sculptures of Phidias: “Athena Parthenos”, “Zeus”, “Wounded Amazon”, “Nika”, etc.

Statue “Discus Ball” of the Museum of Fine Arts that bears the name of Pushkin

The Italian courtyard is an exact copy of one of the levels of the Florentine palace of Bargello. It attracts attention with equestrian statues: a copy of the Gattamelate monument by Donatello and the sculpture by condottier Colleoni de Verroccu. Here you can see the exact cast of the Freiberg portal, a copy of the St. Zebald crab, bronze statues of medieval knights.

At the entrance to the Italian courtyard, visitors are welcomed by the most famous cast of the museum, their business card is an exact copy of the statue of David by Michelangelo.

From the Italian and Greek courtyards, visitors enter the hall of ancient Egypt. Here archaeological oddities, original sculptures and sarcophagi are presented. The Pushkin Museum collection is considered the best collection of ancient Egyptian art in Russia. Visitors will see the sarcophagus and mummy of the priest Khor Ha, the golden sarcophagus of Mahu, the statues of Amenhotep and his wife, Queen Rannai, relief of Isi’s treasure and other valuable relics of world culture.

A particularly valuable display is the statue of Pharaoh Amenemkhet III era of the Middle Kingdom (1853 BC). Countless books and monographs are dedicated to this unique work of art. Scientists and tourists from all over the world come to see the statue.

The famous “Gold of Troy” is stored in the art room of the Old East – artifacts found by Heinrich Schliemann in the city of Troy, which has long been considered Homer’s invention. These are gold jewelry, plates, helmets, figurines.

The Antique Hall contains genuine works of ancient Greek and Roman art: bas-reliefs, sarcophagi, vases, busts, paintings, books and much more.

Danilov Monastery

Danilov Monastery

Contenido del articulo

Metro station:
Tula

The oldest monastery in Moscow was founded in 1282 by St. Blgv. Prince Daniil of Moscow, the first temple was dedicated to St. Daniel Stolpnik. In 1330, Grand Duke John Kalita transferred the brothers of the monastery to the Kremlin; and the old buildings of the Danilov monastery gradually became desolation. In 1560, the monastery was renovated by Tsar Ivan the Terrible. In 1561, St. Macario, Metropolitan of Moscow, consecrated the first stone church on behalf of the Holy Fathers of the Seven Ecumenical Councils (the first church with such consecration in the Ecumenical Church), in 1652 the relics of St. Blgv. Prince daniel

On the second floor. 17th century The monastery was surrounded by stone walls with eight towers, the old cathedral was demolished after the ruin and a new two-story church was built in its place. Heavily rebuilt in 1729, it has survived to this day. In 1752, a tower with a church of San Pr. It was built on its western porch. Daniel Stolpnik

In the nineteenth-twentieth centuries. In the monastery there was a charity house for the elderly clergy and the widows of the clergy, one of the oldest cemeteries in Moscow was located in the territory of the monastery. Here many Church hierarchies, as well as figures of Russian culture like A.S., found their last resting place. Khomyakov, N.V. Gogol, N. Yazykov, Yu.F. Samarin, V.G. Perov, N.G. Rubinstein and others.

On the right bank of the Moscow river, a short distance from the Tulskaya metro station, is the impressive Danilov Monastery.

It was founded in 1282 by the Prince of Moscow Danila Alexandrovich, the pious son of Alexander Nevsky. The name of the church comes from the name of its patron, the holy pillar of Daniel. Nine years after the foundation, the temple was almost completely demolished during the Tartar attack. The monastery found its ancient greatness during the reign of Ivan the Terrible. He ordered the construction of towers and stone walls, which became a significant barrier for enemies. But in 1610 the temple was again damaged by artillery bombardment by False Dmitry II.

The humble abode was not spared from the war of 1812. Then, the Danilov Monastery was not destroyed, but was looted, and in the desert territory they organized warehouses and slaughter for cattle. During the difficult Russian-Turkish war, a hospital was equipped here. But, in spite of all these problems, the sacred place was rebuilt every time, and under the vaults of the church, the prayers began to ring again to send peace and prosperity to the Russian soil.

After the revolution, the priests lived in the monastery of Danilov among exiles, who did not abandon their faith in favor of the new authorities. In 1930, the monastery was completely closed and the NKVD insulator was placed in its territory. Later, the temple passed from one institution to another. In 1982, shortly before his death, Brezhnev signed a historic decree on the transfer of the church to the clergy. Ambitious restoration work was carried out, and in 1988 the celebration of the millennium of the Baptism of Rus took place here. Now in the monastery is the residence of the Patriarch of Moscow and all of Russia.

In the Danilov monastery there is an ancient necropolis. In this venerated cemetery, the ashes of the representatives of the Russian aristocracy and the prominent figures of Russian history are buried or buried again. These are entire dynasties of Volkonsky, Vyazemsky, Golitsyn, Goncharov, Meshchersky, as well as individuals: the writer Gogol and the poet of Languages, Slavophile Samarin and the scientist Venelin, the artist Perov and the local historian Havsky. Many names that left a deep mark on the history of our country can be read in tombstones.

Every year, on the last Sunday of September, in the old bell tower of the Danilov monastery, the festival of Russian bells begins. The most skilled leaders of Russia participate in it. The magical bells that cleanse the soul that extend in this sacred place leave an unforgettable sensation, tears of joy reach the eyes of many listeners.

There is an unusual sanctuary in the temple: the shoe of San Spyridon de Trimifuna. He rests under the icon of this righteous man. This is the only material thing that has been preserved from a righteous elder.

The territory of the monastery is well maintained, all the buildings are of high quality restoration and are kept in perfect order. They are of great historical and architectural value. Walking here is a pleasure, such walks relieve all stress and improve mood.

Formally, the monastery was closed in 1918, but monastic life in the monastery continued until 1930. From 1917 to 1930, the rector of the Danilov monastery was Bishop Theodore (Pozdeevsky), around which laymen and clerics who did not accept No innovation in the life of the church. After the closure in 1931 and until 1983, the monastery housed a colony for juvenile delinquents.

In May 1983, the monastery was returned to the Church; In five years it was rebuilt, two new churches were built, as well as a epaulet and a memorial chapel. In 1988, the monastery was one of the centers that celebrated the 1000th anniversary of the Baptism of Russia.

The houses of the monastery: the Patriarchal Residence and synodal, the Department of External Relations of the Church, the Danilovsky hotel complex was built next to the monastery.

Temples and Chapels

Church of the Holy Fathers of the Seven Ecumenical Councils. The thrones of the upper church – Saint Fathers of the Seven Ecumenical Councils, chapels – st. blgv. Prince Daniel of Moscow and St. Princes Boris and Gleb; the throne of the lower temple: the intercession of the Blessed Virgin Mary and the prophet Daniel; on the western porch – prp. Daniel Stolpnik;
Holy Trinity Cathedral. The throne in honor of the Holy Trinity, side chapels – Conception of rights. Anne, St. Alexy, a man of God, in the basement: the Nativity of John the Baptist (1833-1838, architect O.I. Beauvais);
Temple of San Puerta Simeon Stolpnik, in the bell tower (late 17th century. Restored in 1984-1988);
Temple of Saint Seraphim of Sarovsky in the basement of the hospital building (since the late 19th century – a chapel, since 1988 – a temple);
the church of All Saints, which shone on the Russian land, in the synodal residence of His Holiness the Patriarch (1988);
shchmch temple. Kiev Vladimir and the new martyrs and confessors of Russia met;
cantilever chapel (1988, architect Yu.G. Alonov);
Memorial chapel (1988, architect Yu.G. Alonov).

Sanctuaries

Cancer with a particle of relics of San blgv. Prince Daniel Icon of St. blgv. Prince Daniel with a particle of his relics; Ark with a particle of relics Nicholas the Wonderworker; Vladimir Icon of the Mother of God “with an acatico” (16th century); Cancer with the relics of St. George (Lavrov), confessor of Danilovsky; prp icon Seraphim of Sarovsky with a particle of his relics, part of his mantle and rosary.
Danilov Monastery – Moscow, ul. Danilovsky Val, 22

Moscow Circus

CIRCUS IN VERNADSKY

The Great Moscow State Circus on Vernadsky Avenue is the largest stationary circus in Europe. The capacity of the optical boxes is more than 3300 places, the height of the dome is 26 meters. It has five quick change arenas: horse, ice, water, illusion and light. A separate test arena is found in the section behind the stage. Located in Moscow at the intersection of Vernadsky Avenue and Lomonosov Avenue. The nearest metro station is Universitet. Circus address: Vernadsky Avenue, 7. Since the 1950s, the population of Moscow has increased markedly, the capital has become the center of national and international tourism, and the city has needed new cultural objects, including a new circus .

One of the main specialists in the construction of circuses in the USSR was the architect Stepan Khristoforovich Satunts, according to the project of which a circus was already built for 2000 places in Tbilisi (1940). In 1952, his dissertation “Architecture of the Soviet circus (typological issues)” was published, where he analyzed in detail the experience of building national and foreign circuses since the 19th century.

About the circus

Between the outer deck and the suspended ceiling of the room there are grating levels with the ability to fix the equipment of the suspended stage at any point of the dome. The circus project included a series of technical innovations, namely: four film installations, xenon reflectors, speakers in the seatbacks, but the interchangeable pen system is considered the main original solution. The idea of ​​designing removable sands belongs to Georgy Semenovich Khromov (Honored Builder of Russia, awarded the State Prize of the USSR and the Prize of the Council of Ministers).

For construction, a site was chosen at the intersection of Vernadsky Avenue and Lomonosovsky Avenue in the Lenin Mountains (Vorobyov) at the site of a large wasteland cut by a ravine. Construction that began in 1964 was to be completed in 1967, but it was delayed for many years. The construction of the circus building was attended by up to ten construction departments.

The “Standard of Labor” factory was recognized as guilty of delaying construction time, which did not fix the dome roof panels in time. It was decided to complete and open the circus for the next date of the party. The first performances for builders took place in early April 1971, and the official inauguration took place on April 30, 1971. The first director was the ballet librettist, playwright, former director of the Kremlin Congress Center Peter Fedorovich Abolimov.

In recent years, the auditorium and the circus team have been modernized: LED ring screens were installed under the dome and around the arena, a data center was built and a DiGiCo SD5 digital mixer was installed. Since 2013, the Moscow International Circus Festival “IDOL” is held annually at the Great Moscow Circus.

The Moscow Circus on Vernadsky Avenue is one of the largest in the world. The members of the creative team are world-famous artists, the best masters of the circus industry: artists, directors, choreographers, winners in prestigious international circus festivals, honest artists from Russia, representatives of circus dynasties.

Circus repertoire

The stars of the performances at the Vernadsky circus at different times were Pencil, Oleg Popov, Irina Bugrimova, Yuri Nikulin, as well as Yevgeny Milayev and Leonid Kostyuk, who were the heads of the institution.

At the beginning of the 90s of the last century, a permanent company was organized and in every way became an independent creative organization. On the circus posters in Vernadsky there are names of foreign artists from China, Mongolia, Italy, Holland, Hungary, Sweden and other countries.

Each performance included in the circus program in Vernadsky are numbers with spectacular unique tricks, organized by true professionals. Interesting management decisions, the wonders of the formation, the great skill of the artists, the incredible costumes and landscapes are the components of an unforgettable show that impresses all the spectators, from small to large.

Artists are subject to any kind of circus and complex numbers. Throughout the years of existence of the circus, more than one hundred original programs have been presented, with which the company visited several countries of the world on tour.

The modern technical team of the circus and the five interchangeable arenas allow us to use innovative lighting and sound technologies, create magnificent shows and, again and again, surprise and admire the audience.

In the calendar of performances for next month at the Vernadsky circus you will surely find a show that will delight children and will not leave adults indifferent. Here you have vivid impressions and an excellent mood!

The address of the circus in Vernadsky and the nearest metro station.
The famous circus is located at: Vernadsky Avenue, 7.

It is located at the intersection of the Lomonosov and Vernadsky avenues. “University” is the closest metro station to the circus. From it to the building can be reached on foot.

How to get to the circus

The building has an excellent location. It is easy to reach the circus in Vernadsky both by subway and in various types of ground transportation. From the nearest metro station “Universitet” on the Sokolnicheskaya line, the trip to the circus takes about 5-6 minutes. Upon leaving, you must cross Lomonosov Avenue and follow the building along Vernadsky Avenue.

How to get to the circus on Vernadsky Avenue, any motorist will easily solve it, since it is located on one of the main highways in Moscow.

Room layout

The auditorium capacity of the Big Moscow Circus in Vernadsky is 3310 seats. Five rapidly changing circus arenas (illusion, light, horse, water, ice) are located at a depth of 18 m. There is also a separate test arena. From every place in the great auditorium, everything that happens under the dome and in the sand is clearly visible. In the scheme of a spacious circus hall in Vernadsky pr. 6 sectors Sectors A and E are located in front of the artists’ exit to the arena. Near the center of the front row, seats are considered the best, respectively, they cost more.

Before buying tickets, familiarize yourself with the location of the seats in the scheme of the hall of the famous circus in Vernadsky, select the sector and the row that interests you.

Young spectators under three years accompanied by adults attend shows for free. The driver at the entrance can request the baby’s birth certificate if there is any doubt about his age.

Moscow Cats Circus and Theater

 

  • A small introduction
    A little video
    General info

A small introduction

Contenido del articulo

The Russian circus in Moscow is an icon of Russian society, the Russian circus has always been avant-garde in its performances and has dedicated itself to making children around the world happy on their world tours.

Without a doubt, the Russian circus is a world reference, when talking about circuses in any conversation, the Russian circus will never be left behind. The Russian circus is characterized by the quality of its shows but also for working with amazing animals. Take advantage of your stay in Moscow with the family to visit this place of fun and entertainment.

Circo-ruso-moscu

The Kuklachov cat theater is very popular in Moscow, has very good reviews from Muscovites, is characterized by this innovative idea of, helped by cats that make adventures, make smiles and laugh at children and adults, this peculiar theater has Several times awarded prizes all over the world, it is the perfect place to end the day and enjoy a different show surrounded by comedy and fun.

The theater opened its doors for the first time on January 1, 1990.
The uniqueness of the Kuklachev Theater lies in the fact that everything that happens on stage is understandable to everyone, regardless of their nationality and age, since dialogue takes place in the language of feelings, and the language of feelings reveals the soul and gives the warmth of the heart to all.
In the Kuklachev Theater, the word “training” is missing. A cat is a proud and independent animal; It is impossible to do. The cat theater, the territory of love and kindness, only in an atmosphere with cats can create unusual numbers.

During the performance from the stage, in the auditorium, there is an energy of kindness and love.

Cat trials often take place at night, because the cat is a small predator, and in the dark they are more active. Let’s discover a little secret that you can try in your domestic cats: it all starts with the game. Tie a piece of hair or a bird’s feather on a rope, play with your pet and he will show you such skill that you will love. It is impossible to train a cat, but she perfectly feels love, attention and affection. For cats, performance is a game that brings joy.

For our cats, theater is life.

New projects in the cat theater

Cat theater has become the Temple of the Arts, the School of Goodness, created by Yuri Kuklachev, is open here. Before the presentation, you can go on excursions, learn about the history of the theater, get acquainted with the story of a domestic cat, as well as talk with tail artists and take pictures with them. For children and adults, RSFSR People’s Artist Yuri Kuklachev teaches master classes on the breeding of domestic cats.

And for school children, we carry out a “Journey to the magical world of cats”, where children learn to juggle, draw with sand, taste the art of pampering and understand that kindness is the main element of the spiritual world.

The famous cat theater under the direction of Yuri Kuklachev was created in 1990 and is located in the building of the old cinema “Call”, located in Kutuzovsky Prospekt. Yuri Kuklachev and his friends: photographers, designers and artists were able to create a unique and original world here, in which there is no war and hostility, discord and resentment.

In this circus theater, cats and dogs coexist beautifully together, and there is nothing for an adult to return to childhood and become a child again for a while, feeling peace and joy.

Today, the theater has two independent teams: one directed by Yuri Kuklachev and the other directed by Dmitry Kuklacheva. These compositions work alternately: when one goes on tour, the second remains in the theater and vice versa, therefore, the doors of the theater are always open to the most respected public, despite the numerous travel groups.

A tour around the world is taking place, because these lovely talented and fluffy artists look forward to every corner of the world. The Yuri Kuklachev Cat Theater has received numerous international awards, including the Gold Cup and the title “The most original theater in the world”, received during the Paris tour.

General information

Yuri Kuklachev is known not only as a representative of the funny clown genre, but also as a coach. He created the Cat Theater with miniatures of an act that have an acting character.

The Cats Theater of Yuri Kuklachev is located on the premises of the old “Call” cinema on Kutuzovsky Avenue. A team of like-minded people has become a welcoming world where they live perfectly: cats with a Gorovakov dog

The theater has two independent groups: Yuri Kuklachev and Dmitry Kuklachev. They work in theaters in a transversal way, therefore, despite numerous tours, the theater of practitioners Gary Geskiy 08/12/2019 8:36:10 OSD.RU

address:
Moscow, Kutuzovsky Prospect, m. 25
Metro Station: Kiev, Kutuzov
a stop on any transport to st. Dunaevsky (towards the center)

operation mode:
The box is open from 11:00 a.m. to 7:00 p.m.

The ticket reservation department is open from 11:00 a.m. to 6:00 p.m.
Price information:
Ticket price: from 500 to 2500 rubles.

Andronikov Monastery

Direction:
Spaso-Andronikov Monastery – Moscow, Andronievskaya Square, Building 10

Metro station:
Ilich square, roman

Not one of the oldest surviving cloisters in Moscow rises along the river. Yauza Spaso-Andronikov Monastery. After having existed for more than six and a half centuries, he saw many historical events and kept many secrets.

Today, a museum is located on the walls of the monastery, and church services are held in Spassky Cathedral. If we talk about the secret, the authentic burial place of icon painter Andrei Rublev is still unknown. Scientists have not yet discovered. Presumably, it was near the walls of Spassky Cathedral or at the site of the destroyed bell tower or necropolis.

The foundation of the monastery and the pages of its history.

The appearance of the Spaso-Andronikov Monastery is inextricably linked to the name of the Moscow metropolitan Alexy. The surviving tradition tells an episode that played an important role in the foundation of the monastery. On the road from Constantinople, the ship in which the lord was in a severe storm, St. Alexy prayed tirelessly and promised to erect a church in honor of the saint, venerated by the church the day the ship arrives safely on land.

The metropolitan did not take long to fulfill his vote, and in 1360 the monastery was founded, its rector was a student of Sergei Radonezhsky called Andronic. To found the monastery, the steep shore of Yauza was chosen at the confluence of the Golden Horn stream, the place where the important routes to the Golden Horde and Constantinople passed. This strategic position played an important role for the monastery in the historical and military events of Russia.

Dmitry Donskoy’s squadrons passed their walls to fight in the Kulikovo camp. Here they also met warriors from the battlefield. The warriors led by Prince Vasily Dmitrievich went to battle with Tamerlan on the same route.

The monastery had to survive the invasion of the troops of Khan Tokhtamysh and Devlet-Girey, the Polish troops and no ruin. After the raids and destruction, the monastery was rebuilt from the ashes again, grew, rebuilt

In Soviet times, the monastery was threatened with demolition. But despite all the ups and downs of history, as well as thanks to the efforts of architect and restorer P. Baranovsky and artist I. Grabar, who tried to preserve the Spaso-Andronikov Monastery, he survived. Although part of the buildings was still destroyed. This destination fell on the bell tower of the door, was dismantled in the 30s of last century, the necropolis, which was the eternal resting place of many famous noble families, was also destroyed.

In 1947, the Spaso-Andronikov monastery acquired the reserve status and the preserved buildings were included in the architectural complex:

Spassky Cathedral, built in 1420, is considered the oldest stone church outside then Moscow. Icon painter Andrei Rublev participated in the painting of the cathedral. Today you can only see a small part of the fragments of grass ornaments left on the altar, the remaining frescoes died in a fire in 1812.

Church consecrated in the name of Archangel Michael. On the initiative of Tsarina Evdokia, the construction of a three-level church began in the 90s of the 17th century. However, the queen’s misfortune and exile affected the suspension of work, and only in 1739 the church was consecrated. The temple was restored in 1960, it houses the family tomb of the Lopukhins.

The building of the fraternal building built in 1763.

At the beginning of the 19th century, a building was built for a religious school in the territory of the monastery.

In 1960, a museum of ancient Russian culture and art was opened in the territory of the monastery. The exhibition is located in the restored part of the Refectory and the Church of the Archangel Michael. The abbot’s building is reserved for the exhibition hall.

The museum’s collection includes thousands of works of ancient and applied Russian art. This collection of icon paintings, the rarest copies of manuscripts and old books, articles of church utensils, copies of murals belonging to Theophanes the Greek, Andrei Rublev, Dionysius and many other oddities.

Tsaritsino Park

Thousands of tourists come to Moscow annually from all over the country and from abroad. But what can a tourist see in Moscow and where to go to a local resident? Contrary to popular belief, the tourist Moscow does not end with the Kremlin, but begins with it. Moscow has many wonderful and amazing places to walk. Tsaritsyno is one of those places. You can come here as part of a day trip, just take a walk on a warm summer afternoon or visit the part of the Tsaritsyno museum if you want to admire the farm not only outside but also inside. The Tsaritsyno Park is considered a conservation area, so several rules apply to its territory, which must be observed by the visitor.

 

The natural wonder in the urban heart of Moscow

The entrance to the Tsaritsyno park is prohibited with animals and bicycles. The rules of behavior in the park can be studied in detail on the official website of the Tsaritsyno Museum Reserve. How to get to Tsaritsyno Two metro stations Tsaritsyno and Orekhovo are located right next to the Tsaritsyno park. And if in the case of the park in Kolomenskoye it is not so important where to start exploring the territory, then with Tsaritsyno this approach will not work. Like a theater that begins with a hanger, it is better to enter Tsaritsyno Park through the main entrance, if you do not go up to the theater through the back door, it will also take you, but what about the red carpet? The main entrance to the Tsaritsyno park is next to the Tsaritsyno metro station. From the station you must pass under the railway bridge and here we are. But after inspecting the entire territory, you can leave Tsaritsyno from Orekhovo station, which is very close to the park exit. The park’s territory is so large that after a walk in the park and visiting the museum’s force exhibits to return to the Tsaritsyno metro station, it may not remain. Through the door, as if you were in a fairy tale.

History of Russian royalty in the park of Moscow

The entrance to the park separates us from reality and from the bustling metropolis takes us to the 18th century. Of course, this is a way of speaking, and you still do not understand how the flower beds do not understand at what age the time machine moved us, it will be recognized later when we arrive at the Tsaritsyno palace and park complex. Meanwhile, a nice snack. Before our eyes we see a beautiful composition in the form of the Tsaritsino Medio pond with a small, horseshoe-shaped bulk island, where the source of light and music is located.

Two bridges lead to the fountain, and benches are installed around the fountain so that at night you can comfortably enjoy the beauty of the illuminated water jets. In the afternoon, the heat is very difficult to find in the sun, and there is no vegetation near the source, but the shade of the trees is sufficient around the pond. We turn the pond to the right, so that the Middle Tsaritsino pond remains to the left, and to the right the extension of the Upper Tsaritsino pond becomes visible. In this part of the pond there is a small island called Bird Island. There are two more islands in the upper Tsaritsyno pond, and the pond itself is very large, walking around will be problematic.

The upper and middle ponds are separated by a dam. Further on, on Vozdushnaya street, we go directly to the most interesting, to the whole palace and park Tsaritsyno. To get to Tsaritsyno Palace, you must pass under the Figured Bridge, or climb it, for this there is a nearby staircase. The figurative bridge is one of the first buildings in Tsaritsyno, and its architect was Vasily Bazhenov, who built for the Empress Catherine II this bridge and the entire palace complex.

The bridge was erected at the intersection of the main entrances of the Tsaritsyno estate, so it can be considered as a gate to the estate, and the intricate architecture gives it the appearance of a real defensive structure with towers and lagoons. The bridge has survived to this day almost intact, so when we look at it we see it exactly as Bazhenov planned and built it. To the left of the bridge is the building of the Third Cavalry Corps and the temple of the Icon of the Mother of God “Spring that gives life” in Tsaritsyno.

A beautiful Museum adorned with lakes, bridges and landscapes.

The first church on this site appeared in 1683, then the wooden building was replaced by a stone one. The temple was last rebuilt in 1765. A little further is the Great Bridge over the ravine. The construction of the Bolshoi bridge remained incomplete Bazhenov, the empress withdrew it from the construction of her residence before the bridge was completed. It was finished only in the 19th century. If we return to the Figured Bridge and walk to the right, then we surround the main palace, pass the Semicircular Palace and the Opera House, we will go to the Grape Gate. Initially, the door was called Curly.

The name Grape appeared in the twentieth century thanks to an intricate decoration that resembles a bunch of grapes hanging over the span of the door. The doors serve as a conditional boundary between the park area and the architectural ensemble. They also complete the current perspective between the large and medium bridges.

Well, after passing under the Figured Bridge we find ourselves in the amphitheater of the Tsaritsyno architectural complex. There are several foundations in front of the Grand Palace. To the right of the palace are the foundations of the Chamber-Yunfar Corps. And in front of the Grand Palace of Tsaritsino, the foundation of the Great Cavalry Corps, built by Bazhenov in 1784 and dismantled by Kazakov, the second architect of the Catherine Palace in 1795.

To the left of the Grand Palace is the First Cavalry Corps, built by Bazhenov himself. But the main pearl of the whole set is, without a doubt, the Grand Palace itself. Palace with a history of destruction. The Tsaritsyn whole project was approved, and in 1776 a grandiose construction began, which lasted for more than a decade. The project was difficult, Bazhenov even had to take loans in his own name to complete the construction. Catherine II examined the buildings in 1785 and her verdict was overwhelming for Bazhenov. The empress did not like the palace categorically. Catherine ordered the dismantling of the palace.

The new architect was named Matvey Kazakov, a student of Bazhenov, who dedicated himself to building a new palace. The construction was hard and long. Catherine II died in 1796, when the construction of the Tsaritsyno palace was completed at the project level. From this moment the story of the withering of the Tsaritsino Palace begins. The palace did not like any of the heirs of the throne, and the royal residence of Tsaritsino did not. The Grand Palace is connected to the House of Bread by a gallery with an arch. In front of the Bread House there is a monument to two architects who worked on the construction of the architectural complex Tsaritsyno Bazhenov and Kazakov.

Museum of Cosmonautics

The Memorial Museum of Cosmonautics is located in the basement. Monument to the Conquerors of Space. The museum was founded in 1964 in honor of the launch of the first artificial satellite on Earth. The museum was opened in 1981 for the 20th anniversary of Yu.A. Gagarin The opening hours of the space museum (opening hours) are from 11:00 to 19:00, except Mondays and Tuesdays. Ticket price: adult – 200 rubles, preferential – 50 rubles, photography – 230 rubles. I never understood why photographing is more expensive than the ticket itself. The price of tickets is indicated as of 2015. The current price can always be found on the official museum website: www.kosmo-museum.ru.

We want to decide to review this museum. Although, to be honest, I never wanted to become an astronaut, and especially I don’t like to fly. I prefer a couple more hours to travel by train than by plane. But telling about the Monument to the Conquerors of Space and not talking about the Memorial Museum of Cosmonautics, I think it would be wrong.

In the ENEA. From the subway, this time they walked a little in a straight line, following the main crowd. But most people go to the Exhibition Center of all Russia, but after literally walking 50 meters along the iron fence, we turn left towards the museum. The backpack was delivered to the closet, bought tickets and paid the filming. A ticket to shoot is not issued, but a special green bracelet. He dresses on the wrist and, as it turned out later, it is impossible to remove it, just tear it. I, in my naivety, wanted to leave it for the future, to be able to pass it a second time, but the “developers” of the commemorative museum of cosmonautics took care of everything, and I had to break it and throw it away.

We didn’t know specifically about the excursions, I think so, but I can’t say how much they cost and when they are spent. I didn’t notice any ads with a price, although, in principle, I didn’t really look for them.

Space museum

The first room of the Museum of Cosmonautics. Here are models of several satellites, including the world’s first terrestrial satellite, the first space station aimed at Venus, a rotating space suit, as well as stuffed animals of the famous Belka and Strelka (all photos can be seen in the gallery) . But for some reason, I especially liked the design of the marine satellite station. It is a ship with several satellite dishes. Designed to control Earth’s artificial satellites from the surface of the water. Unfortunately, the photo was unsuccessful and was not presented on the site.

The first dogs in space: squirrel and arrow

Behind the first room, just behind the great figure of the astronaut, there is a cinema in which films and programs of space themes are always shown. But, as they say: “It is better to see once than to listen a hundred times”, so we did not stop at the cinema, but we explored the museum.

S.P. Cabinet Exhibition Coroleva

In the next room of the museum, we saw the original letters and notes of Tsiolkovsky and Korolev, several books related to astronautics, medals, the RD-214 engine of the first stage of the Cosmos launch vehicle. To be honest, I didn’t understand what kind of reinforcement it was, I didn’t find anything about it. I really liked the exposure of the Korolev office. For me, this is the only thing worth photographing in this room. What I really did.

Orbiter Buran

The last room of the Memorial Museum of Cosmonautics. The largest, on two floors. On the ground floor there are several launch vehicles with proud names: Lightning, Sputnik, Soyuz. I liked the Buran orbiter. As I recall, it was created as a competitor of the American ferry, but, for some reason, having made a flight, it no longer flew into space.

Launching complex at the Cape Canaveral Cosmodrome in the United States

It was interesting to see the models of the launch complex of the space shuttle transport system at the J. Kennedy Cosmodrome in Cape Canaveral in the USA. UU. And our Baikonur Cosmodrome in Kazakhstan. I thought, or will Americans be better?

Here is the Flight Control Center represented by a guy who is not doing anything behind a computer monitor, and the first moon satellite, and the lunar rover itself, the official name is the Luna 16 automatic station.

The famous moon rover

Interested in a monitor hanging on the wall. In it, when you click on the touch buttons, you can read about galaxies, their types, black holes, stars, planets of our solar system, how they were when they discovered and much more interesting things.

Touch monitor with information about planets, galaxies, etc.

It was the first floor of the last room. On the second floor, we saw an exhibition of astronauts landing in a landing capsule. In addition, the inscription on the plate said that the capsule is completely real, the astronauts landed on it in 1988.

Exhibition of astronauts landing in a landing capsule

I have long wanted to see food in tubes that astronauts eat in orbit. Here, in the museum, samples of space food are presented: honey, cottage cheese, mustard, juice, all in tubes, as well as common canned food. I didn’t even think that astronauts eat canned food in space. Of course I heard about the tubes, but I didn’t even know about canned food.

Famous space meal in tubes

Turning around the corners, they saw the line. It was strange to see the line in the museum. It turned out that people are standing in the base compartment of the Mir Space Station. We also join them. The line was quite fast and soon our moment arrived. In my opinion, there was nothing particularly interesting in the compartment: a monitor, strange chairs, a control panel, on the other hand, a dressing room and a toilet. Many buttons are scattered on the walls. After looking at all this for about 10 seconds, we left in the same way as the people who walked here before us.

The base compartment of the Mir space station

After that, passing through those hallways Memorial Museum of Cosmonautics in which we have already been, we leave the territory of the exhibition. Summing up our visit to the museum, I concluded that I did the right thing, that I never wanted to be an astronaut. These people really deserve to be erected monuments.

To visit, the museum can be recommended to those who are interested in modeling airplanes, who have a craving for space, or simply to those who are interested in how the Russian astronautics training took place. I especially want to advise the museum to parents with children. Oh, someone, and kids will definitely like it here.

Well, we were waiting for the continuation of the walk. The next point was the farm in Ostankino, which we could not access a week ago. But, about this in the next topic.

VDNKh Park Exhibition Park of all Russia or The Pan-Russian Exhibition Center (CPE)

tour-3-dias-moscu

The history of the CPE began in 1935, as the Agricultural Exhibition of the entire Soviet Union. The main committee of the exhibition received about 250,000 applications from collective and state farms, machine and tractor stations and academic institutions to participate in it. A true city emerged, from an area of ​​136 hectares, where 250 buildings and constructions were erected, parks with ponds were created, experimental plots were organized. About 20 hectares were occupied with crops and plantations, which represented the agriculture of the Soviet Union.

The opening of the exhibition, which was held on August 1, 1939, was a true national holiday. At the entrance, the famous 24-meter sculpture “El Obrero y la Koljosiana” of the outstanding sculptor Vera Mujina, previously created for the Soviet pavilion at the Universal Exhibition in Paris, was built in 1937. The entrance to the fairground was designed in the traditional style of the ancient Roman triumphal arches. This sculpture became the emblem of the agriculture exhibition of the entire Union.

The agricultural exhibition was attended by 2000 guides, 1000 group companions and 200 guides for foreign visitors. This sample planned for only one event had such a resounding success that the decision was made to continue the permanent operation of the exhibition. In 1940, in 5 months, the exhibition was visited by more than 4.5 million people.

On May 28, 1958, it was decided to merge the agricultural, industrial and construction exhibitions into one, the Exhibition of Economic Achievements of the USSR (Exhibition Center of the USSR) A place that immerses you in the history of Russia and offers you the opportunity to know the architecture and style of classical Russia.

15 interesting things about VDNKh
Interesting architectural monument

Sources

There are four great sources in VDNH, which are the centers of the planning zones: a unique composition in the Fountain Alley, the famous “Friendship of the Peoples”, for which the beautiful representatives of 16 union republics posed for them, “Flor of Stone “, created based on the stories of Pavel Bazhov, and also the fat Golden Ear, located near the Upper Pond for the delight of passers-by, navigators and coffee visitors. The rest are fountains in the pavilions, not so popular, but no less pleasant.

Oceanarium

Moscowrium

Finally, the largest aquarium in Moscow and Europe was opened. Moskvarium visitors will travel from Baikal to the Galapagos Islands, from the Icelandic fjords to the Great Barrier Reef, from Greenland to Kamchatka. 80 huge aquariums and specially designed pools can accommodate 8,000 amazing fish and marine animals, a tactile pool with starfish and rays that you can touch, as well as an interactive playground for children.

The building of the complex is conditionally divided into an aquarium, swimming center with dolphins and the main hall, where …

Cafes, Bars

Friendship

You can start an ideal day of rest in the popular Druzhba coffee, sitting on one of the two terraces or in the summer bar, and enjoy fresh coffee, French omelette and aromatic cakes. With the onset of heat, the window decoration was updated in the cafe, and now visitors have a panoramic view of the Fountain of Friendship of the Peoples and the Central Alley. And don’t forget to bring one of the institution’s exclusive lemonades for a walk in the park.

Bicycle rent

En el territorio de VDNH y Ostankino Park, operan ocho coloridas bicicletas retro de alquiler y equipos deportivos de Bosco. Todos los huéspedes del parque pueden viajar en un vehículo alquilado, independientemente de su edad y preferencia. Para los visitantes hay coches de ciclo de cuatro plazas y bicicletas con asiento para niños. Puede alquilar un vehículo recreativo en un punto y alquilarlo en cualquier otro punto ubicado en el parque.

Precio de alquiler: desde 300 rublos por hora

Cultural center

Summer reading room

The reading room is located in a quiet green area, not far from the Central Alley in front of the House of Culture. After you have issued a library card, here you can take a book of interest and, sitting in the shade on a puff or hammock, read it calmly. You can return the book not only to the reading room, but also to any library in the city or to one of the 6 racks of book crossings, which are installed in quiet resting places outside the central area. Wi-Fi is free here.

Panda park

Sky Town

In the territory of VDNH, the first high-altitude rope park is installed in Russia, at the top point of which there is an observation platform. The complex includes 90 original elements and routes at various heights with three difficulty levels of high altitude tracks, as well as a parkour for children and giant swings with a scale of 16 meters. Similar panda parks have already been built around the world: in Europe, China, the United Arab Emirates, the United States and Latin America. In Sky Town, sports activities become a fascinating attraction with gymnastics exercises. The park is fully certified in accordance with all safety standards, and the SSB insurance system …

VDNH port

A place of attraction for all visitors to the VDNKh leisure park, with a real beach, clean pools, comfortable sun loungers, a food court and non-stop dancing. Guests of the “Port in VDNH” are always in an atmosphere of serenity and a beautiful holiday. In “Porto” it is better to spend time with children, for whom a varied entertainment program and friends are offered. Here jazz club parties and jazz improvisations, painting workshops, sand volleyball and frisbee games, pool lessons in yoga, water aerobics and free fitness workouts are held, and

Ping-pong in VDNH

You can play table tennis with friends in an open area to play table tennis, with a play area of ​​630 square meters. In this exciting and exciting game, two to four people can participate at the same time, and even fans can quickly become professionals and true strategists. The Olympic sport – ping-pong ̶ will not leave indifferent children or adults. The connoisseurs of the fast racket kicks can develop their own style of play and participate in competitions.

Sports club, cultural center

The chess club, with an area of ​​400 square meters, is located in a wooden pavilion built between the House of Culture and the administrative building. There are 12 wooden tables in the game room, which can be played for free. Workshops, paid classes and contests will be held here. Individual classes are taught by an international teacher, in the program the theory and practice of playing chess, as well as problem solving. In addition to the game room, the club has a room for mothers and children, a pantry for storing game equipment and a bathroom. The building itself is constructed with ecological materials and adapted …

Piang-se

Popular street food is now widely represented at VDNH Park, where the Pyan-Xe gastronomic project is famous for its incredibly delicious Asian steamed buns with a variety of fillings. The meatballs, as they are also called, are prepared in special wooden boxes and packed in paper, so that their flavor is perfectly preserved. VDNH reaches different people: savers, family, conservatives and young people, so the quality of food in Pian-Ses is very high and prices are more than affordable. In addition, the project exists next to the barista shop Make My Day, which boils …

Sports Court Complex

In the territory of VDNH there are several outdoor sports fields, one of which is located near the “Physical culture and sports” pavilion. This platform for playing futsal and airsoft is free, open for free visits and operates in a live queue. For fans equipped with extendable supports for up to 95 people. You can play calmly and in the dark, since artificial lighting is provided here.

The complex of other sports fields is also for playing futsal and basketball, but these areas of the game …

Theme park

Imagine a house standing upside down, all the objects in it are also upside down, and this is not an illusion, nor a museum nor an architectural monument, but a fascinating interactive attraction. The sensations that visitors experience are literally dizzying. The interior of the Changeling House mimics the life of an average European resident: wooden furniture, dishes from the most common supermarket and a small car in the garage. Only now the walk around the house lasts a long time and the fear that something heavy will fall on your head will take you in that moment …

Ship stations

Near the small ponds there are two boat stations “In oars”. The VDNH general water garage includes 19 four-seater boats and 15 catamarans. For comfortable and safe passenger boarding and disembarkation, floating docks with a length of 39 meters are specially equipped. The park administration recommends that it be done from Monday to Friday or on weekends in the morning when there are not too many people and that you take a boat ride through the pond.

Boat rental cost: 300 rubles per hour

Summer Cafes

At the end of the park, on the banks of the pond, surrounded by silence and tranquility, is the “Summer” cafe. Here it is worth taking a break from a whole day of walks and impressions, enjoying the sun and the views of the water. By the way, after lunch, you can rent one of the boats, right next to the rental station, and take a ride now on the water, passing the Kolos fountain and back. The cafe has panoramic windows and is open to visitors throughout the year.

Average bill: 700 rubles

“Aquiles” horse club

You can see and caress a true Welsh pony in the historic horse breeding pavilion. The Aquiles equestrian center is located here, where 20 thoroughbred horses are housed in comfortable stalls, including the Kazakh Akhal-Teke, the Oryol trotter, the Hanoverian, the Russian horse, the German trakenensky and the Vladimir heavy truck. Experienced riders can practice jumping and dressing, beginners are taught individual riding lessons in the arena and the playground, and for children with developmental disabilities, the club regularly organizes hippotherapy classes.

Novodevichi Monastery

Direction:
Novodevichy Convent – Moscow, Novodevichy Pass, 1

Metro station:
sports

The Novodevichy Convent is located almost in the center of Moscow, in a historical place called the Field of the Maiden centuries ago.

The monastery cannot be perceived separately from the surrounding park and cemetery, so we will talk about one, and about the other and the third. The whole Novodevichy Convent is included in the UNESCO World Heritage List.

The history of Novodevichy Convent began with the fact that the Grand Duke of Moscow Vasily III made a promise that he would build a monastery in honor of the icon of Our Lady of Smolensk if he won the Smolensk lands of the Lithuanians. In 1514, Smolensk became part of the Principality of Moscow, and ten years later, in 1524, by order of Vasily III, the construction of the monastery began.

The nuns of the monastery were mostly women of noble birth. Under Ivan the Terrible, many ladies of the court who had fallen out of favor were exiled to the monastery. At the end of the 16th century, Boris Godunov was elected to the kingdom in the monastery. At the same time, the monastery was completely burned by the Khan Devlet Giray of Crimea. Motivated by the idea of ​​making an outpost from the monastery in the western accesses to Moscow, the new tsar completely renovated the monastery: he built new fortified walls with lagoons and towers. This monastery has survived to the present day.Disposition / disposition of the Novodevichy convent

The Novodevichy convent became a place of exile for some noble and royal people. Then, after Streltsy’s rebellion, Peter I imprisoned his own sister, Sophia, in the monastery. Here too Peter’s first wife – Evdokia Lopukhina lived his days. By the way, one of the modern superstitions of the monastery is related to the name of Sophia. According to this belief, if you make a wish, leaning against the tower of the embankment of the monastery or hugging it, then the wish will come true.

In fact, the pilgrimage to the tower, which the people nicknamed Sofyina, became vandalism. People write directly on the wall of the tower with markers, so the tower must be whitened again every few months.

In Soviet times, the Novodevichy Convent suffered the fate of many sacred places: it was closed. For many years there was a branch of the Historical Museum. After the Great Patriotic War, a theological seminary was located here for some time, and only in 1994 the monastery became operational again. In 2010, the monastery became part of the diocese of Moscow, since the same year there is a church museum.

The oldest building in the monastery is the Smolensk Icon Cathedral of the Mother of God. Initially, it was the only stone building in the monastery. In the basement of the cathedral is the tomb, in which the sisters of Pedro I and his first wife are buried. Also in the territory of the monastery are the chambers of Irina Godunova and Evdokia Lopukhina. Basically, all the monastery buildings have been preserved since the 17th century.

The history of the Novodevichy cemetery goes back to the tombs of the monastery. Initially, newbies were buried here, even among noble and royal people. In the 19th century, the first tombs of famous people appeared, including men. Unfortunately, the Novodevichy Convent necropolis suffered serious damage in Soviet times, from the burials of 2000 there are no more than one hundred. In particular, the Volkonsky mausoleum, the tomb with the chapel of the owners of the Trekhgornaya factory, the tomb of Denis Davydov were preserved. At the beginning of the 20th century, there was no place for burial in the monastery, so it was decided to expand the territory. Then, first the old territory of the cemetery appeared, then in the 40-50s of the twentieth century, new, and in the late 70s, the newest territory.

Unlike other public burial sites, this cemetery does not sadden you. Apparently, there is so much accumulation of tombs of celebrities and adults that you prefer to feel a touch of eternity than dust and ashes. Judge for yourself: Chekhov, Gogol, Bulgakov, Mayakovsky, Chaliapin, Evstigneev, Gurchenko, Nikulin, Yeltsin: these are just some of the names of those who found an eternal refuge here.

In addition to writers, poets, actors, directors, politicians, leading scholars, scientists, engineers, philosophers are buried here. And what monuments there are! Its authors, as a rule, are the most famous sculptors, for example, the author of the monument to N. Khrushchev is Ernst Unknown. Each monument has its own history, they can be perceived as independent works of art.

And finally, the park completes the complex, extending along the western wall of the monastery. The park has developed around the large and small Novodevichy ponds, which represent the old Moscow river channel. It is good here at any time of the year and very picturesque, which made this place famous among Moscow photographers. In the park is the famous sculptural composition “Duck and mommy ducklings”, a gift from Laura Bush. In summer, picnics are often held here. In addition, there are many shops: you can enjoy the view of the pond and the monastery. And most importantly, the park is always very clean.

Tomb of the Unknown Soldier

Tomb of the Unknown Soldier near the Kremlin Wall in the Alexander Garden

Address:
Tomb of the Unknown Soldier – Moscow, Alexander Garden

Metro station:
Okhotny Ryad, Revolution Square, Alexander Garden

After the bloody end of World War I in the early 20th century, a tradition arose according to which the state erects a monument or an obelisk, as a symbol of memory and in gratitude to the fallen heroes whose names cannot be established.

The Unknown Hero Monument first appeared in London in 1920. The Unknown Hero memorial complexes are located in Paris under the Arc de Triomphe, in Washington at the Arlington Cemetery, and in several other countries.

To commemorate the festivities on the occasion of the 25th anniversary of the crushing defeat of German fascist forces near Moscow on December 3, 1966, the ashes of an unidentified warrior hero were taken from the soldier’s grave in Leningradskoye Shosse, honored and Triumphantly buried in the Kremlin wall.

On May 8, 1967, during the days of the Great Victory Day, at the burial place, the symbolic Monument to Military Valor took place: the “Tomb of the Unknown Soldier”.

According to the plan of the creative group of talented architects, the commemorative set was created by the sculptor-muralist Nikolai Tomsky.

The same day, since the fire on the Champ de Mars, L. Brezhnev lit the Eternal Flame in the Alexander Garden.

Commemorative composition

The Alexander Garden in the gallery of the central metropolitan parks occupies a special place. A popular 10-hectare recreation area is located on the northwest side of the Kremlin.

The composition of the architectural and commemorative ensemble “The Tomb of the Unknown Soldier” in the Alexander Garden is a tombstone with a mounted soldier’s helmet and a symbolic branch of laurel, resting on a falling battle flag.

In a niche of an ornamental labradorite, a memorable inscription on the epitaph reads: “Your name is unknown, your feat is immortal.” And from the five-pointed bronze star, the Eternal Flame of Memory “splashes”. According to one version, the author of the inscription is Sergey Mikhalkov, according to another, this is the result of collective writing.

To the right of the commemorative composition there is a granite alley symbolic of the glory of the cities: dark red porphyry plates with the name of the city and the “Golden Star” in relief. The capsules with sacred earth, which was delivered from the defense lines of the heroic cities, are stored inside the plates.

The left side of the Monument to the Unknown Soldier is a dark crimson hued Karelian quartzite wall with a symbolic dedication: “1941 to the Fallen for their Homeland 1945.”

To the right of the heroic cities memorial alley is a block of red granite trails on a pedestal. Its golden inscription reads: “Cities of military glory.” Now this title has been awarded to 45 Russian cities for their special value and heroism in the fight for freedom of the Fatherland. The stele, which appeared after the reconstruction of the monument in 2010, with a length of approximately 10 m and a height of just under 1 m, on the left has the text on the left side “Cities of Military Glory”, on the right – their names are carved, placed in a dozen columns.

Since December 1997, Post No. 1 of the Honor Guard has been relocated from the Mausoleum to the Memorial. The military of the Presidential Regiment watches day and night, changing every hour.

In 2009, the Presidential Decree “The Tomb of the Unknown Soldier” received the status of a monument commemorating military glory of national importance.

At the entrance to the Alexander Garden is the Tomb of the Unknown Soldier, the main war memorial in Moscow. It is conceived as a monument to all fallen soldiers, and especially those whose names have remained unknown. The grave of an unknown soldier near the Kremlin walls appeared in 1967 in honor of the 25th anniversary of the defeat of German troops near Moscow.

Alexander Garden Mini-Guide The ashes of an unknown soldier who died in the winter of 1941 at kilometer 40 of the Leningrad highway during the defense of Kryukovo were transferred here. Then the enemy was thrown from the capital. The authors of the monument The Tomb of the Unknown Soldier are Nikolai Tomsky, Yuri Rabaev and Dmitry Burdin. On the tombstone there is a symbolic sculptural composition: a laurel branch and a soldier’s helmet on a banner that falls in heavy folds. In the center of the monument there is a niche with the inscription: “Your name is unknown, your feat is immortal.” The author of these lines is Sergey Mikhalkov.

Description and characteristics

The niche is made of labradorite with a five-pointed bronze star, in the center of which burns the eternal flame. A torch for the grave of an unknown soldier near the Kremlin wall was lit with eternal flames on the Field of Mars in Leningrad. The torch was delivered on the staff, and there was a living corridor along its route: the people considered it their duty to pay tribute to all those who died in the war. The delegation was led by legendary WWII pilot Alexei Maresyev.

The creators of the eternal flame in Moscow had two tasks: first, the high flame was supposed to glow white, yellow, and red. Second, the fire was supposed to burn constantly. The variety of colors was achieved with inadequate combustion of gas, when an air shortage forms. In this case, jets of different colors are born. And to maintain combustion, a torch protection system was created, which guarantees its reliability in the event of rain, wind and snowfall.

The eternal flame and the guard

It is known for a fascinating ritual of tourist change that takes place every hour. Everything is verified here, down to every inch: from the Walk of Fame to the Eternal Flame, the guard takes exactly 108 steps. This printed step, presented by Pablo I, is the hallmark of the presidential regiment. Position number 1 (two sentries) in the Mausoleum of V.I. Lenin was founded on January 26, 1924, and as early as 4:00 p.m. the next day, the first sentries stood on a pole near the coffin with Lenin’s body in Red Square. Only the best cadets could receive the right to guard the Mausoleum.

But after the events of October 3-4, 1993, the guard near the Mausoleum was withdrawn. At 4:00 p.m. on October 6, 1993, a sergeant O.B. Zamotkin removed the last sentinel turn from his post. But after a few years, the Tomb of the Unknown Soldier became the permanent site of the country’s main honor guard, and already on December 12, 1997 at 8:00 AM the first sergeant, Sergeant M.P. Volgunov brought to the country’s main post the first shift. And to this day, the military of the presidential regiment monitor the memory next to the Kremlin wall.

They are also selected here according to external signs: tall young men (growth not less than 180 cm), Slavic type, without scars on the face, with a calm and confident look. But the detachment of soldiers near the eternal flame is only apparent. If necessary, they will fight. South of the monument along the Kremlin wall are quartzite blocks dedicated to twelve heroic cities (Leningrad, Odessa, Sevastopol, Stalingrad, Kiev, Brest Fortress, Moscow, Kerch, Novorossiysk, Minsk, Tula, Murmansk, Smolensk). Each block is crowned with a stamped Gold Star medal and stores a capsule with earth from the battlefield.

The flow of people to the Tomb of the Unknown Soldier does not stop: according to tradition, the newlyweds put flowers here, and every year on May 9, the presidents of the Russian Federation and the country’s top officials put wreaths on Tomb.

Sergey Posad

Sergiev Posad – orthodox center of the gold ring

Sergiev Posad is the only city in the Moscow region included in the route of the Golden Ring of Russia. Thousands of pilgrims and tourists from all over the world come here every year. The city received its name from the name of Saint Sergio de Radonezh, the founder of the largest monastery in Russia: the Trinity-Sergius Lavra. We offer you to know the main attractions of Sergiev Posad.

The Holy Trinity Monastery was founded near Moscow by Saint Sergio de Radonezh in 1337. The life-giving Trinity monastery was attacked more than once: in the 13th century it was sacked by the Golden Horde khan Edigey, in the 15th century the monastery resisted the siege of the 30th army of Polish interventionists. In 1744, the Trinity Monastery received the title of laurel. For several centuries, pilgrims from all over the world visit this place as one of the most revered Orthodox sanctuaries.

In the Trinidad-Sergio Lavra there is a rare collection of manuscripts and early printed books. Since the beginning of the 19th century, the Moscow Theological Academy, one of the largest religious educational institutions in Russia, is located in the territory of Lavra, in the former Royal Chamber. Among the most valuable sanctuaries of the monastery are the relics of Saint Sergio of Radonezh, Maxim the Greek and Anthony of Radonezh, the icons Tikhvin and Chernihiv of the Mother of God.

Academician Dmitry Likhachev called this museum the hermitage of Russian culture from the 14th to the 20th centuries. The Sergiev Posad Museum-Reserve is one of the largest museums in the Moscow Region, it houses an ancient collection of fine and applied art from the Trinity-Sergius Lavra. In the center of the exhibition are the works of masters of the Moscow art school of the fourteenth – seventeenth centuries.

Art in the Monastery Museum

The museum contains one of the largest collections of Russian folk art in Russia: painting and wood carving, metal processing, printing, peasant costumes. The local history collection of the reserve presents the history of Sergiev Posad, the architectural aspect of the city and its famous residents.

In the 40s of the 19th century, three kilometers from the Trinity-Sergio Lavra, Monk Anthony founded the Gethsemane Monastery of Chernigov, a separate monastery for hermit monks. A secluded and picturesque place has become a refuge for more than 400 monks. Anthony ordered to keep the monastery with simplicity and severity, even the church utensils were made of wood. St. Filaret of Moscow wrote: “Simplicity … is the hope of the monastery. Yes, have this for the Lord. “After the revolution, the monastery was closed, the monastic life here resumed only in the 90s of the twentieth century.

The Chernigov monastery is named after the miraculous icon of Chernigov of the Mother of God, brought to the monastery at the end of the 19th century and Gethsemane, in honor of the Garden of Jerusalem, where the Mother of God is buried. To this day, the monastery has preserved cave temples, monastic cells, a sacred fountain and ancient buildings of the monastery.

Abramtsevo Museum-Reserve

On the banks of the Vori river, not far from Sergiev Posad, is the Abramtsevo Reserve-Museum. In the mid-18th century, a mansion appeared here, which became a source of inspiration for famous writers and artists. In 1843, writer Sergei Aksakov acquired the property: writers Nikolai Gogol and Ivan Turgenev, actor Mikhail Shchepkin and historian Mikhail Pogodin liked to visit him. In 1870, the patron Savva Mamontov bought the house, then the Abramtsevo art circle was formed, which included artists Konstantin Korovin, Ilya Repin, Valentin Serov, Vasily Polenov, Victor Vasnetsov and others.

After the revolution, a museum was opened on the estate, however, the traditions of the Mamontov circle did not stop: in the twentieth century, artists Pyotr Konchalovsky, Igor Grabar, Ilya Mashkov, sculptors Boris Korolev and Vera Mukhina worked in Abramtsevo. Today in the collection of the Abramtsevo Museum more than 25 thousand exhibits are stored: photographic archives and personal belongings of the former owners of the estate, graphics, paintings, sculptures and works of popular art.

On the Kelarsky pond in one of the old Sergiev Posad mansions since 1980, the Museum of Toys and Pedagogical Art has been located. This is the first museum of its kind in Europe: it was founded in Moscow by artist and collector Nikolai Bartram in 1918. In the 1920s, the museum was the second most visited in the country after the Tretyakov Gallery.

The museum’s collection contains toys from past centuries of the Alexander and Livadia palaces, the Stroganov school and private collections. Among the most valuable exhibits are the toys of the children of Emperor Nicholas II. The permanent exhibitions work here: “Russian folk toy”, “New Year and Christmas toy”, “Toy of the Eastern countries”, “Russian and Western European toy of the 19th century – beginning of the XX”. The exhibition “Portrait of children” shows little known works by Russian and foreign artists of the 17th-21st centuries.

Victory Park

Victory Park History

Contenido del articulo

In 1958, on the day of the Soviet army, a symbolic sign “A monument to the victory of the people of the USSR in the Great Patriotic War of 1941-1945” was erected in the territory of the future park. The city authorities assigned a large plot for development: 135 hectares. Trees were planted, a park was set up. In the 70-80 years they raised money for construction. Residents contributed a penny, as a result, “scraped” 194 million rubles. For starters, it was enough, the state later helped. The grand opening of the park, dedicated to the fiftieth anniversary of the victory, took place on May 9, 1995.

Victory Park includes many objects of architectural and historical value. The Victory Monument is an obelisk made of especially strong steel, which rises almost 142 meters, more precisely, 141.8 m. The symbolism of this figure is that it took so many days, 1418, that the war continued. The obelisk weighs a thousand tons; It is covered with bronze bas-reliefs on top. The bronze figure of the goddess Nika, mounted on the highest point, symbolizes victory.

Fountains in the Victory Park in Moscow

There are many fountains in the park. Its exact number is also symbolic: 1418. At night, when it gets dark, the fountains are lit. She is red. Because of this, people called them “bloody.”

Museum of the Great Patriotic War in Victoria Park in Moscow

The Museum of the Great Patriotic War is the central object of Victoria Park. It consists of a military-historical exhibition, which captures the chronicle of the war years, and an art exhibition. The main attraction of the museum is the dioramas (six compositions), each of which is dedicated to one of the most important battles of the Great War. Audiovisual complexes show war news, rare archival materials and commemorative photographs. The museum is equipped with an automatic search system “Book of Memory”, which helps to find information about missing persons. I have not been to this museum yet, I will try to catch up.

The museum’s exhibition continues in Victoria Park itself. An outdoor exhibition of military equipment was held outdoors. Here there are more than 300 samples of tanks, airplanes, self-propelled guns, etc., German combat vehicles and equipment from other countries that participated in the war. I was here once, on May 9, I will soon publish a photo report.

St. George’s Church in Victory Park

The Church of St. George the Victorious is considered a true sanctuary of Victoria Park. It was placed near the monument on May 9, 1994. The construction was done with municipal funds, and the author was the architect Polyansky. The consecration of the Temple took place on May 6, 1995 by Alexei II, the Holy Patriarch of Moscow.

Memorial Mosque in Victory Park

Not far from the Temple is the Memorial Mosque. The decision to erect it was taken in October 1992. In March 1995, the first stone was installed. The opening of the mosque took place on the 850th anniversary of Moscow on September 6, 1997. The mosque is a tribute to the Muslims who died as a result of the military operations of 1941-1945.

Memorial synagogue

The Holocaust Memorial Synagogue and Museum is another part of the architectural complex. The opening of this facility took place in September 1998 as a souvenir of six million Jews who died as a result of the repression of the fascist invaders. This is the only museum of its kind in Russia, whose exhibition talks about the contribution of Jews to Russian culture.

The chapel, built in memory of the Spaniards who died in World War II, is located in the Victoria Park in Moscow.

In memory of the volunteers of Spain who died during the war, the government decided to build a Catholic chapel to remember the incomparable courage of these brave soldiers.

Tulips in the spring in the Victory Park in Moscow

In spring, tulips bloom in the park. All flower beds are sitting by them. Very beautiful

Not a single holiday passes Victory Park. It often hosts concerts, festivals, etc.

Monument to the defenders of Russian land

At the intersection of Kutuzovsky Prospekt with Minsk Street, a monument to the Defenders of the Russian Land was erected. It represents three Russian wars from different eras: a hero of ancient Russia, a war guard of 1812 and a soldier who fought during World War II. They are mounted on a granite pedestal.

Tragedy of Peoples Monument in Victoria Park in Moscow

The monument “The tragedy of the peoples” was erected in 1997, its author is Zurab Tsereteli. The sculpture reminds the victims of the fascist genocide. The endless chain of prisoners, united by shaved heads and suffering eyes, tells people about the executions and executions inflicted by the Nazis.

Monument to internationalist wars in Victoria park in Moscow

In 2004, a monument to internationalist soldiers was inaugurated on Poklonnaya Hill. Its construction was carried out at the expense of Afghan veteran organizations. This is a 4 meter bronze figure of a soldier standing on a cliff and looking far away.

Boat tour on the Moskva river

Río Moscova:Conozca todo lo que necesita saber sobre este río europeo

This tour is great for seeing the city from another angle, you can complement the tour with a tour of the Moskva River, a beautiful tour of the river in the city center.

You can see, among other things, the famous Novodevichy Monastery or modern and colossal skyscrapers in Moscow, also in the area of ​​the Olympic Games.

Relax and go with the Moskva River to enjoy the views and green spaces found in the parks near the banks of the Moskva River. Cross this route through places such as Gorky Park or the British Embassy also known as the “White House”, also the Olympic stadium that is perfectly preserved since its construction in 1980.

Moscú Convento Novodevichy, lago, río, noche, paisaje fondos de ...

Enjoy a calm and relaxed rhythm, always accompanied by our guide.

Dive with us on this wonderful tour to visit the most beautiful of Russia.

 

Armament Museum in Moscow

Weapons museum in Moscow open air of Victoria Park

Also outdoors of Victoria Park, next to the museum building, there is an exhibition of weapons, military equipment and engineering structures (victory weapons, captured equipment, railway troops, military roads, artillery, armored vehicles, air forces, Marine). Among the museum’s exhibits there are many unique ones, for example, a rare aircraft, the U-2, the legendary tank of the Great Patriotic War, the Soviet T-34. In addition, the exhibition “Engines of war. Rare, unknown, famous.

The history

In 1983, the Council of Ministers of the USSR issued the Decree “On the construction in Moscow of the monument to the Victory of the Soviet people in the Great Patriotic War of 1941-1945”, which prescribed the creation of the monument to the Victory of the Soviet people in Poklonnaya Hill at the expense of the funds received from the working days of the communist community in labor collectives.

The work on the creation of the museum, the formation of a database of exhibitions and the design of exhibitions were carried out by the employees of the future museum together with veteran organizations.
The main activities of the museum according to its Charter, adopted in 1994, are: research, stock, exhibition and scientific and educational work.

In December 1993, when the active preparations for the opening were already made directly in the museum building (the first temporary exhibitions were created, based on which permanent exhibitions were created in the future), the government of the capital decided Create exhibits of military equipment as part of the memorial complex and fortifications.

This decision affected the increase of the deadlines to complete the creation of the museum and, consequently, postponed the date of its opening.

As a result, the grand opening of the museum took place on May 9, 1995, the day of the celebration of the 50th anniversary of the victory over fascist Germany. Heads of 55 states attended the opening ceremony, including US President Bill Clinton and British Minister John Mager, who emphasized the national character of the Victory Museum.

The Museum of the Great Patriotic War is an impressive four-story building with its size and architecture, topped by a dome with a fifteen meter spire.

Inside the building there are three main rooms of the museum: the “Hall of Commanders”, the “Hall of Glory” and the “Hall of Memory and Sadness”, as well as the hall of the historical exhibition, 6 bulky dioramas that highlights the key moments and the battles of the Great Patriotic War, a large hall with 400 seats and a cinema. -a conference room with 200 seats, three VIP rooms, a department of the “Book of Memory” and an art gallery.

The contrast with its different rooms makes the museum unique: this is how the Hall of Fame pays tribute to the heroes and the victors, while the Hall of Memory shows sorrow for the dead.
At the entrance to the Victory Museum there are shop windows and stalls with exhibits: personal items, documents and awards from military leaders and soldiers of rank. Authentic weapons and uniforms of soldiers and officers of various weapons of the anti-Hitler coalition armies and our opponents are presented.

General’s Hall

The first hall, which opens the museum’s exhibition, is the “Hall of Leaders”, which is a large spacious room with a main staircase in the center, on the upper platform of which is the decorative and decorative composition “The shield and the sword of victory “, and in its center is the panel” Soldier’s Road of Glory “” Made of non-ferrous metal.

Along the perimeter of the Hall of Commanders there is a collection of busts of bronze knights of the highest military award: the Order of Victory, made by the sculptor Zurab Tsereteli. On the sculptural images of the faces of the generals and marshals, the knights of the Order of Glory, there are stylized heraldic shields with military orders of the Soviet and Russian armies represented in them.

Also outdoors of Victoria Park, next to the museum building, there is an exhibition of weapons, military equipment and engineering structures (victory weapons, captured equipment, railway troops, military roads, artillery, armored vehicles, air forces, Marine). Among the museum’s exhibits there are many unique ones, for example, a rare aircraft, the U-2, the legendary tank of the Great Patriotic War, the Soviet T-34. In addition, the exhibition “Engines of war. Rare, unknown, famous.

In 1983, the Council of Ministers of the USSR issued the Decree “On the construction in Moscow of the monument to the Victory of the Soviet people in the Great Patriotic War of 1941-1945”, which prescribed the creation of the monument to the Victory of the Soviet people in Poklonnaya Hill at the expense of the funds received from the working days of the communist community in labor collectives.

The work on the creation of the museum, the formation of a database of exhibitions and the design of exhibitions were carried out by the employees of the future museum together with veteran organizations.
The main activities of the museum according to its Charter, adopted in 1994, are: research, stock, exhibition and scientific and educational work.

In December 1993, when the active preparations for the opening were already made directly in the museum building (the first temporary exhibitions were created, based on which permanent exhibitions were created in the future), the government of the capital decided Create exhibits of military equipment as part of the memorial complex and fortifications.

This decision affected the increase of the deadlines to complete the creation of the museum and, consequently, postponed the date of its opening.

As a result, the grand opening of the museum took place on May 9, 1995, the day of the celebration of the 50th anniversary of the victory over fascist Germany. Heads of 55 states attended the opening ceremony, including US President Bill Clinton and British Minister John Mager, who emphasized the national character of the Victory Museum.

Kolomenskoe Park

Kolomenskoye is one of the most popular leisure parks in Moscow. Located in the subway station of the same name. But this is not only a park, but also a mansion and a museum reserve.

That is why thousands of people visit it daily. On the weekend, especially at night, from the Kolomenskaya subway station, a continuous flow of people along a narrow sidewalk goes to the farm park.

I visited Kolomenskoye more frequently than in other parks in Moscow. For 3 years living in the capital, this is the only park where I have been more than three times. Moscow has many interesting places to go, but there is not enough time and days off. The weekends with good weather are even less. Therefore, visiting the same places constantly is, in my opinion, an irrational use of time. I would like to see something new, get new impressions.

It is beautiful in spring, when apple trees bloom in the Garden of Resurrection, sweet aromas float in the park. And nothing less, and perhaps even more beautiful in the fall, when all the trees turn yellow and red, the colorful fallen leaves creak under the feet, in which children love to swarm. In spring and autumn, on a nice sunny day, there are especially many tourists with cameras. In the context of flowering apple trees in spring and yellow-red foliage in autumn, excellent photos are obtained.

Kolomenskoye in Summer vacations

In summer, it is a beautiful park where you can rest well, breathe fresh air, no matter how cheesy it sounds, take a walk along the bank of the Moscow river, take a boat or a motor boat (several routes of motor boats that pass by the Moscow river they pass through Kolomenskoye). Traditionally, exhibitions of sand sculptures are held here annually, which for some reason I could not visit.

On vacation, Kolomenskoye becomes one of the places for concerts and festivities. In winter, there are fewer people in Kolomenskoye than in the warm season. In winter, I was here only once, in Shrovetide. Even so, with the cold I don’t want to walk in the parks, you prefer some kind of warm and covered rooms.

From the history of Kolomensky

Kolomensky’s story begins in the fourteenth century. It was at this time that the first written mention of him dates back. According to legend, the town of Kolomenskoye was founded by residents of the city of Kolomna, who fled from the troops of Batu Khan, who burned his city. Kolomenskoye was the suburban residence of the Russian tsars. By his order, churches and temples were erected here. In the years 1528-1532. According to the decree of Vasily III, the Church of the Ascension of the Lord was built, which became the church of the summer house of Russian rulers. In the years 1547-1554. Ivan the Terrible erects the Church of the beheading of John the Baptist, a prototype of the Cathedral of the Intercession on the Red Square.

Manor Kolomenskoye was the beloved residence of Tsar Alexei Mikhailovich. During his reign, it reaches its peak. Alexei Mikhailovich is building a large palace with 270 rooms. The palace of Alexei Mikhailovich in Kolomenskoye’s contemporaries called the eighth wonder of the world. But this miracle only lasted 100 years. After the transfer of the Russian capital from Moscow to St. Petersburg, the palace gradually deteriorated and in 1767 its dismantling was ordered by making detailed measurements and drawings. According to these drawings, the palace was recreated in our time and is now accessible to all.

Garden of the Ascension. Its area is 5 hectares. This is one of the oldest gardens in Moscow. It is part of the great “old” sovereign garden in Kolomenskoye. Around 880 trees, mainly apple trees, grow in the garden.

Peter’s Oaks

The Palace Pavilion of 1825 is the only building left of the Alexander Palace. The Alexander Palace was built to replace the dilapidated and completely destroyed by the French army during the war of 1812, the Catherine Palace. The new palace became a kind of monument to Russia’s victory in the war with Napoleon. But Alejandro could not live in his new palace. The palace was built in 1825, and on November 19, 1825 the king died in Taganrog. Subsequently, the Alexander Palace in Kolomenskoye fell into disrepair and was dismantled. All that was left of him was this pavilion, which was probably used as a tea house or home theater.

 

Pavilion of the 1825 palace on the Kolomenskoye estate

House of Tsar Peter Alekseevich in the Kolomenskoye park. Built in 1702 by Russian and Dutch masters at the mouth of northern Dvina on the island of Markov. In the documents of the 18-19 centuries. It was called palace. Peter I lived there for two and a half months in the summer of 1702 during the construction of the Novodvinsk fortress, which was supposed to protect access to Arkhangelsk. In 1864, the fortress lost its military importance, and was transferred to the diocesan department of the Archangel along with the house. In 1877, the house was moved to the center of Ankhangelsk for better conservation. And in 1930, the house was dismantled and transferred to Moscow, the interior of the life of Peter the Great was restored and now everyone can see it, both outside and inside.

Peter I’s house on the Kolomenskoye estate

In the twenties of the last century, the famous Russian architect Baranovsky P.D. Begins to create an open-air museum of wooden architecture on the estate. From all corners of Russia, wooden architectural monuments began to be taken to Kolomenskoye. So here they were: the Bratsk prison tower, the Moss tower of the Sumy prison and the Holy Gate of the Monastery of St. Nicholas Korelsky.
The Bratsk fortress tower is one of the four corner towers of the Bratsk fortress, built by the Cossacks on the Angara River, a monument of 17th-century defense architecture. In one of these four towers, Protopop Avvakum was imprisoned at the same time. When the Bratsk hydroelectric plant was built, the place where the prison was located fell into the flood zone and one of the towers was moved to Kolomenskoye and restored.

 

Bratsk fortress tower on the Kolomenskoye estate

Mokhovaya Tower: part of the Sumy fortress-fortress, which defended the possessions of northern Russia in the 17th century. By the 20th century, only two of its 6 towers survived. In 1931, all that remained of the Mokhovaya Tower was decommissioned and transported to Kolomenskoye, where it was stored in the museum’s warehouses for almost 80 years. In 2003, the restorers took it, who managed to restore the monument as it was in 1680.

Holy doors of the monastery of St. Nicholas of Karelia

On the beekeeper’s farm you can get acquainted with the life and activities of the Russian beekeeper from the late 19th and early 20th centuries. Here is a wooden house with living rooms and utility rooms, a personal plot with the apiary itself. I just don’t know if there really are bees in the hives, or it’s just something like mockups.

Izmailovo souvenir market

Kremlin Izmailovo

Vintage jewelry, lace, books, records, ceramics, porcelain, rare furniture, these are only a small part of what is rich in the famous flea market in Vernissage in Izmailovo.

With each year, interest in vintage things only grows. The trip to the flea market in Izmailovo for many is similar to visiting a historical museum. Endless colorful rows with military uniforms and accessories from the past and the last century, dresses, kerosene lamps, plates, cutlery, toys, samovars, irons, antique frames and many other interesting things are times that open before the eyes of each visitor who It is not indifferent to the visitor’s history.

After strolling through the market, you can easily find extraordinary exhibits: Singer sewing machines, wooden wheels, lamps, intricate wall clocks. It is possible to list all the treasures that the flea market in Vernissage in Izmailovo offers to infinity!

In addition to the vendors standing in the lakes, there are visitors at the Vernissage flea market who come for a walk on a weekend: stroll through the many rows, take a closer look at the products, perhaps replenish their collection or indulge in a small purchase. Regardless of the occupation and the area of ​​interest, everyone finds something valuable for them in the flea market.

Among the guests of the market you can find decorators, designers, museum workers, collectors, summer residents and new residents, foreign tourists and guests of the capital. At Vernissage in Izmailovo you can buy gifts for all occasions and holidays! It is no secret that when negotiating with sellers, the price can be reduced several times.

The flea market is located on the second level of the Vernissage in Izmailovo. It is quite easy to find: walk down the bottom rows to the stairs and go up to the second floor. Any vendor in Vernissage willingly tells you the way. Izmailovsky market is one of the four markets in the capital where tourists, especially during the World Cup, can buy antiques, antiques and modern Russian traditional products.

The market is located inside a building similar to a castle or fortress. At the entrance of the visitor there are two weapons: red and blue. From the canyons, a winding path leads to the entrance door.

Like Khan al-Khalili in Egypt, sellers sneak into the makeshift store market without buildings. Some put their goods on the floor, while others lie on the tables.

Unlike the rest of Moscow, sellers in the Izmailovsky market are well suspended, which allows them to sell their own products. It also resembles the Egyptian market of Khan al-Khalili. Market streets are dotted with traditional Russian products. Tourists can buy as souvenir the famous fur cap with earmuffs with the hammer and sickle emblem, which emerged during the Russian Revolution. Leather hats can be found in many colors, including pink and red, to suit women’s tastes. Matryoshka is one of the most famous souvenirs brought from Russia.

As a rule, it is made of sandalwood (as in the text – approx. Ed.) Or linden. Matryoshka is a Russian woman of the town. The toy itself opens like a bottle, and inside you can find a smaller toy, and even the smallest one. The market sells not only traditional Russian dolls with the image of Russian women. Some of them represent Russian President Vladimir Putin and former Soviet Union leader Joseph Stalin. Also in the Izmailovsky market there are shops that sell porcelain, which engrave or print a collection of the most famous places in Moscow, such as the Kremlin, the Red Square and the St. Basil’s Cathedral.

Russia throughout its history did not occupy the last place in the military sphere, therefore, memories in the form of military hats, various orders, medals and badges with a Kalashnikov assault rifle are present in the market. Kalashnikov, also known as AK-47, is an assault rifle created by Russian small arms designer Mikhail Kalashnikov.

The machine is used by many armies around the world. Some vendors sell souvenirs related to the World Cup in Russia, such as copies of the World Cup, miniature copies of all stadiums, badges, magnets with the World logo or the Zabivakoy wolf. As in any popular souvenir market, you can always negotiate with the seller and cut the price in half.

History

The Izmailovo market is a famous place not only throughout the country, but also abroad. In this world-famous fair, an exhibition of artisan products, souvenirs, paintings and antiques, artists, craftsmen and masters of decorative and applied fine arts come from all over our vast country.

Opening day of Izmailovsky, an analogue of the former Russian commercial gallery, last year turned a quarter of a century. And this is one of the most amazing and memorable places of beauty in Moscow. Vernissage was originally created especially for folk artisans: artisans and artists, designers and artisans, artisans of folk crafts and other popular art manufacturers. Today in the Izmailovo market you can find objects truly worthy of being called works of art.

The market is located near the beautiful architectural ensemble of the Izmailovo Kremlin, which is dotted with bright, scaly roofs of the turrets, an example of 17th-century Russian architecture, recreated according to drawings from pre-Petrine times. This has been the case since ancient times, when merchant yards and shopping centers were built in Russian cities and settlements near the administrative center (Kremlin), where all commercial life was developed.

In the territory of the Kremlin there are many museums (chocolate, miniatures, the history of vodka and bread, Russian toys and others), the aforementioned vernissage and the “flea market”, widely known in Moscow and beyond.

On the inaugural day of Izmailov, you can find handmade gifts and souvenirs that are not ashamed to give away on any occasion. Vernissage is full of wonderful nesting dolls, birch bark products, tapestries, amber, ethnic costumes, Zhostovo trays, Gorodets toys and much, much more. In the “flea market”, which works on weekends from 9:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m., connoisseurs of ancient gadgets, collectors and simply beauty lovers can find something from the last century: jewels, porcelain figurines, figures bronze, antique toys, retro furniture, records, print editions, and much more unusual and interesting. During a walk through the alley of painting, you can not only admire, but also buy magnificent paintings for your soul or as a gift.

Mercado de Izamilovo

Every Wednesday in the Izmailovo market it is possible to see and buy wholesale or retail work of various artists from all over the capital, the Moscow region and other cities in the central region. All these products can be seen later in the souvenir departments of the stores, but at a higher cost. But if you don’t want to overpay for original coffins or nesting dolls, Rostov enamel and Yaroslavl majolica, Pavloposad shawls or amber jewels, come yourself and buy whatever you want at your own cost!

The Izmailovo market fully fulfills its mission of maintaining, developing and preserving Russian culture, crafts and customs.

Kremlin Izmailovo and Izmailovski entertainment park

Kremlin Izmailovo and Izmailovski entertainment park


Izmailovo is a large area of ​​Moscow and a park known to citizens and guests of the capital. The first reliable information about the town located in this territory dates from the fifteenth century. For its beauty, this reserved corner can compete with the best parks in the capital. In addition, in Izmailovo you can really relax and immerse yourself in the history of Moscow. The most famous places are the Kremlin in Izmailovo, the Izmailovo Museum-Reserve and the Izmailovsky Culture and Rest Park. Here is the most popular souvenir and antique market among tourists, as well as many small museums and unique themed workshops that will help you create an exciting program for the whole day.

OF PEDRO EL GRANDE UNTIL OUR DAYS

“The Kremlin in Izmailovo”

It is in front of the station. m. “Partisan.” It is impossible not to notice, even from afar it hits with its expressiveness. Contrary to expectations, this cultural and historical complex was recently built, at the beginning of the 21st century, and is a large-scale copy of the old Russian castle. It consists of towers and royal walls, a castle bridge, chambers and even an Orthodox church. At the entrance to the Kremlin, the “archers” are always on guard. Visitors can climb the bell tower and take beautiful pictures, ring bells, enjoy the intricate decorations of the buildings.

An independent attraction of the Izmailovsky Kremlin has long been a fair of souvenirs and antiques. From here, it is simply impossible to leave without a purchase: there is a gift for all tastes. Long shopping centers full of nesting dolls, painted spoons, dolls, caps with earflaps, and this is only the first half of Izmailovsky’s famous opening day. Here you can find not only classic, but also thematic, collectible memories: for numismatics, for lovers of military paraphernalia, old music records and much more.

If you go a little further, you can buy real antiques at the flea market: bronze products, samovars, dishes, icons from different eras. Trading here is not only appropriate, but even mandatory! On weekends, Izmailovsky Opening Day opens, where Moscow artists offer their work for all tastes and budgets.

Bread MuseumThe Izmailovsky Kremlin also offers a variety of entertainment: horseback riding, lunch in a Russian restaurant, master classes of ancient crafts, excursions and missions around the complex, etc. But still, the main wealth of this place is its unique museums and workshops: the Bread Museum, the Chocolate Museum, the Russian Toy Museum, the Vodka History Museum, the Russian Fleet History Museum, the Ceramic Workshop, the Forge, the Gingerbread Baking and Painting Workshop, the Soap Factory, the Rag Toy Workshop, “Princess Olga’s Candle Factory”, “Amber Box”, “Golden Antelope” (bronze interior of the author), etc. You can create a program of individual visits according to your hobbies and interests.

“Vodka History Museum”

The most popular is in Izmailovo. It is small, only a few rooms, but very interesting. The main exhibition is called “History of five hundred years of Russian vodka”. She talks about the five main stages in the formation of a culture of drinking this alcoholic beverage: the era of the old Russian, the Russian empire, the years of war, the era of the Soviet Union and modern Russia. In total, the museum’s collection contains more than 1000 types of vodka, some of which are on display. At the entrance of the museum, visitors are offered a glass of mead (included in the ticket price), another traditional alcoholic beverage. You can continue the party in the cafe of the Russian cuisine “Tavern” or “Prince”.

Another highlight of the Kremlin is the “Wedding Palace No. 5”, decorated in the style of the baroque “Naryshkinsky” of the seventeenth century. If you are happy lovers, here you can register your marriage and get married in the church of St. Nicholas, and then celebrate the wedding in one of the many restaurants or banquet halls located nearby! Near the Palace you will see a tree of happiness, in which lovers hang locks, the talisman of a long and happy family life.

It is one of the largest hotels in Moscow, Izmailovo. The hotel complex was built for the 1980 Olympic Games, held in Moscow. It can take more than 3.5 thousand people. The complex consists of several three and four star hotels and more than 15 restaurants with different national kitchens. Among them are “Mikhail Svetlov”, “Moskovsky”, “Slavia”, “Scandia”, “Lux” and others. You can also visit the bath and health complex, gym, bowling, pool club, sauna, etc.

EXHIBITION OF THE MUSEUM AND EXCURSIONS

Opposite the “Kremlin in Izmailovo” is the artificial island of Izmailovsky surrounded by a ring of silver and grape ponds. In the center is a unique complex of historic buildings: the royal estate “Izmailovo” of the seventeenth-nineteenth centuries. The basis of this museum is the exhibition “Izmailovo – the royal estate of the seventeenth century”, which tells the story of the royal residence. In addition, here you can see the majestic Pokrovsky Cathedral, the front and rear entrance doors, a system of ponds and office buildings from the 17th-19th centuries.

The island was created by order of Tsar Alexei Mikhailovich, father of Pedro I, on the heritage estate of the Romanov boyars. The Izmailovo Museum-Reserve When Tsar Alexei Mikhailovich Izmailovo was like a European botanic garden. The king was very interested in gardening and created a nursery here, as well as a place to relax away from the noise of the city.

The youth years of Emperor Peter I went through this property, where he rode on his first ship, an English ship, and, along with his “fun” regiments, learned the basics of military science. The main entrance to the estate was the 17th-century Bridge Tower, which now houses the Moscow tile exhibition.

IZMAILOVSKY CULTURE AND REST PARK

Next to the Izmailovo hotel complex is the largest urban park in Europe: Izmailovsky, which covers an area of ​​more than 1,500 hectares. It was founded in 1930 as the “Stalin Park”. The territory is conditionally divided into two parts: the Izmailovsky Culture Park and the Izmailovo Forest Park, among which is the Main Alley. The park is well maintained, with many places to have fun and walk. In total, about 20 sports fields are in its territory.

Here you can ride on two wheels of fortune, a roller coaster, horses, sleigh rides and steam trains, rent skates and rollerblades, enjoy a boat ride or a catamaran in Round Pond. The height of the big ferris wheel of the park is almost 50 m. From there you can see the entire park and nearby attractions at a glance.

The northern part of the park is known for its amusement platform, “rope city”, a sports equipment rental center and a crossbow shooting range. In the central part of the park there are 5 tennis courts, a pond with a boat station, playgrounds for games (Ayshtok (analogue of the popular alpine game Kalyuyten), Zhulbak, Kornhol, Shuffleboard, Workout, futsal, etc.). There is a 5D cinema near the big wheel of fortune, which creates the illusion that the viewer participates in the events of adventure films.

In the territory of the forest park is the Izmailovsky Apiary, whose history dates back to the Tsarist era. There, in the mid-19th century, the first museum in Russia was opened with a unique collection of hives. Today, the ecological and educational center of Apiar Tsarskaya is located in a historical territory, where you can see the hives of the Tsar, Tsaritsa and Tsarevna, as well as relax by the pond, walk along picturesque paths or sit in gazebos. Excursions and ecological programs are carried out.

World War II Museum

The great patriotic war museum

The memorial project on Poklonnaya Hill was created in 1942, but then, for well known reasons, it was impossible to implement. It was inaugurated only on May 5, 1995, in commemoration of the 50th anniversary of the victory over fascism. The Victoria Museum is located in the Victors’ Square, to which the central alley leads.

Until the summer of 2017, it bore another name: Central Museum of the Great Patriotic War.

What to see

The museum’s exhibition is divided into four rooms. In the Hall of the Commanders, when the museum’s exhibition opens, the names of the high command personnel and the Knights of the Order of Victory are immortalized. Zhukov, Konev, Malinovsky, Montgomery, just part of a galaxy of famous commanders who “know” museum visitors.

In the Hall of Fame on white marble slabs, the names of 11,800 heroes of the Soviet Union are immortalized. In the center of the room there is a bronze sculpture of the “Soldier of Victory”, on which the “Order of Victory” shines.

Dim light, strands of beads that descend from the ceiling like tears, the sculptural composition “Pain” is the Hall of Memory and Pain. Mozart’s “Requiem” complements its atmosphere.

In the military-historical exhibition “The road to victory”, objects were collected that speak about the course of the Great Patriotic War in the rear and on the fronts, exhibitions: weapons and newspapers were collected from that time, the interior was reproduced from the commander’s headquarters.

The pearls of the museum are six dioramas:

Counterattack of Soviet troops near Moscow in December 1941
The battle of Stalingrad. Fronts
The Leningrad blockade.
Battle of Kursk
Forcing the Dnieper
Assault on Berlin

Each of them is accompanied by its own audio composition, which transmits the atmosphere of the event represented.

The “Book of Memory” department was created specifically to perpetuate the names of those who died and disappeared during the Great Patriotic War. 1500 volumes of the Memory Book of the entire Union are stored here.

On New Year’s holidays, many museums in Moscow worked for free. But for some reason, the Museum of the Great Patriotic War did not fall in number, but it turned out that we were in Victory Park and suddenly we remembered that we had never been to this museum. Yes, the entrance was paid, but there were not many queues, people and the museum itself.

In addition to the main building of the museum, there is a branch in Parque de la Victoria: an exhibition of outdoor military equipment, as well as the exhibition “Engines of war”.

In the museum you can take photos with real weapons.

The Great Patriotic War Museum occupies a large four-story building, and each floor has its own exhibits. It will take about 3 hours to move. On the ground floor, near the changing rooms, there is an active trade in toys, mainly weapons and everything related to them. People come to the museum as families, and there are always many children crowded around the windows. Therefore, parents, prepare to pay!

The museum sells toys for children, mainly weapons and everything related to war.

I liked the first floor of the museum more. Here are the dioramas. There are six of them, but one was closed for restoration. Under the panorama there are five dioramas (clickable). In photographs it is almost impossible to distinguish what is drawn (it is the background) and what is not. The scenarios turned out to be good, but not excellent, so sometimes I had to use Photoshop. In some places it is clearly visible, do not scold too much, if that :-).

On the second floor, the exhibits are allocated a lot of space. The main space is occupied by a large hall and stairs that lead to the third floor, where the main exhibits are presented.

Dead head ring

In one of the windows on the second floor I noticed a ring with a skull. I heard a little about such rings, and Google discovered that this is one of the Dead Head rings that G. Himler personally granted to the SS members.

Hall of Fame in the Great Patriotic War Museum

Image of the heroic city of Brest in the Museum of the Great Patriotic War

We go up to the third floor. Its central part is occupied by the Hall of Fame, a round hall where the names of all the heroes of the Great Patriotic War, as well as the heroic cities, are indicated on the walls. And around this room is the main part of the exhibition.

On the last fourth floor there are portraits of generals and marshals of the Soviet Union, as well as busts of heroes of the USSR. In addition, a large room is reserved for exhibitions. During our visit, an exhibition dedicated to the Patriotic War of 1812 was held here.

Address: Moscow, Victory Square, 3. Directions to the station. m. “Victory Park”. Web page .

Phones:

Secretary of the head of the institution (reception): +7 (499) 449-80-04
Excursions department (ticket reservation): +7 (499) 449-81-79, 449-81-81, 449-81-72
“Military historical journey”: +7 (499) 449-80-42
Hours: from Tuesday to Sunday, except Thursday and Friday: 10: 00-20: 00 (ticket offices and visitor entrance until 19:30). Thursday and Friday – 10: 00-20: 30 (ticket offices and visitor entrance until 20:00).

Open area and exhibition “Engines of war”: from Tuesday to Sunday from 11: 00-19: 30 (ticket offices and entrance of visitors until 19:00).

Monday is the day off. A health day is the last Monday of each month.

Entrance fees: to the main building or to the open areas of the museum – 300 RUB, a single entrance ticket to the main building and to the open areas of the museum – 400 RUB. The prices on the page are for October 2018.

Cathedral of Our Lady of Kazan in Moscow

Cathedral of Our Lady of Kazan in Moscow

The history

The Kazan Icon Cathedral of the Mother of God was erected in memory of the liberation of the Russian state from the Polish-Lithuanian invaders, which was achieved with the help and intercession of the Mother of God, who showed his mercy through the Miraculous Kazan icon. The temple was built at the expense of the first tsar of the Romanov Mikhail Feodorovich dynasty and consecrated in 1636. Since the construction of the temple became one of the most important churches in Moscow, his abbot occupied one of the first places in the clergy of Moscow.

Throughout its history, the cathedral was rebuilt several times, in the 1760s, 1802-05, 1865.

In the 1920s the renovationists served in the cathedral for some time. In the years 1925-1933. The restoration of the cathedral was carried out under the direction of the architect P.D. Baranovsky In 1928 the bell tower of the cathedral was demolished. In 1930, the Kazan Cathedral was closed, and in 1936 – demolished.

The cathedral was restored in 1990-1993. at the expense of the Moscow City Hall and donations from citizens. Kazan Cathedral is the first of the Moscow temples completely lost during the Soviet era, which was recreated in its original forms. It was possible to recreate the historical appearance of the temple thanks to the measures taken by the architect P.D. Baranovsky before the destruction of the temple, and the studies of historian S.A. Smirnova On November 4, 1993, the church was consecrated by His Holiness Patriarch Alexy II.

Thrones

The main throne was consecrated in honor of the Kazan Icon of the Mother of God, the northern corridor – St. Guria, archbishop of Kazan and San Barsanuphius, bishop of Tver. South hall in honor of the schmchch. Hermogenes and Tikhon, Patriarchs of Moscow and All Russia (not consecrated).

Sanctuaries

Worship

Every day, hours and liturgy at 9.00, night worship begins at 17.00, Sundays and holidays; the liturgy is at 7.00 and 10.00, the day before, the all-night vigil at 17.00 and on Fridays after the end of the eve, a prayer service with the Akathist of the Kazan icon of the Mother of God with blessing.

The temple is open every day from 9 am until the end of the night service.
Kazan Cathedral on the corner of the Red Square in Moscow has a difficult destination. It was completely demolished in 1936 and restored after 57 years. Today it is an active temple in which the services are carried out. The main sanctuary of the cathedral, which the faithful come from all over the country, is the icon of the Mother of God “Kazan”, revered by the miraculous, with a pagan guardian. The rector of the church is the archpriest Nikolai Inozemtsev.

Moscow tours for adults and children

Individual and group. Tourist excursions Excursions to the Red Square and the Kremlin. Water walks on the Moscow river. Excursions for children and schoolchildren.

All excursions

Tourists visit the cathedral more frequently when they examine the main attractions of the capital: the Red Square, the Alexander Garden, St. Basil’s Cathedral, the State History Museum and other popular sites near the Moscow Kremlin.

Hotels near Kazan Cathedral in Moscow

Service hours of the Kazan Cathedral in Red Square
Those who wish to receive the Sacrament of Baptism can contact the ministers for a reading talk every Saturday at 3pm.

Religious events are held daily in the temple:

09:00 (working days) 07:00 and 10:00 (weekends) – liturgy,
17:00 – night services (parastas, night vigil).
On the Kazan Cathedral site, you can see a detailed schedule of events for the current month, as well as know the names of the clergy who will perform the rites and their assistants.

Calendar of services 2019 on the official website of the Cathedral of the Kazan Icon of the Mother of God

Icon of Moscow Kazan Cathedral

The Kazan icon of the Mother of God is one of the most revered shrines not only in the Kazan Cathedral, but also in Christianity in general. It is worth noting that the temple does not store the original icon, but a list, but this does not detract from it. There is a copy in Dmitrovsky’s side chapel.

The first appearance of the icon of the Mother of God occurred in 1579 in Kazan. Its location was shown by the matron girl, who had a prophetic dream. After obtaining the icon, he was repeatedly transferred to other churches in the country, many copies of him were written, almost indistinguishable from the original.

To avoid damage and theft, temples were often exposed with copies, and the original was carefully kept. However, in 1904 the icon was stolen, the farmer Chaykin turned out to be the kidnapper, who said he had burned the relic. Later versions were presented according to which the destruction of the Kazan Icon of the Mother of God was questioned. Until now, historians cannot reach a definitive opinion on whether the original Kazan Icon of the Mother of God has been preserved and where it can be located.

In the following years, the temple was rebuilt and repaired repeatedly. The last restoration was carried out in 1925. The architect Pyotr Baranovsky wanted to restore the building to its original appearance. The work lasted 4 years, and when there was very little left, the Moscow City Council decided to demolish the temple. The restoration was halted, the bell tower was destroyed in the same year, and the cathedral’s facilities until 1936 were used as a warehouse to store construction materials for the subway station. After the demolition of the Kazan Cathedral, a pavilion was placed in honor of the III International in its place.

In 1990, the Moscow authorities decided to rebuild the cathedral and, therefore, began collecting donations. The sanctuary was restored from photographs and drawings preserved in archives. The reconstruction work of the Kazan Icon Cathedral of the Mother of God was completed in 1993.

Architecture

The Kazan Icon Cathedral of the Mother of God is a typical example of temple architecture in the first half of the 17th century. This is a single-domed temple with two aisles. The north and south corridors are joined by a gallery that surrounds the structure from three sides.

The exterior of the cathedral is decorated with mosaic icons in the Russian style. They represent the Virgin, Jesus Christ, Saint George, the Patriarch of Moscow and other saints.

How to get

Kazan Cathedral is located in the center of Moscow, on Nikolskaya Street. Reaching it will not be difficult: there are several metro stations and public transport stops within walking distance of the sanctuary. Alternatively, take a taxi or drive by car.

Subway

The subway is perhaps the most convenient transport in the capital. From the Okhotny Ryad station closest to the cathedral (red line), walk about 100 meters from exit number 7. In addition, the Teatralnaya station (green line) is not far away, and a little further is the “Plaza de la Revolution “(blue line).
Public transport
At 300 meters, near the Okhotny Ryad metro station, there are stops: Okhotny Ryad Metro and Manezhnaya Square. There are buses and minibuses: No. M2 (to Riga station), M3, M10, M27, N1 (night to Sheremetyevo airport), H2 (night), H11 (night to Vnukovo airport), 101, 144, 904 .

A little further (from the opposite side of the Red Square, near the St. Basil’s Cathedral) there is another bus stop: “Red Square”. From there there are buses No. M5 and 158.

Moscow public transport portal

Car

Since the cathedral is located right in the center of the city, a car trip would not be the most convenient option. In addition to the fact that parking is paid, finding a free place is very problematic. Therefore, if a trip by public transport is not suitable, it is better to use a taxi or a transfer. The capital has many mobile applications to order a taxi: Yandex. Taxis, Lucky, Uber, Gett, Maxim and others.

GUM warehouses

GUM warehouses

The GUM galleries is a huge shopping center, one of the largest in Europe, its main facade faces the Red Square.

The first stores date from the time of Iván El Terrible, divided according to the type of merchandise to be sold: ribbons, soaps, cosmetics, powders, etc., caps (one for men and one for women), footwear, etc. That chaotic and motley market that stretched from Trapería Street (Vetoshny proezd) to Lubianka Street had existed in the Red Square until the early 19th century.

That market has been occupied, during later years, with many other shops, but not only stores but also has been a commercial area, for a time it was also a building where government offices were located, when entering the Communism in Russia the department stores such as they were an emblem of capitalism and as such could not exist, so they were closed and reopened as administration offices of the central government.

Subsequently, and after the exit of communism in 1991, the stores of the GUM, emblem of capitalism and commerce in Russia were privatized and bought by a businessman based in St. Petersburg, owner of “Bosco”, this textile businessman bought 50.25% of the surface, today it owns 80% of this same surface. He is one of the wealthiest entrepreneurs in Russia. Creator of the equipment of the Olympic team.

GUM History

GUM is one of the largest, most beautiful and prestigious department stores in Russia. It is located in the heart of the capital, in the Red Square and attracts visitors from all over the world. We study its history and discover how GUM became the main fashion direction of Russia.

There are shopping centers with the name of GUM in many cities in Eastern Europe, but none of them can be compared with the original GUM in the Red Square in Moscow. Throughout the centuries of its existence, department stores have become a legend: they still delight visitors and should become a must-see point on their route through Moscow.

The upper commercial ranks (the so-called GUM in the first years of its existence) are designed in the pseudo-Russian style. The construction was carried out between 1890 and 1893 under the direction of the architect Alexander Pomerantsev and the engineer Vladimir Shukhov, ambitious professionals and supporters of advanced ideas. The main building is made in the form of a commercial gallery, while those galleries were built in all the cities of Europe, from Milan to Paris. But the scale and scope of Pomerantsev and Shukhov’s work were not the same across the continent. It is impossible to believe that only four years have passed since the approval of the project until the opening ceremony.

The top shopping centers have become a symbol of the new Moscow: they replaced the old Russian market and consisted of stores of various price and size categories. Under a beautiful glass ceiling, wholesale stores, offices, restaurants, hairdressers, exhibition halls, studios and, of course, several boutiques were located.

Prestigious stores occupied a special place: the Sapozhnikov brothers brought silk and brocade to Moscow, Mikhail Kalashnikov sold Patek Philippe watches to Leo Tolstoy and Pyotr Tchaikovsky, and the Brocard perfume store supplied perfumes to the Imperial Court. High commercial ranks were considered the center of Russian capitalism of the pre-revolutionary era.

  • The GUM building is designed in a pseudo-Russian style and resembles European shopping centers, such as the Vittorio Emanuele II Gallery in Milan.

Since then, several times have changed, the country has changed beyond recognition. But GUM remains a coveted and busy department store in the heart of Moscow’s life. It is still in the same building, and its facade still faces the Red Square. In this unique place, the greatness of Russian history and the innovative trends of our time merge. And this makes GUM an attraction as important as the Kremlin and the Bolshoi Theater.

In the GUM passage, almost everything you want is sold: from clothes and accessories to watches and jewelry, from cosmetics to food and drinks, from books and toys to everyday supplies. You can watch a movie in a restored cinema, go through a pharmacy, bank or flower shop, and then go to a children’s club with your children. And of course, department stores have many coffee shops with drinks and takeaways, coffee shops and restaurants, including picturesque views of the Red Square.

  • The beautiful fountain in the heart of the gallery has become a meeting place for many in GUM

Features of the GUM

But the main thing that motivates more than 60,000 people to visit GUM every day is world class brands. Here are the key brands of clothing, accessories, cosmetics, watches, jewelry and much more. Explore the new collections of Burberry, Dior, Gucci, Louis Vuitton, Max Mara and many others, watch watches or brilliant jewels from Audemars Piguet, Bulgari, Piaget, Van Cleef & Arpels and Tiffany. The big brands also choose GUM for the flagship stores, which confirms the special status of this place in the Russian luxury segment.

Customer service makes shopping at GUM even more attractive, and customers come back again and again just for it. More than 2000 people work to ensure that their impressions are as pleasant as possible. Pay attention to the beautiful gift wrappers, valet parking, an interesting loyalty program and even the beautifully preserved old bathrooms.

  • GUM celebrates interesting events throughout the year, including seasonal festivals.

In the center of the passage is the famous fountain, one of Moscow’s most popular attractions for photographs (and Instagram posts). From the first days of work, the fountain has become a meeting place for visitors. Last but not least, thanks to the nearest cafe that serves the best ice cream in the city. Be sure to try vanilla, chocolate or burnt cream: for many Muscovites it is the favorite taste of childhood.

In the famous “Deli No. 1” food from all over the world is sold: fruits and vegetables, dairy products, fresh meat and fish. A variety of canned food and beef jerky remind of the Soviet past. Be sure to check out the wine collection, one of the best in Moscow, and professional sommeliers will help you navigate the assortment. The store also has freshly baked cakes, local pastry sweets and Swiss and Belgian chocolates. And the open kitchen prepares fresh and hot dishes.

  • In the summer, during the festival of flowers, GUM department stores become a garden of Eden.
Moscow, Russia – February 27, 2017: Interior of GUM mall at Red Square at dusk time

In addition to the main boutiques, excellent restaurants and other wonderful offers, GUM has become famous for its cultural events. Among them: fashion shows, exhibitions of paintings and photographs, seasonal festivals. For example, in summer, a department store becomes a bright garden during a flower festival, and in winter, a huge ice rink opens on Red Square.

In 2018, GUM became one of the first stores in Russia where the Tax Free tax return service was available to foreign visitors. Now citizens of Azerbaijan, Georgia, Lithuania, Latvia, Moldova, Ukraine, Tajikistan, as well as other countries outside the UAE, can save up to 18% on their purchases.

  • In winter, GUM opens a large skating rink, which Muscovites come from throughout the city.

GUM is an incredible combination of historical charm with modern comfort. Thanks to this, it became the most interesting department store and one of the main attractions of Moscow.

St. Basil’s Cathedral

St. Basil’s Cathedral

St. Basil’s Cathedral or also known as The Cathedral of the Intercession of the Blessed Virgin Mary, which is located in the Moat, by which people have fixed the name of St. Basil’s Cathedral, is an operating Orthodox church, a museum, one of the main attractions of the Red Square and a recognizable symbol of Moscow and Russia for foreigners, a UNESCO heritage site.

In its highest part, the temple reaches 65 meters. Pokrovsky Cathedral includes 11 thrones, and each of them is consecrated in honor of the church festivities, during which decisive battles for Kazan were carried out. There are no basements, the thrones are in the basement, divided into rooms with a height of almost 6.5 meters.

The brick temple has 11 domes. In addition, 9 are located directly above it, according to the number of thrones; and the main dome in the center is on the throne of the Protection of the Virgin. The tenth dome is located on the chapel of San Basilio, and the last, on the bell tower.

Cathedral History 

Nine churches of the Cathedral of the Intercession were built in the mid-16th century. by order of Ivan the Terrible in memory of the victory over the Kazan Khanate. The central church was dedicated to the Feast of the Protection of the Virgin, which is why the cathedral was called Pokrovsky. A few years later, the famous miracle worker Vasily Blessed was buried near the walls of the cathedral. In that place, the tenth church was added to the temple. Since then, people began calling the Cathedral, St. Basil’s Cathedral.

They say that Blessed Vasily performed many miracles during his life, so Czar Ivan the Terrible read it and listened. Once the Tsar ordered the Tsar to invite Vasily to dinner. They picked him up like a bad guy, but Blessed didn’t drink wine, but splashed out the window. They poured it again, threw it again. The king was angry: “How dare you pour the real wine?” “A fire is going out,” Vasily replied, “Veliky Novgorod is on fire.” The Tsar was surprised and sent a messenger to Novgorod. The messenger returned and confirmed that the city was on fire, but suddenly the fire died out. And it was that same day when the Blessed One was pouring wine.

Catedral de San Basilio

The brick church in the historic center of the capital was built in 1555-1561 at the behest of Ivan the Terrible and in honor of the victory over the Kazan Khanate, which finally won the Day of Protection of the Blessed Virgin.

The architect of St. Basil’s Cathedral (historically and today – Pokrovsky, in addition, a separate church of St. Basil the Blessed was added later) – Postnik Yakovlev, architect of Pskov. This version is now official, although previously it was assumed that the temple could have several important architects.

The Church of San Basilio of the northeast of the cathedral was built in 1588 on the foolish canonized saint buried in the territory, originally it was a separate building. At the end of the 16th century, already under Fedor Ioannovich, curly chapters of the temple were decorated.

The appearance of the famous cathedral changed markedly in the 17th century: the arch was enlarged, porches were equipped with tents and artistic painting was added.

According to historical testimonies of the first third of the 18th century, the cathedral included 18 thrones. At that time, the church had been restored more than once after each of the fires, and the most extensive restoration was required in 1737, after a great fire, which passed into the history of the capital as “Trinity.” The restoration work was directed by I. Michurin.

In the early Soviet years, the old Pokrovsky Cathedral on Red Square was one of the first to be included in the list of monuments protected by the state. Already in 1923, a historical and architectural museum was created. In 1929, the bells were removed from the building, while the museum’s exhibition was available continuously: the building was forced to close only during World War II. Under the simultaneous administration of the Historical Museum and the church, the cathedral complex has been operating since 1991.

 

Opening hours of the Cathedral of San Basilio

As a museum, the cathedral is open to visitors according to the seasonal schedule:

  • The museum is closed on December 31 and January 1.
    December 30: 11.00-17.00.
    January 2–8: 11.00–18.00.
    November 8 – April 30: 11.00-17.00, every day.
    May 1 – May 31: 11.00-18.00, every day.
    June 1 – August 24: 10.00–19.00, Wednesday is a day off.
    August 25 – September 3: 10.00-16.00, Wednesday is a day off.
    September 4 – November 7: 11.00-18.00, every day.
    The first Wednesday of the month is a health day.

How to get

The temple is part of the whole of the Red Square on the south side, so it is convenient to arrive not only in the classical way, by subway, but also by land: by buses No. 158, m5 to the “Red Square” stop “on Varvarka street. From the stop there will only be a little to go to the temple through the Vasilyevsky Descent.

From Moscow stations it is more convenient to take the subway and get off at one of the many stations within walking distance of the Red Square (depending on the subway line chosen): Okhotny Ryad, Teatralnaya, Ploshchad Revolyutsii, Kitay Gorod.

Cathedral of Christ the Savior

Cathedral of Christ the Savior

The Cathedral of Christ the Savior is the largest church in the Russian Church. Its height is 105 meters and its capacity is 10,000 people. The temple was built in 2000. Therefore, it can be called one of the youngest attractions in Moscow. Once the construction was completed, it became the same symbol of the capital as the Kremlin, the St. Basil’s Cathedral or the Red Square. In addition to the believers who use the temple, so to speak, for their intended purpose, they come here just to look at this miracle of architectural thinking, take a picture in context.

The Cathedral of Christ the Savior in Moscow

The Cathedral of Christ the Savior is located on the banks of the Moskva River, and on the opposite bank there is a patriarchal pedestrian bridge. This bridge is a good place for photography. Standing on it, the bottom of the photo can serve as the temple itself, or the Moscow river with the Kremlin in the distance or a monument to Peter the Great, which is also clearly visible from this bridge.

The temple is located about 10 minutes walk from the Moscow Kremlin, and can be a continuation of tourism in the center of the capital. I would even say that if you have not seen the Cathedral of Christ the Savior, you have not yet examined all the places of interest in the center of Moscow.

The history of the construction of the Cathedral of Christ the Savior

On December 25, 1812, Russian Emperor Alexander I published the Manifesto, according to which a church would be built in Moscow in honor of the victory of the Russian people in the Patriotic War of 1812 over Napoleon. As noted in the Manifesto, the Cathedral of Christ the Savior is a sign of gratitude to God for intercession and help, as well as in memory of those who died in the battles for the freedom of the Fatherland.

The idea of ​​building a temple-monument was proposed not by the emperor himself, but by the army general M.A. Kikin, who through Admiral A.S. Shishkov gave it to Alexander I. The very idea of ​​building a church was widely supported by all sectors of society.
Then, two competitions were held for the construction of the temple: the first during the reign of Alexander I, and the second already under Nicholas I. The first competition was presented by 20 different projects of the most famous Russian architects of the time, but the Emperor Alexander I preferred the project of A. Vitberg, which provided that the cathedral would consist of three parts that symbolize the Incarnation, Transfiguration and Resurrection. At the same time, it was planned to bury the remains of the soldiers who fell during the war with Napoleon in the lower temple. It was decided to build the temple in Sparrow Hills. For the construction allocated 16 million rubles. Treasury and large national donations.

However, Emperor Nicholas I, who succeeded Alexander I on the throne, considered that the project was unsuccessful and completely halted its implementation. The official version of the construction stop said that due to the severity of the construction and the presence of underground currents, the ground under construction began to sink, so the construction of the Cathedral of Christ the Savior on the Sparrow Hills is impossible .

In 1831, Nicholas I entrusted the construction of the temple to the architect Konstantin Ton. It was decided to erect a temple on the site of the Alekseevsky Convent, from where the cathedral was visible from all points of Moscow, this also emphasized the connection of the temple with the culture and history of Russia. There is a legend according to which one of the nuns, due to the transfer of the Alekseevsky monastery, cursed this place and predicted that no building could remain there for more than 50 years.

As a result, after almost 60 years of construction, the great five-domed temple of the downtown type, which had a huge central chapter and four bell towers in the corners, became a reality. The cathedral itself had the regular shape of an equilateral cross. The architectural feature of the temple was the use within another equilateral cross, which allowed the central volume to be released and not crowded with supports.
After the war, the idea of ​​building the Palace of the Soviets was abandoned, and in 1958-1960. On the site of the foundation pit that remains of the temple, a pool is being built, which existed until 1994.

With the onset of perestroika, a social movement has emerged in Russia, whose main objective is the resurgence of the Cathedral of Christ the Savior, and in 1989 the decision was made to restore it. In 1992, Russian President B. Yeltsin signed a decree “On the establishment of a Moscow Renaissance Fund”, according to which it was planned to first restore the Cathedral of Christ the Savior. In 1994, the Moscow government, together with the Moscow Patriarchate, reached an agreement on the restoration of the cathedral, after which the dismantling of the pool began, and on January 7, 1995, the first stone was laid .

The architectural project was developed with the participation of the academic M. Posokhin (chief architect), architects A. Obolensky, A. Denisov, D. Solopov. During the construction of the temple, a special commission was created, whose main objective was to ensure that the temple corresponded exactly to historical technologies and patterns, as well as to all the canons of the church. The finishing and works of art were made by members of the Russian Academy of Arts under the guidance of the academic Z. Tsereteli. As a result, the temple was restored as close as possible to the original, however, there are a number of differences. Then, the new building received a basement, which houses a museum, a conference room and technical services.

The construction of the revived temple progressed quite quickly, and in 2000 all the work was completed. The great consecration of the temple was made by His Holiness Patriarch Alexy II on August 19, 2000.

The mythical Arbat street

The mythical Arbat street

I think I will not be wrong if I say that Arbat is the oldest street in Moscow. And if I’m wrong, not much. Arbat is the same symbol of the capital as the Kremlin, Red Square or St. Basil’s Cathedral. The name of the street comes from the Arabic word “arbad” (“rabad”), which is translated as “suburb, suburb”. Under Tsar Alexei Mikhailovich in the 17th century they tried to change the name of this street to Smolenskaya, but the name did not take root.

Arbat before

Why did Arbat become so famous? Previously, artisans and merchants settled in this street, but at the end of the 18th century they were displaced by nobles. Gradually, living here becomes elegant and prestigious. Representatives of the Moscow intelligentsia bought apartments here, rebuilt small mansions. Many names known to us, such as Pushkin, Rakhmaninov, Scriabin, Gogol, Tolstoy, Saltykov-Shchedrin, Chekhov, Blok, once lived here.

At the end of the 19th century. Arbat began to build multi-storey buildings, there are more stores. Arbat began to look more and more like what we see now. After the revolution, the Bolsheviks, with their characteristic indifference to the historical heritage of Russia, placed New Arbat near Stary Arbat, destroying many architectural monuments. In the 70-80 years. 20th century in the Arbat create a pedestrian zone. Many shops and cafes appear here.

Street musicians sing songs, artists offer their canvases and merchants sell souvenirs to foreign tourists. Arbat is becoming very popular among tourists. But Muscovites did not like this innovation. Even Bulat Okudzhava, seeing a street full of flashlight groups, said: “Arbat, I had searched Google.”

 

Arbat now

We have been to Arbat twice. The first time they just wanted to see what this famous street is. The second time, when they were looking for where to buy a silver bracelet, there are many jewelry stores in the Arbat. To be honest, Arbat did not impress me or my girlfriend. What attracts foreign tourists, I do not understand. However, I don’t know what I expected to see here. In my opinion, this is the usual central street of the city, along which only cars do not drive. Because of this, street musicians and artists can act calmly in the Arbat. We also saw switches. Apparently, for them this place has also developed for a long time.

There are solid shops and cafes. Contrary to expectations, prices on them do not differ much from their competitors from other streets in Moscow. I remember coffee on the bus. I wonder who was the original idea of ​​making coffee in the back of a bus, decorating it and receiving visitors. Coffee, sure, is popular. Nothing special is remembered. Yes, there are antique stores. And how are they different from Vernissage in the Izmailovsky Kremlin? In Vernissage, the reach is much greater. Yes, here the artists offer to draw my portrait or cartoon.

But for that kind of money, do I need it? Yes, here you can listen to live music and songs. And that? Remember the subway, there are these singers in each passage. Although … In Arbat you really listen to them, but in the subway, you only listen. Well, good good. But traveling throughout the city to listen to live music is, I’m sorry, some kind of perversion.

There are also museums in Arbat: A.S. Pushkin, M. Tsvetaeva, M.Yu. Lermontov But for those who read their poems and are fans of their work, it is a sin not to go here. There is also a theater for them. Vakhtangov and the hotel “Prague”, existing since 1872. In winter, Santa Claus stood near him, with whom I failed to take a picture :-).

In general, let me throw myself slippers, but in the Arbat I do not see something so extraordinary that it is not found in other areas and streets of Moscow. And although this story is in the section “The main attractions of Moscow”, it is more a tribute to the past of Arbat than its present. And it is the past of Arbat that attracts tourists here, and in no way jewelers and coffee shops. Foreigners come here for history, and Arbat can give it to him.

Arbat is interesting, perhaps, because it is not a frozen monument of history, but a living and constantly changing space. Since 1986, the street has been completely pedestrian. Traditionally, street performers act on it, artists draw cartoons, paintings for sale and “Russian” souvenirs in abundance.

In the 18th century, the most famous noble families settled in Arbat: Tolstoy, Sheremetevs, Golitsyns, Kropotkins. At the end of the 19th century, aristocrats were replaced by intellectuals, shops, hotels, restaurants appeared on the street. In 1908, an electric tram was launched along Arbat, in 1909 the Khudozhestvenny cinema appeared in Arbat Square, and in 1921 the theater is named after Kh. Vakhtangov. At different times, Marina Tsvetaeva, Andrey Bely, Mikhail Derzhavin, Sergey Aksakov, Konstantin Balmont lived here.

A walk along the Arbat will require consideration, attention, only the multifaceted Arbat will open to an interested audience, and the rest, most likely, will not consider anything behind the multicolored signs of the new coffees. But in the Arbat there is much that is remarkable, with history! Here is the Prague restaurant, in which Leo Tolstoy organized public readings of the Resurrection, but near the house with lion masks on the facade (Arbat 11), the two upper floors are different from the lower ones, obviously more were completed late; in one of the alleys there is a “haunted house”, and in the other, the house where Bulat Okudzhava spent his childhood.

By the way, a monument to Bulat Okudzhava was erected in Arbat, these are already signs of the present, such as Hard Rock Cafe, the sculpture “Pushkin and Natalie”, in memory of the fact that the newly married couple lived in the house of opposite for several months, and the Wall Tsoi – scribbled with quotes from songs of the Kino group and declarations of love for the musician, the wall of house No. 37 overlooking Krivoarbatsky Lane.

In a word, the old Arbat can be explored without stopping, noticing new details, learning more and more about native history.

The Moscow Kremlin.

Panoramic view of Moscow Kremlin at night, Russia

The Moscow Kremlin is one of the most representative icons of Moscow which houses the entire administrative and historical center of Russia.

The height of the Kremlin walls, the narrow lagoons, the battle platforms, the measured step of the towers, all this indicates that this is mainly a fortress. But once you enter the Kremlin, your impression changes. In an area of ​​28 hectares, there are large squares and beautiful squares, magnificent palaces and a large number of temples. The entire city within the city, which was created for many centuries and today preserves the monuments of Russian architecture XIV-XX Centuries They form sets of the squares of the Cathedral, Ivanovo, Senate, Palace and Trinidad, as well as the Spasskaya streets, Borovitskaya and Palace. All the old and new squares of the Kremlin form a single urban complex, but each one has its own specific history and its own unique architectural appearance.

The armory

The Chamber of Armory exhibited not only armor and ceremonial weapons, but also state robes of Russian autocrats, jewels of the royal treasury and the patriarchal sacristy, gifts from foreign guests, coronation clothing and church clothing. A large collection of gold and silver utensils from Russian and foreign teachers. In the last room, the carriages of the court and the elements of the horse harness are assembled.

A visit to the Armory is only possible as part of the excursions.

Assumption Cathedral

It is amazing that a genuine masterpiece of the architecture of the Russian church was created by the Italian Aristotle Fioravanti. They say he traveled especially to Vladimir to study ancient temples and during the construction of the Assumption Cathedral he kept his style, but applied revolutionary building technologies. Thanks to them, the gigantic interior space seems light, the domes seem to rise in the air. Luxurious painting covers the walls, pillars and ceiling, the iconostasis is surprising in its scale and beauty. Under these vaults, the Russian tsars were crowned and elevated to the rank of patriarchs. The building is full of an aura of strength and greatness.

Cathedral of the Annunciation

The 9 steps of the angelic hierarchy, subordinate to the Mother of God, symbolize the golden domes of the church of the house of the Grand Dukes of Moscow. Here they confessed, married, baptized children. The iconostasis painted the artel of Theophanes the Greek and Andrei Rublev. Later frescoes represent historical scenes with the participation of Vladimir Monomakh and his heirs. The sages of ancient Greece hold scrolls with quotes that correspond to Christian dogmas. The princely treasure remained in the basement, and now the Treasure Museum found in the Kremlin territory is functioning.

Arkhangelsk Cathedral

The temple, consecrated in the name of Archangel Michael, served as the final resting place of the Grand Dukes of Moscow, the Russian tsars and their families. The architect Aleviz Novy erected a building similar to the Assumption Cathedral, adding Venetian motifs to the decoration. There are 54 burial places in the temple, mostly under marble slabs. The tombstones above them are decorated with carved ornaments. The relics of the Prince of Saints Mikhail of Chernigov and his boyardo Fedor are revered as miraculous. In a special hall, built by Ivan the Terrible, lies himself, his son John, Tsar Fedor Ivanovich.

The bell tower of Ivan the Great

The white pillar, crowned with a golden helmet, joins the entire architectural ensemble of the Cathedral Square. The extraordinary grace and lightness of a large tower is achieved by reducing the diameter of the levels cut by tall windows. Thanks to the skill of the architect, the bell tower resisted after the explosion, organized by the French invaders. On the lower level is the museum of the history of the architectural ensemble of the Moscow Kremlin. Visitors see fragments of the white stone of Dmitry Donskoy’s Kremlin. The roundabout gallery offers a beautiful view of the Cathedral Square.

Deposition Church

The slender church between the Faceted Chamber and the Assumption Cathedral was erected in memory of the miraculous liberation of the Tartar invasion that occurred on the day of the acquisition and transfer of the Virgin’s clothes to Constantinople. For several centuries, it served as the home church for the patriarchs of the Russian Orthodox Church.

Today, the Wooden Sculpture Museum operates here, where rare carved icons of Rostov the Great and the Solovetsky Islands are displayed.

Patriarchal Palace

The construction of the residence of the patriarch of the Russian Orthodox Church completed the formation of the building complex of the Cathedral Square. Through the high arches in the basement of the Temple of the Twelve Apostles adjacent to the chambers, visitors are surrounded by beautiful examples of ancient Russian architecture, which contain many thousands of historical and cultural values. The Museum of Art and Life of the seventeenth century is open in the palace itself. The exhibition contains church items, court clothes and clothing embroidered with gold, ancient icons.

Tsar’s Canyon

A huge artillery weapon is contained in the Guinness Book of Records. Its caliber is not exceeded today. A gun was fired at least once, it is possible that the ashes of the False Dmitry burned. Master Andrei Chokhov decorated the outer surface of the trunk with molten bas-reliefs, one of which represents Tsar Fyodor Ioannovich. Apparently that’s why the gun got its name. An incredible artifact from the past delights not only with its size, but also with its mastery of execution and the fine elaboration of details.

The Tsar’s Canyon, currently installed on the western side of Ivanovo Square, between the bell tower of Ivan the Great and the Church of the Twelve Apostles, is the most prominent work of the skill of Russian weapons. It was made by order of Tsar Fyodor Ivanovich in 1586 by the court pitcher Andrei Chokhov at the Cannon Yard in Moscow. In caliber, which is 890 mm, it is the largest weapon in the world, which is why it is called the Tsar’s cannon. Its weight is close to 40 tons. The gun’s bronze barrel is decorated with molded curly friezes, ornamental belts, commemorative inscriptions and the equestrian figure of Tsar Fedor Ivanovich.

In the second half of the 1970s, the Tsar’s cannon and a cast iron carriage with cores were removed for restoration and in 1980 they were reinstalled.